Never jump start

JDM_GUY

Never jump start

Postby JDM_GUY » April 14th, 2013, 7:48 pm

This is what happened when jump starting a Nissan b15.
2013-04-13 11.51.09.jpg

red_dragon

Re: Never jump start

Postby red_dragon » April 14th, 2013, 8:31 pm

did they start and rev the other car ?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » April 14th, 2013, 8:37 pm

was the correct procedure followed? B15 doesn't have a main fuse?

Postby nervewrecker » April 14th, 2013, 8:45 pm

You gave the js or got it?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » April 14th, 2013, 8:47 pm

hoping you din take a jump from a 24v truck...

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » April 14th, 2013, 9:04 pm

Looks like the proper procedure wasnt used. When jump starting the car getting the jump......must ground clamp on engine block and positive on battery pole. This is in order for you not to have a spike in voltage and current. Only the voltage is needed for the jump

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » April 14th, 2013, 10:45 pm

^^^^^padna yuh loss meh day with that one big time

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » April 14th, 2013, 11:01 pm

The correct process as I understand with cars with computer brainbox, the vehicle giving the bridge start must be switched off to prevent current surge or backflow to damage the brainbox.

This was recommended by many electrician I had this discussion with.

Postby Hook » April 15th, 2013, 3:25 pm

You're connecting positive to positive with your jumper cable, and then the negative pole on the donor car connects to an engine ground or unpainted metal surface away from the dead battery. This is to prevent sparking near the discharged battery, which will be releasing a high amount of hydrogen gas, like discharged wet cells normally do. The last thing you want is an engine fire from igniting hydrogen from a dead battery.

DO NOT START THE DONOR CAR!

This ensures that you're starting your car with just 12v, not 14.4v with the addition of the alternator, just 12v from the donor battery alone.
Why?
To prevent voltage spikes.

The sharp and periodic drain from the dead battery and starter of one vehicle causes the alternator of the donor car to increase output for a second as the load increases when you try to start the dead car. This can mess with the electronics of either car if it spikes too high.

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » April 15th, 2013, 4:09 pm

so what the big deal with connecting to the engine ground and not the negative pole itself?

Postby Hook » April 15th, 2013, 4:55 pm

I covered that in the first paragraph of my post.

Really.

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 15th, 2013, 7:50 pm

The procedure is covered in every FSM I've seen so it is manufacturer approved.

Once done as Hook described there will be no issue.

eitech

Postby eitech » April 15th, 2013, 8:12 pm

Power dome FTW!!!

Sent from my iPhone 4S using TriniTuner mobile app

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » April 16th, 2013, 1:54 pm

JDM_GUY wrote:This is what happened when jump starting a Nissan b15.

krisjoseph_2000

Postby krisjoseph_2000 » April 16th, 2013, 2:08 pm

Ground on engine block rev car and put on headlights to drain residual current.

Sent from my A1_07 using TriniTuner mobile app

zoelikescheese

Postby zoelikescheese » April 16th, 2013, 3:52 pm

Anil_Sooknanan wrote:so what the big deal with connecting to the engine ground and not the negative pole itself?

:| :?

Postby Hook » April 16th, 2013, 5:10 pm

krisjoseph_2000 wrote:Ground on engine block rev car and put on headlights to drain residual current.

Sent from my A1_07 using TriniTuner mobile app

What?

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » April 16th, 2013, 5:17 pm

how about just taking d battery from d donor car and starting d car with d dead battery with d donor battery..jus reconnect dead battery once car is running and let it charge up...never believed in that jump starting thing nah

Sent from my GT-S5360L using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby Hook » April 16th, 2013, 7:14 pm

Biggs3ne wrote:how about just taking d battery from d donor car and starting d car with d dead battery with d donor battery..jus reconnect dead battery once car is running and let it charge up...never believed in that jump starting thing nah

You're doing more harm than good there. That might've been fine for older cars where the most complex electronic device on board might be the stereo, but not for today's fuel injected cars.

The battery acts like a capacitor once the engine is running. That's to prevent severe voltage dips when devices like cooling fans, a/c compressor and headlights are switched on. It also gives a bit of "smoothening" to the ripple DC generated by the alternator.

When you disconnect a battery from a vehicle that's running and then reconnect it, you're introducing "noise" or ripple into that car's electrical AND a voltage spike when you disconnect and a dip when you reconnect (your idle speed will rise when you pull the poles). That isn't good for anything.

If you have the time, it would be better to disconnect the dead battery, connect it to a charger for a bit and then try restarting.

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » April 16th, 2013, 9:12 pm

Thank you for your good advice..it is very much appreciated..

