please remove!!

smily245

please remove!!

Postby smily245 » June 1st, 2011, 8:17 am

when i mash my accelerator pedal, i am not getting the full power, the exhaust sounds like how subaru sounds like something is holding it back, could this be that the torque converter is going bad?
Last edited by smily245 on October 10th, 2012, 5:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: almera problem

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 1st, 2011, 8:35 am

I want to believe this is a problem with b13 go straight up, is it something like this, when you reach to around 3000 rpm's you wont cross 100km, if is that then your kick down is the problem, you'd keep revving and goes no where. is it something like this??

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » June 1st, 2011, 12:54 pm

AIR Flow sensor needs cleaning or replacing.

100% sure

smily245

Postby smily245 » June 2nd, 2011, 8:58 am

its crossing 100km but when it mash its not moving smoothly, the engine sounds like how an subaru sounds, rough, like it struggling to get the required power.

will try changing it, caused i cleaned it and nothing it was the same problem.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » June 2nd, 2011, 9:33 am

could be a bad coil pack, the 'sounds like a subaru' thing sounds like a misfire on a cylinder.

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » June 2nd, 2011, 12:38 pm

If you clean it, you are supposed to reset the ecu before restarting your car.
Just remove a battery pole for a couple minutes, install the cleaned / new AF Sensor , then re-connect battery pole and start engine.

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 2nd, 2011, 1:04 pm

shotta 20 wrote:If you clean it, you are supposed to reset the ecu before restarting your car.
Just remove a battery pole for a couple minutes, install the cleaned / new AF Sensor , then re-connect battery pole and start engine.

Sounds like a misfire which would not be caused by the MAF. Coilpacks, Plugs, harness first.

sniper21

Postby sniper21 » June 2nd, 2011, 6:25 pm

you do an engine wash recently?

Postby Hook » June 2nd, 2011, 11:16 pm

wow...men arguing with a mechanic oui

and just yesterday a co-worker's almera experienced the same conditions - a stutter and hold-back similar to a misfire...and the problem was solved with a few blasts of electronic contact cleaner on the AFM...ah jus saying nuh...try the cheaper, easier fixes first before you go hurting up your head about coil packs and other electrical problems

TRENDSETA

Postby TRENDSETA » June 3rd, 2011, 9:00 am

i agree with Hook try the easier fixes first.... but i have to throw in when i had a bad coilpack on my car it sounded the same way like a Subaru boxer type engine....would have been pretty damn cool f it didn't come with an erratic idle and the fear that the car would shut down on me on the hway

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » June 9th, 2011, 5:30 pm

shotta 20 wrote:AIR Flow sensor needs cleaning or replacing.

100% sure

X2! :|

smily245

Postby smily245 » November 29th, 2011, 4:08 pm

guys, new problem, can anyone tell me what could cause the engine to burn water or lose water? besides the head or block have a crack.

Postby Hook » November 29th, 2011, 6:40 pm

are you CERTAIN it's "burning" water?

what symptoms suggest this?

because a leaky hose/hose clamp/radiator may leak coolant under pressure at normal operating temperature so you'd never see a drip anywhere at standstill, but you'd still lose coolant. You might be able to see where the leak is if you inspect closely for that dried coloured crud on your hoses/radiator when coolant dries.

If coolant was finding its way to your combustion chamber (cracked head/block, broken cylinder head gasket), you'd have lots of white smoke and it would smell sweet (the smell of anifreeze "burning").
Ensure it's not getting into your oil or transmission fluid by looking for a white-ish (creme colour in the oil and pink in the tranny fluid) jelly-like gunk.

smily245

Postby smily245 » November 30th, 2011, 9:08 am

im just losing water from the reservoir bottle, i did a test a guy told me about, that i half filled a soft drink bottle and flipped it over on the radiator mouth and i am getting some small bubbles and every couple seconds a biggish size bubble, i smoke when the car is cold and now starting up and a little when its warmed up.

smily245

Postby smily245 » November 30th, 2011, 9:09 am

no signs of water in the oil, so far.

Postby Hook » November 30th, 2011, 9:28 am

Have your mechanic do a compression test and a leak down test on the engine and do a pressure test on the radiator to diagnose the problem before you proceed.

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » November 30th, 2011, 9:41 am

smily245 wrote:im just losing water from the reservoir bottle, i did a test a guy told me about, that i half filled a soft drink bottle and flipped it over on the radiator mouth and i am getting some small bubbles and every couple seconds a biggish size bubble, i smoke when the car is cold and now starting up and a little when its warmed up.

This is a symptom of a blown head gasket.

smily245

Postby smily245 » December 1st, 2011, 7:51 am

hook thanks will try those tests. big z wouldn't the oil and water be mixing if the head gasket is blown.

Postby Hook » December 1st, 2011, 11:24 am

The oil and water won't necessarily mix, no. Not in all cases of head gasket failure. It depends on where the gasket has been breached.
A small leak between a water passage and combustion cylinder may produce the symptoms you're getting now, but a leak between water and oil passages can cause oil/water mixing.

Do the tests to confirm whether it's a cooling system problem (car may have more than one problem w.r.t. the smoke AND coolant loss) or head gasket failure causing both problems.
It's been discussed here before that those QG engines are no good after a head gasket change so explore the possibility of it not being the worst case scenario before you ask Santa for a head and block.

smily245

Postby smily245 » December 12th, 2011, 8:54 am

i have a another symptom which may identify the problem better, the engine temp goes up to about three quarter the way when the car is in a stopped position but still idling and comes back down then a few secs will pass and it does it again.

Postby Hook » December 12th, 2011, 9:06 am

12 days since u posted and you still looking for symptoms?

*steups* look for a head and block one time...your head gasket gone

zoelikescheese

Postby zoelikescheese » December 23rd, 2011, 12:16 pm

Yup^^ some warping done going on there already