Airbag light on, how to get it off? *solved*

Postby nervewrecker » December 29th, 2012, 6:19 pm

Didnt realize when you un-jack the sensor form the seat belt it comes on. (Did a search and realized that is what caused it).

How do I get it off now? :(

Just wondering, if I un-jack with the car off and re-connect with the car off, will that cause it to come on? Or is it because I started the car with out the seat belt?
Last edited by nervewrecker on January 1st, 2013, 2:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

recklessone

Re: Airbag light on, how to get it off?

Postby recklessone » December 29th, 2012, 11:31 pm

Have no idea what exactly caused it but I would want to believe that un-jacking the sensor from the seat belt caused the system to act like the airbag deployed. I would think a scan tool that you jack into the car under the steering column would fix it.

My airbag was deployed and the electrician jacked in a scan tool in an attempt to turn off the light after I replaced the airbag module on the steering wheel but this was unsuccessful as I was told I had to first replace a "box" that was blown when the bag deployed somewhere in the center of the car which I have not gotten around to doing yet.

Postby nervewrecker » December 30th, 2012, 12:14 am

Google reveals a lot of results, I will try some tomorrow.

Hopefully one will be successful.

Saw something about turning the key and tra la la la

another with removing te +tive from the batt and allowing it to reset and

playing with the door switch thingy and the ignition.

Postby Ted_v2 » December 30th, 2012, 7:49 am

another with removing te +tive from the batt and allowing it to reset

Try this.leaving it over the night with the jack connected

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » December 30th, 2012, 1:19 pm

what type of car? if all fails i'll do it for $100

Postby nervewrecker » December 30th, 2012, 6:12 pm

nissan n16 / almera (2003)

I aint do squat today, spend whole day cleaning. Didnt take out the driver side seat belt though :lol:

wheel whores

Postby wheel whores » December 30th, 2012, 9:03 pm

Anil_Sooknanan wrote:what type of car? if all fails i'll do it for $100

he's good 8-)

you'll be 100% satisfied

smr_fingers

Postby smr_fingers » January 1st, 2013, 1:44 pm

quick question anil

if ur airbags are deployed do you need to change the airbag ecu also??

or just the airbags alone and then reset it?

thanks!

Postby nervewrecker » January 1st, 2013, 2:18 pm

got it off using that method. 8-)

didnt nail it on the first try though.

Re: Airbag light on, how to get it off? *solved*

Postby nervewrecker » January 1st, 2013, 3:56 pm

Nissan almera.
I don't know if this same method will work for the mitsu

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » January 2nd, 2013, 12:32 am

smr_fingers wrote:

quick question anil

thanks!

According to the car you may need to change the ecu as well

smr_fingers

Postby smr_fingers » January 2nd, 2013, 10:00 pm

Anil_Sooknanan wrote:
smr_fingers wrote:

quick question anil

thanks!

According to the car you may need to change the ecu as well

car is a y11 biglight

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » January 2nd, 2013, 11:16 pm

yes needs to change

Postby nervewrecker » August 6th, 2014, 12:49 pm

Airbag light came back on just so a few weeks back.

Haven't used the car much since.

Tried the method posted here already with no success.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 6th, 2014, 5:27 pm

Call me na. You could swing thru and we could scan and troubleshoot.

Postby nervewrecker » November 7th, 2014, 11:00 am

http://www.mollystropicalplants.com/201 ... ing-light/

I haffi try this yes.

Anyone knows where sells the clock spring btw? have a suspicion this may be the culprit.

Postby skylinechild » November 7th, 2014, 11:14 am

nervewrecker wrote:http://www.mollystropicalplants.com/2012/07/25/resetting-a-nissan-almera-airbag-warning-light/

I haffi try this yes.

Anyone knows where sells the clock spring btw? have a suspicion this may be the culprit.

you could buy a complete steering when in the bamboo...it should have the clock spring in it :!:

or if yuh want to play hero- buy it from the motorist- :lol:

Postby nervewrecker » November 7th, 2014, 11:20 am

Whats the price like?

Postby skylinechild » November 7th, 2014, 12:16 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Whats the price like?

have no idea...if yuh really want to kno....get a doctor to prescribe some strong headache tablets....then call dem an ask the price. :lol:

I just called them for a QG18 transmission speed sensor - cost is $1600....my price is slightly cheaper... 8-)

my advice buy a F.used steering wheel complete take it to anil, and he go sort u out in like 15 mins... :lol:

Postby Ted_v2 » November 8th, 2014, 12:19 am

Bought a brand new speed sensor already. Worth it lol

Postby nervewrecker » November 8th, 2014, 12:56 am

What's the price for a fu steering wheel like?

What's the speed sensor for btw

Postby Ted_v2 » November 8th, 2014, 7:07 am

Transmission.

It does cause a random neutral when you driving

Postby nervewrecker » November 8th, 2014, 10:46 am

Nah, don't have that problem.

Just the blinking light.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 8th, 2014, 4:10 pm

skylinechild wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Whats the price like?

have no idea...if yuh really want to kno....get a doctor to prescribe some strong headache tablets....then call dem an ask the price. :lol:

I just called them for a :shock: :shock: QG18 transmission speed sensor - cost is $1600....my price is slightly cheaper... 8-)

my advice buy a F.used steering wheel complete take it to anil, and he go sort u out in like 15 mins... :lol:

I pay $200 for mine...

Postby skylinechild » November 8th, 2014, 9:49 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Nah, don't have that problem.

Just the blinking light.

:lol: :lol: nerve the speed sensor is for the transmission i having a problem where if i remote start i does have to press the pedal for the car to go...
however if i switch off and restart my OD light blinks abt 16 times.
shakes - who posted above - had a similar issue on his car - he said it was that - more than definitely thats the issue i have on my car.

i dont want any F used sensor on my car - so i goin brand new i just indicated the price to show how expensive steal an massey is.... :lol:

call anil and see if he could organise a steering wheel for yuh...and let him sort out the airbag light one time...i hav no idea the cost for a complete steering wheel

eel7

Postby eel7 » June 1st, 2015, 5:12 am