Sound Proofing/Dynamat

eurotuner

Sound Proofing/Dynamat

Postby eurotuner » November 13th, 2012, 1:40 pm

Has anyone in here ever had it done?
I was looking at some reviews online(including Cruchfield)
and it really reduces road noise good a bit, i think its worth the work
since i get a fair bit of road noise in my cars cabin,
just wanted to get some reviews from local tuners

eurotuner

Re: Sound Proofing/Dynamat

Postby eurotuner » November 13th, 2012, 3:03 pm

Moving to Audio section. Please Delete, thanks (:

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 14th, 2012, 3:30 am

Choose the areas you doing it Well to save time and $$

You can also use foam and OEM-like deadening products behind door panels to further reduce road noise. I have 3layers of dynamatt per door and on my rear wheel humps (rav4), covered with a layer of thick foamy material, can't remember it offhand. Made the huge diff, less road noise than our newer vehicles.

TRENDSETA

Postby TRENDSETA » November 14th, 2012, 3:47 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Choose the areas you doing it Well to save time and $$

You can also use foam and OEM-like deadening products behind door panels to further reduce road noise. I have 3layers of dynamatt per door and on my rear wheel humps (rav4), covered with a layer of thick foamy material, can't remember it offhand. Made the huge diff, less road noise than our newer vehicles.

who did your install ? and did they provide material as well? .

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 15th, 2012, 2:10 pm

TRENDSETA wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:Choose the areas you doing it Well to save time and $$

who did your install ? and did they provide material as well? .

I'm pretty sure it was DIY.

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 15th, 2012, 5:44 pm

Yep DIY.

If anyone would like help to do their vehicle feel free to pm me.

syntax

Postby syntax » November 15th, 2012, 6:42 pm

i have been contemplating this for some years now ........ yes years but always doubtful

kurpal where you got u stocks

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 15th, 2012, 11:52 pm

I had bought dynamatt from de audio, price went up by $100 from 4yrs ago.

http://store.deaudiott.com/dynamat-xtreme-bulk-pack/

Then I used second skin from thewiseone to handle a rakkle on my door cards from my midbass,

http://store.secondskinaudio.com/damplifier-pro/

Then I needed a small piece and end up buying a sheet of stinger road kill (it was cheap)

Out of the three I think the dynamatt was the best in terms of value, very easy to install, no problems like the backing paper bursting, no jagged edges to cut yuh, no foil break up during install and the sticky stuff kept its form. Very quality product.

The second skin is also a very good (thickest of them all) but the sheet size was a little more than half what the dynamatt was and almost the same price so I can't give it props for value.

I looking at fat Matt-rattle trap for my new project, will have to import it myself but the quantity I looking at i should come out better than buying locally by a $1000.

You should do it, it takes time and some energy but worth it.

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 15th, 2012, 11:53 pm

I should note, for most people 5-6 sheets is enough, I used that amount of material to achieve certain goals in car audio, not everyone will need that much.

TRENDSETA

Postby TRENDSETA » November 16th, 2012, 12:38 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:I should note, for most people 5-6 sheets is enough, I used that amount of material to achieve certain goals in car audio, not everyone will need that much.

I'm no audiophile so i'm not doing it for music but i personally HATE road noise . yes yes i know i drive an old jap semi econobox but jeez

what would be your recommendations for just a quiet cabin?

i looked at the links you provided and was surprised . somehow thought soundproofing would have been a lil more expensive

Conrad

Postby Conrad » November 16th, 2012, 1:18 pm

Ever tried changing tyres?

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 16th, 2012, 1:53 pm

Conrad wrote:Ever tried changing tyres?

This, even letting some air out my tires aided in a quieter cabin (firm pressured my tired quite a bit)

TRENDSETA wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:I should note, for most people 5-6 sheets is enough, I used that amount of material to achieve certain goals in car audio, not everyone will need that much.

I'm no audiophile so i'm not doing it for music but i personally HATE road noise . yes yes i know i drive an old jap semi econobox but jeez

what would be your recommendations for just a quiet cabin?

i looked at the links you provided and was surprised . somehow thought soundproofing would have been a lil more expensive

Sharkmouth aid no econobox Dan ( I have one too :lol: )

Deadening+ close cell material worked for me, not 100% but good enough.

A nice description of the stages I followed (ignore the products)

http://www.dynamat.com/download/2023_Dy ... _Print.pdf

TRENDSETA

Postby TRENDSETA » November 16th, 2012, 2:01 pm

*strokes chin

tyres you say ...... I'll look into that

as for the shark i hear you ! men does bad talk those vehicles but i loved mine to death . Properly maintained they are the bees knees

I'm looking to quiet a C35 laurel though

Postby Morpheus » November 17th, 2012, 4:32 pm

No need to move to the Audio Section IMHO. In this case it's not music related

I have also thought about applying some to my cabin due to road noise. Things I consider are price and weight.

The good brands are more expensive and according to your needs, one layer may not be enough. This drives up cost and weight.

Online reviews show lots of satisfied customers. But we all have to remember that it REDUCES, not ELIMINATES noise and vibration entirely. So just remember that.