AD Wagon - Softer, Smoother Ride

KingDrive

AD Wagon - Softer, Smoother Ride

Postby KingDrive » April 10th, 2012, 1:01 am

Now buy a Y11 AD. Want to do something to get rid of the original "bumpyness" dat u does get on normal roads.
If ah change shocks alone, dat would help...?
D original shocks still good but tinking about some oil shocks to soften d ride.
Gimme some advice nah fellas from all yuh own experience...
Blessings.

Re: AD Wagon - Softer, Smoother Ride

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 10th, 2012, 8:23 am

you can't make a silk purse out of a sow's ear.

Postby MG Man » April 10th, 2012, 10:42 am

OP what wheel / tyre combination u running?

KingDrive

Postby KingDrive » April 10th, 2012, 3:02 pm

MG Man wrote:OP what wheel / tyre combination u running?

I jus buy d car so I still have d foreign used (biscuit) tyres it come with. Is a set of 195/15.
But u really think dat d tyres is d main cause of the bumpy ride. Almost everybody I talk to who owns an AD says dat it has a rough ride...
I know dat these wagons come wit gas shocks to manage the transport of weight and I was thinking dat maybe dis is d cause of the rough, "van" ride.
Wat u tink about using oil shocks (like dat found in sedans) instead of the original gas shocks it comes wit...

I think dat alot of fellas in dis forum doh have much knowledge about dis kinda ting, because d post gets alot of views but people, like dey jus dont have any advice cause like dey doh know bout dis...

I would really appreciate some good advice..
Wit so much AD wagons on d scene, fix up and looking good.... oh gosh, advise ah breda nah...
tanks eh..................blessings!

Postby MG Man » April 10th, 2012, 4:30 pm

ride quality is a function of the spring and shock combo
the 'shock absorber' is really called a damper, because it dampens the motion of the spring......without a damper, a car would be very bouncy and springy..........
a firm damper typically limits the bounciness (jounce and rebound) of the spring more than a soft damper, but regardless, if your springs are firm, the ride will still be reasonably bumpy
If you go with a less rigid damper, you'd need some softer springs as well.....

Postby rollingstock » April 10th, 2012, 8:02 pm

Swap in some f/u wingroad shocks and springs and see if there is a difference, can tell you i had a y11 wr and the ride wasn't bad, drove a friends ad so i know the ride that you are talking about.

also check your tyre pressure, seen many times f/u cars with 40psi for shipping purposes or wrong interpretation of the max psi rating on the tyre.

konartis

Postby konartis » April 10th, 2012, 8:35 pm

you think that this can be used for the b13 also? the Foreign used one? cause i tell you when you have a new and old car, you can really tell the difference in rides..

Postby rollingstock » April 10th, 2012, 8:49 pm

^ I wouldn't buy used suspension parts for a car that old, plus new tokico shocks for the 13 ain't that expensive.

KingDrive

Postby KingDrive » April 12th, 2012, 10:11 am

MG Man wrote:ride quality is a function of the spring and shock combo
the 'shock absorber' is really called a damper, because it dampens the motion of the spring......without a damper, a car would be very bouncy and springy..........
a firm damper typically limits the bounciness (jounce and rebound) of the spring more than a soft damper, but regardless, if your springs are firm, the ride will still be reasonably bumpy
If you go with a less rigid damper, you'd need some softer springs as well.....

Do u know anywhere that cud handle a upgrade of d suspension real good?
I have no problem in changing out d springs & shocks but I want d right people to handle it...
If anyone knows from their own experience...Please Post..
Thanks!

KingDrive

Postby KingDrive » April 12th, 2012, 10:33 am

rollingstock wrote:Swap in some f/u wingroad shocks and springs and see if there is a difference, can tell you i had a y11 wr and the ride wasn't bad, drove a friends ad so i know the ride that you are talking about.

also check your tyre pressure, seen many times f/u cars with 40psi for shipping purposes or wrong interpretation of the max psi rating on the tyre.

Do u know anywhere dat deals strictly wit suspensions?
I want to carry d car by a place dat wud be able to change out d springs and shocks, maybe wit aftermarket stuff (if it wud work better).
Cause right now hoss, Ah need 2 get dis car driving smoother... d gul doh like it at all!
..........by d way.... wat is "f/u"?

Postby rollingstock » April 12th, 2012, 1:38 pm

^ f/u= foreign used