Postby nervewrecker » April 16th, 2013, 9:23 pm

Thanks hook. Real good info in here.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » April 17th, 2013, 9:16 am

Jus asking this method; when jump starting(battery boosting),Supply car is started, connected(-ve cable last to the block) and the boosted(dead battery) car is started, the negative cable is immediately removed, to prevent the spike from the alternator. :?: also can the cables be connected to the battery to recharge before jumping :?:

Postby Hook » April 17th, 2013, 9:44 am

Unless you can disconnect that cable faster than the speed of electricity, I doubt it.

You actually CAN connect the dead battery to the donor vehicle (started) to charge it, but without a battery isolator, it's risky.

All batteries have an internal resistance (it's what they check with the megger when u carry your car to the battery dealer for servicing/check-up). When a battery discharges or is dying, its internal resistance drops. This is what increases the load (current draw) on your alternator (I=V/R). In extreme cases, it drops so low, it acts like a short circuit. That's what fries some alternators.

Ohm's Law. You're placing a lower resistance (dead battery) in parallel with a good battery, now your total battery resistance is the mean of the two, which acts like the good battery is depleted and increases the load on the donor car's alternator. Like I said, it's risky because you don't know the condition of the dead battery.
I wouldn't chance it.

timos976

Postby timos976 » April 17th, 2013, 10:10 am

Nice thanks

Hook wrote:You're connecting positive to positive with your jumper cable, and then the negative pole on the donor car connects to an engine ground or unpainted metal surface away from the dead battery. This is to prevent sparking near the discharged battery, which will be releasing a high amount of hydrogen gas, like discharged wet cells normally do. The last thing you want is an engine fire from igniting hydrogen from a dead battery.

DO NOT START THE DONOR CAR!

This ensures that you're starting your car with just 12v, not 14.4v with the addition of the alternator, just 12v from the donor battery alone.
Why?
To prevent voltage spikes.

The sharp and periodic drain from the dead battery and starter of one vehicle causes the alternator of the donor car to increase output for a second as the load increases when you try to start the dead car. This can mess with the electronics of either car if it spikes too high.

timos976

Postby timos976 » April 17th, 2013, 10:17 am

In some foreign use dealership.. i noticed they normally take another battery and touch the postive and negative(no Jumper Leads) of both batteries to jump start the vehicle....

Hook wrote:
Biggs3ne wrote:how about just taking d battery from d donor car and starting d car with d dead battery with d donor battery..jus reconnect dead battery once car is running and let it charge up...never believed in that jump starting thing nah

You're doing more harm than good there. That might've been fine for older cars where the most complex electronic device on board might be the stereo, but not for today's fuel injected cars.

The battery acts like a capacitor once the engine is running. That's to prevent severe voltage dips when devices like cooling fans, a/c compressor and headlights are switched on. It also gives a bit of "smoothening" to the ripple DC generated by the alternator.

When you disconnect a battery from a vehicle that's running and then reconnect it, you're introducing "noise" or ripple into that car's electrical AND a voltage spike when you disconnect and a dip when you reconnect (your idle speed will rise when you pull the poles). That isn't good for anything.

If you have the time, it would be better to disconnect the dead battery, connect it to a charger for a bit and then try restarting.

Postby Hook » April 17th, 2013, 10:28 am

I heard about that, but I've never seen it. I went in to one dealership in south once to collect a vehicle and turns out the vehicles carded to leave the yard had their batteries removed and put on a trickle charger from the night before so no jump starts when customers come in.
That way, you don't look like a quack, or risk damaging anything and it doesn't take two people to start a car :lol:

timos976

Postby timos976 » April 17th, 2013, 10:39 am

lol well they did it alot of times.... even for my car....but i assume they know what the were doing.... Now that I have a better understanding of Jump Starting Vehicles I will make the necessary precautions. Thanks

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » April 21st, 2013, 10:03 pm

what people fail to realise, is that the flux capacitor's negatively charged anode is connected to the ground of the car. When the Battery to jump start the car, is connected and if the amperage is not the same as the flux capacitor, then it will emit an electromagnetic pulse of approximately 20 BTUs of energy causing damage to the circuit board in the vehicle's computer.

For this same reason i have published a book "How to jump start cars for dummies", copies are sold for $999.99 vat inclusive, and you get free jumper cables, and a fire extinguisher. CALL NOW to place your order.

Postby black start » April 21st, 2013, 11:11 pm

^not sure if troll post

real good info in here though...

Hook, you are a electrician oar?

toybago

Postby toybago » April 22nd, 2013, 1:47 am

this is risky too even with older cars, because you dont know the state of the charging system of the car that needs the "jump". *cool story time* i switched batteries with a guy whose battery had died. they got the van started and i yanked my battery out as soon as his van was re-stared and dead battery re-installed. i was walking toward my car battery in hand when there was a loud bang. dead battery exploded sending bits and pieces everywhere

good thing it didnt happen when my battery was attached or when someone was leaning over said battery attaching/removing terminals....