can i get a complete turbo kit for a ek3 civic under $5000??

RAJIE

can i get a complete turbo kit for a ek3 civic under $5000??

Postby RAJIE » February 5th, 2013, 12:34 pm

okay well looking to turbo charge my ek3 civic
its the 1998 ek3 civic that comes with a stock d15b non vtec engine..

reason for putting the turbo is not really for speed but more the sound

so looking for a complete basic turbo kit..

stylez1234

Re: can i get a complete turbo kit for a ek3 civic under $50

Postby stylez1234 » February 5th, 2013, 1:33 pm

turboin a non vtec isnt a very gd idea,,,, want a gd sound upgrade d air intake wit a k+n filtr

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 5th, 2013, 1:45 pm

RAJIE wrote:okay well looking to turbo charge my ek3 civic
its the 1998 ek3 civic that comes with a stock d15b non vtec engine..

reason for putting the turbo is not really for speed but more the sound

so looking for a complete basic turbo kit..

bess you put the BOV simulator. Google it.

Turbo kits aint cheap, even though you could ghetto rig your own setup and blow the bejesus out of your motor.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » February 5th, 2013, 6:54 pm

stylez, i disagree with you there.. Most resources online usually agree that turboing and tuning non-vtec honda egnines are usually easier than the VTEC counterparts..

Concerning the OP, he really doesnt need a turbo just for the sound..

stylez1234

Postby stylez1234 » February 5th, 2013, 6:58 pm

oh i agree its easir...... but frm xperience the head n block is much weaker... mabe i jus had a bad xperience but stil blew 2 heads evn wit a proper managmnt system

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » February 6th, 2013, 8:25 am

stylez, show me ONE piece of evidence to suggest that there is ANY difference in the block between a VTEC and non-VTEC honda engine, be it D15 or F20 or F22 etc...
The blocks would be identical, the only difference would be the VTEC function of the head which would be exactly identical otherwise..

If you managed to blow two heads, you probably did a horrible job of setting the whole thing up

stylez1234

Postby stylez1234 » February 6th, 2013, 3:58 pm

ok dat wz a real long time ago n i aint no xpert. like i said mabe a bad xperience.... but once i changed engine to vtec evryting went smooth same mngmnt.... if im nt mistakn my mech wz xplainin to me som bout the oil system bein more efficient in vtec head... som bout d holes bein closer..... nevr observd dem myself but wen i went to buy headgasket some had xtra holes and some didnt which i assumed wz oil ports plz correct me if im wrong

Postby black start » February 7th, 2013, 9:42 pm

it will cost more than 5k in used parts alone....if new parts well thats a whole new league.

There are many boosted d15/16 motors on the road today and very reliable as well.

There is a mechanic in Charlieville named Eddie that does decent work. IIRC he has a boosted ek hatch and an ek sedan.

Postby 3stagevtec » February 12th, 2013, 3:04 am

$5000 to spend just for the sound... :shock:

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » February 12th, 2013, 7:40 pm

black start wrote:it will cost more than 5k in used parts alone....

It can be done.
Just got to be resourceful and do all the work yourself.
:idea:

Postby black start » February 12th, 2013, 9:22 pm

Hmmm, parts list

custom manifold
turbo
intercooler
BOV
Piping and fittings
Oil lines
T- fittin for oil lines
Sump Pan modification
Boost Gauge

what did I forget?

I still don't think it can be done for less than 5k. A padna of mines undertaking a project like this on his ga15de and used parts alone would eventually cross the 5K mark so hence my reasoning. Now if you have a link and can get parts uber cheap well thats another story.

Postby black start » February 12th, 2013, 9:22 pm

and we doing the work ourselves...

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » February 13th, 2013, 1:19 am

black start wrote:Hmmm, parts list

custom manifold
turbo
intercooler
BOV
Piping and fittings
Oil lines
T- fittin for oil lines
Sump Pan modification
Boost Gauge

what did I forget?

I still don't think it can be done for less than 5k. A padna of mines undertaking a project like this on his ga15de and used parts alone would eventually cross the 5K mark so hence my reasoning. Now if you have a link and can get parts uber cheap well thats another story.

injectors and rising rate for ghetto boost.

Trick is not to get hung up on brand. A lot of cars come boosted from factory. Cobble together parts from other manufacturers. Also be realistic with your boost, don't be a dumbarse and turn the boost up to 30psi :lol: And don't expect to have a 10sec car for under 5k :roll: