LF: MECHANIC WHO CAN CHANGE A CYLINDER HEAD GASKET FOR CD20

gencon

LF: MECHANIC WHO CAN CHANGE A CYLINDER HEAD GASKET FOR CD20

Postby gencon » September 3rd, 2011, 1:11 am

looking for a mechanic who can source and change a cylinder head gasket for a nissan cd20 diesel engine, having trouble getting someone who does this, preferably one in and around central area (freeport and environs).

Please leave a name and number for the mechanic you are recommending.

thanks.
Last edited by gencon on October 13th, 2011, 7:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

gencon

Re: LF: MECHANIC WHO CAN CHANGE A CYLINDER HEAD GASKET FOR C

Postby gencon » September 3rd, 2011, 2:49 pm

bump!

ram&sons

Postby ram&sons » October 13th, 2011, 7:42 pm

call 638 5067 ask for carl el socorro

gencon

Postby gencon » November 15th, 2011, 9:21 pm

so I spoke to my mechanic he said that cd20 replacement parts are no good (connector rod bearings, cylinder head gasket, and piston rings) obviously I can't afford original nissan, so I might have to buy Japanese or even Taiwanese if I get them, I believe it was these he referring to.
He said to buy another cd20 diesel engine, but I think he's just lazy and doesn't want to do the rebuild. He is fully capable of doing it. The thing is though you really not getting good foreign used cd20 diesel engines, they start developing compression and overheating issues 18 months or so after installation. And you have to think about replacing the engine after 2 years , unless you're lucky enough to get a decent engine. Why foreign used companies don't start doing compression tests on engines for a potential customer before purchase?

nilgoat

Postby nilgoat » November 15th, 2011, 10:07 pm

try junior 785-4506

gencon

Postby gencon » November 18th, 2011, 6:41 pm

nilgoat wrote:try junior 785-4506

I call the man, he said he doesn't do rebiulds on diesel engines, he said there is another guy further down the road from him on the corner who does do rebuilds on diesels.

nilgoat

Postby nilgoat » November 19th, 2011, 5:00 am

kool man... check him out next week...

Postby black start » November 19th, 2011, 4:46 pm

so wat it is u want to do exactli...just change the gasket and check the head for warpage and thing.....or u wah rebuild the engine wit new parts?was the engine backpressuring?cylinder was worn or had ridges?all lil more detail would help your stuation a long way....

gencon

Postby gencon » November 22nd, 2011, 9:03 pm

ram&sons wrote:call 638 5067 ask for carl el socorro

I will call tomorrow.

gencon

Postby gencon » November 22nd, 2011, 9:04 pm

ram&sons wrote:call 638 5067 ask for carl el socorro

I will calll tomorrow

gencon

Postby gencon » November 22nd, 2011, 9:04 pm

Black Start wrote:so wat it is u want to do exactli...just change the gasket and check the head for warpage and thing.....or u wah rebuild the engine wit new parts?was the engine backpressuring?cylinder was worn or had ridges?all lil more detail would help your stuation a long way....

it does have slight back pressure, and the engine is very lazy, when using the ac and driving on the highway on a hot day, temperature begins to climb (fan running all the time when ac is on), however it does not happen right away, it may take 30 to 45 mins for it to start to climb. I want to rebuild the engine preferably, if not I at least I want the cylinder head gasket checked, most likely it is going and not yet gone, need a mechanic to confirm. If I drive without the ac no overheating issues but engine is still lazy, that being said I still get 100km/h on the highway. For engine rebuild all I need for the most part is connector rod bearings, cylinder head gasket and either standard piston rings or ten thou piston rings, I will have to get the block re bored if I want to use ten thou rings, however If this is not possible, I will use standard rings, the compression will still be better than what it is currently. I can't afford original Nissan so I will by some reasonably priced parts, Japanese or Taiwanese whichever one I get. engine was bought and installed in Oct 2009.

any help appreciated.

Postby sliderz1 » November 22nd, 2011, 9:21 pm

twicedead wrote: The thing is though you really not getting good foreign used cd20 diesel engines

consider the YD22 if you plan to change out
newer, lots more available, will pull better, better economy, turbo variants are spirited and will fit in the smaller cars

gencon

Postby gencon » November 22nd, 2011, 9:38 pm

sliderz1 wrote:
twicedead wrote: The thing is though you really not getting good foreign used cd20 diesel engines

consider the YD22 if you plan to change out
newer, lots more available, will pull better, better economy, turbo variants are spirited and will fit in the smaller cars

lots more you say? I know of the yd22 would have preferred it over the cd20 but couldn't get any at the time, so exactly how much more are there now? who selling? will you get replacement/rebuild parts? and who selling? and at what price? I think at this point this point If I am changing engine again I might switch to gas and be done with it, this is the third cd20 engine i've had in the last 4 years.

Postby sliderz1 » November 23rd, 2011, 9:41 am

......back at the shop last year we sent a guy for a YD22, he called abt how many there were with varying prices and needed help choosing one

what vehicle is it btw?

i'll update.....

gencon

Postby gencon » November 23rd, 2011, 8:20 pm

sliderz1 wrote:......back at the shop last year we sent a guy for a YD22, he called abt how many there were with varying prices and needed help choosing one

what vehicle is it btw?

i'll update.....

b14

Postby sliderz1 » November 25th, 2011, 8:56 pm

update

you need to check Prabhu's in the bamboo......
and if im not wrong Bicks had the YD22 mentioned in one of their ads

gencon

Postby gencon » November 26th, 2011, 11:44 am

sliderz1 wrote:update

you need to check Prabhu's in the bamboo......
and if im not wrong Bicks had the YD22 mentioned in one of their ads

I have lost enough money already, and I believe a yd22 engine and tranny is 8K or more, so I will be fixing this engine or converting to gas.