Help: car battery suggestions needed

super tomcat

Help: car battery suggestions needed

Postby super tomcat » July 17th, 2011, 12:25 pm

Im looking for a battery for my vehicle...
Vehicle is boosted so engine bay usually hotter than normal and I have small sound system with one 4 channel amp.

whats good on the market?

mashjumbie

Re: Help: car battery suggestions needed

Postby mashjumbie » July 21st, 2011, 7:39 pm

acdelco hm24 its a heavy duty marine maintenance free and also if it 2 hot u can still top up water!!652-0164 it is very limited in the country and made in the USA.

jattsrobby

Postby jattsrobby » July 21st, 2011, 7:45 pm

check civic dude post on tuner for good imported batteries with guarantee.

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Re: please help me!!!what is the best batteries in trinidad!

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » July 21st, 2011, 7:47 pm

I am using the Red top OPTIMA in two diesel vehicles no issue to date batteries about 1 year old

Postby sliderz1 » July 21st, 2011, 8:18 pm

Bosch .........working good so far, but i only do 10k kms on them so far

Postby Morpheus » July 22nd, 2011, 1:55 am

Took a chance with Superior American, no maintenance. August will make it 2 years since I installed it.

Went and got the battery and charging system checked once for warranty reasons, 2 weeks after purchase I think. Never had cause to go back(maintenance free they said). Car still starting great.

I forgot my hood light on overnight Wednesday night and the car remote started without problems. When I went to the car I that's when I realise I forgot the light on (10pm - 6am) :|

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » July 22nd, 2011, 3:04 am

Powermaster lasted exactly a yr.... now the ting eh takin charge. electrician said " like a cell gone tru cause the amps skipping"

is it normal for these batteries to konk out after approx a year? and why is that?
I always make sure my alternator charging properly and water level good etc.

I need to get a new battery so this thread is important to me too..

Diesel Turbo pickup btw.

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 22nd, 2011, 7:55 am

cutthroatInt wrote:Powermaster lasted exactly a yr.... now the ting eh takin charge. electrician said " like a cell gone tru cause the amps skipping"

is it normal for these batteries to konk out after approx a year? and why is that?

Diesel Turbo pickup btw.

Typical. And with the diesel, your warranty probably up too right?

As i've recently come to realize, buy anything BUT a local battery.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 22nd, 2011, 9:13 am

you can't go wrong with the following:
ac delco
power master
stinger(more for music)
optima
some people use rocket i never hear them complain

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 22nd, 2011, 9:16 am

^^^and if you could get DieHard....that is one best battery!!!

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » July 22nd, 2011, 9:56 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:
cutthroatInt wrote:Powermaster lasted exactly a yr.... now the ting eh takin charge. electrician said " like a cell gone tru cause the amps skipping"

Diesel Turbo pickup btw.

Typical. And with the diesel, your warranty probably up too right?

As i've recently come to realize, buy anything BUT a local battery.

is not the first time battery conk out and warranty up. steupes.

I had a bad experience with AC Delco. but is no fault of the battery. Same thing... I needed a battery cause my Track decided to conk out at the most unopportune time. After some milling around I decided on the maintenance free cause the water had dried up on the old one. One week later this ACdelco got fried. Meh damn alternator was overcharging. Trust me, I learn meh lesson dey.

Make sure water levels good and alternator in top condition

Postby sliderz1 » July 22nd, 2011, 10:04 am

cutthroatInt wrote:

i fixed 2 cells in a 1 1/2 yrs in meh las powermaster

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » July 22nd, 2011, 10:18 am

Powermaster/Track, same exact battery btw.. Different sticker and price. All made by Lange Trinidad. Just FYI.

Who fixed the cells for you? and how much did each fixing cost?

Postby sliderz1 » July 22nd, 2011, 10:43 am

a backyard electrcian in guanapo ( arima side) cost $60 each repair

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » July 30th, 2011, 2:39 pm

The maintenance free batteries need some sort of heat shielding as I was told, no heat shield affects the gell in these batteries, is this true?

Postby sliderz1 » July 30th, 2011, 3:04 pm

em.........i dunno..... i have a bosch in d navara and it workin good so far

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » August 8th, 2011, 7:20 pm

Morpheus wrote:Took a chance with Superior American, no maintenance. August will make it 2 years since I installed it.

Went and got the battery and charging system checked once for warranty reasons, 2 weeks after purchase I think. Never had cause to go back(maintenance free they said). Car still starting great.

I forgot my hood light on overnight Wednesday night and the car remote started without problems. When I went to the car I that's when I realise I forgot the light on (10pm - 6am) :|

I makin almost three years with mine.

Postby Morpheus » August 8th, 2011, 9:07 pm

cherrypopper wrote:
Morpheus wrote:Took a chance with Superior American, no maintenance. August will make it 2 years since I installed it.

^^That's great to know.

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 9th, 2011, 7:49 am

sliderz1 wrote:a backyard electrcian in guanapo ( arima side) cost $60 each repair

err, how does one fix a cell?
I never heard of this before...

Postby sliderz1 » August 9th, 2011, 8:42 am

the cell connection got burned out............the connection was redone
no work really on the actual cell

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 10th, 2011, 1:03 pm

super tomcat wrote:Im looking for a battery for my vehicle...
Vehicle is boosted so engine bay usually hotter than normal and I have small sound system with one 4 channel amp.

And ??

Any car battery would work horse...

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 10th, 2011, 1:09 pm

cherrypopper wrote:

yup one of my superior american made 3 years ..the other one made like 1 1/2 yrs due to it mysteriously developing a crack.........and a broken batterypole.....Up to this day I cant figure out how that happened.....

pay1093

Postby pay1093 » August 10th, 2011, 9:03 pm

V2NR 3.0 wrote:
super tomcat wrote:Im looking for a battery for my vehicle...

And ??

Any car battery would work horse...

Not really, with the added heat the car would require a battery can survive the heat. Ive seen kinetic batteries swell from being under the hood of a heated car.

Personally I use an optima d34 yellow top for over 2yrs now and experienced no problems whatsoever. Ive seen a few powermaster's (USA) just stop charging after a while and so far the AC delco has been holding its own.

Zed Sqd

Postby Zed Sqd » August 15th, 2011, 2:18 pm

For small music, the marine battery or deep-cycle type batteries is not necessary. Unless you plan to park the vehicle with the engine off and play your music.

I too have small music and I went with the sealed maintenance-free Bosch. I decided to try it cuz they give 3 years warranty on gas engines and it was $400 cheaper than those marine batteries that the other folks were tryin to sell me.

sboo99

Postby sboo99 » August 23rd, 2011, 5:15 pm

sliderz1 wrote:Bosch .........working good so far, but i only do 10k kms on them so far

I have a Bosch maintenance-free as well. Got it checked the other day and it's still 100% perfect and I've had it since Dec '09.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » June 13th, 2012, 12:35 pm

Tuners .... where sells Diehard batteries??

Galleyoda

Postby Galleyoda » October 25th, 2012, 8:53 pm

where in south sells DieHard batteries?

Galleyoda

Postby Galleyoda » October 25th, 2012, 9:01 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:^^^and if you could get DieHard....that is one best battery!!!

Who sells DieHard?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » October 25th, 2012, 9:12 pm

I will always go Diehard over Power Master/Rocket/Track/Yuasa...

You will be surprised how affordable it is too

Postby Morpheus » October 25th, 2012, 11:12 pm

^^I will go ANYTHING over them

I only going maintenance free too. LoL