wtk. Pistons melting on the intake side

Boost Junkies TT

wtk. Pistons melting on the intake side

Postby Boost Junkies TT » October 4th, 2010, 11:33 am

I would like to hear your opinions on what causes pistons melt on the intake side. Normally pistons melt on the exhaust when the afm is too lean. The pistons came out from a sr20ve-t engine and this is the second time it melt on the intake side (number 1 and 4 pistons only). No signs of detonation was even seen on any of the plugs at no time the afm is 11.3 on the wide-band and the boost is 10psi. The first time the pistons melt the literally explode and splatter on the intake side the second time number 1 piston melt on the intake side and number 4 piston ring land broke. Would like to hear your responses as to why this is happening.

Boost Junkies TT

Re: wtk. Pistons melting on the intake side

Postby Boost Junkies TT » October 6th, 2010, 11:33 am

no ideas fellas?

Postby A172 » October 6th, 2010, 3:56 pm

the plugs wouldn't necessarily show that kind of violent det you describing there....dem pistons wuda buss in ah one under that kinda stress

it's definitely detonation if they melting on the intake side man

if the afr rich as what u say then that timing hadda be ridiculous and the tuner dunno wha he doing

call 3327056 if yuh really wanna solve this problem

Boost Junkies TT

Postby Boost Junkies TT » October 7th, 2010, 9:42 am

thanks for the advise partner but the timing is real retarded and problem still there. Anyone else have ideas as to why this is happening?

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » October 7th, 2010, 9:50 am

Injector size and fuel pressure?

Postby A172 » October 7th, 2010, 9:56 am

what ecu/ management u using? if yuh still using the nontobo ecu the timing still gone be rel high

ever flow test dem injectors?

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » October 7th, 2010, 10:34 am

the ecu should pull timing when it senses knock.
...if the knock sensor is hooked up.

Boost Junkies TT

Postby Boost Junkies TT » October 7th, 2010, 10:39 am

Injector size is 370cc never got them flow tested though. Fuel pressure is about 37psi on idle and when i am in boost it rises to 60psi. I can tell via a on board fuel pressure gauge.

Big Z

Postby Big Z » October 7th, 2010, 11:02 am

At 10 PSI, Im guessing that you hitting about 300 hp, on injectors designed to work happily at 235hp.
When a Nissan sr20det guy can chime in and confirm, but me thinks your injectors may be a bit too small for the power you trying to make.

Also.. what ECU are you using... cause the timing may be too advanced as said before.

Boost Junkies TT

Postby Boost Junkies TT » October 7th, 2010, 11:19 am

I am using a greddy emanage but i think for the amount of boost the injectors size is good because i know lots of ppl running 14psi on stock det injectors and still getting a very good AFR with a stock det ecu.

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » October 7th, 2010, 11:24 am

what compression, pistons and gas you running?

Big Z

Postby Big Z » October 7th, 2010, 11:44 am

The vvl head flows way better than the de (and det - same thing) head.
10 PSI on a vvl probably makes more power than a det at 14 PSI.
Start retarding your timing.

Postby A172 » October 7th, 2010, 11:54 am

Big Z i doubt injector size is an issue because the afr rich...plus I'm guessing they would have checked dc on the emanage

you on point with the timing doh....Tipster hear wha to do, retard timing ALL it could go and do NOT add any on the emanage...start tuning from there....raise fuel pressure to about 45 also

fiddling up wit timing on dem emanage, especially de blue kinda tricky in that it does knock easy one yuh start to add timing so you hadda tune carefully...we were able to pull off 20psi on pump gas w/ stock timing on my engine with no knock once we got it right....engine eh break yet and going on more than a year strong

you was hearing de knock when it was detonating before?

Boost Junkies TT

Postby Boost Junkies TT » October 7th, 2010, 12:00 pm

^^ will try pulling some more timing and see put alot was pulled already.

Postby A172 » October 7th, 2010, 12:05 pm

nah pullim all it cud go and work forward from there

is a ve or det ecu the emanage wire up to?

Boost Junkies TT

Postby Boost Junkies TT » October 7th, 2010, 1:32 pm

its a de ecu i am using and i wasnt hearing any knock but its kinda hard because of the external wastegate. But i will try what you told me and see how it works out for me. Thanks for the info you provided so far. Wasnt really expecting it from you of all ppl yuh know. I feel you want me back on track to cut meh a** :D

Postby A172 » October 7th, 2010, 2:43 pm

lolwut :lol: all de guntalk online aside, I know how frustrating bussing engine and tuning issues could be, so there's a time and place for everything

i think that's the problem there, the nontobo ecu's stock timing is probly all kinda 28degrees n ting at full load, so even when you think u pull back plenty timing it still too high for a turbo application....factor in tha high compression and we sh1t gas and whaddaya get....?

think about it for a sec....fuel good, spark good, afr rich....yet dem pistons breaking and i sure you eh hearing de knock cuz it happening so quickly den BOOM! *ring ring....yeah fadda ah need ah tow :| *....all points to timing

you should really get the det ecu

Boost Junkies TT

Postby Boost Junkies TT » October 7th, 2010, 4:15 pm

I we agree on something lol there is a time and place for everything indeed . My timing under load is 10degrees and it was working really good before i put in the ve-t engine. As a matter of fact i was running more timing if i am not mistaken on the de-t engine i had before. The ve-t i have now isn't really a high comp. because i am using det pistons. My compression is roughly 9.1 now and i am running premium gas.

KTS

Postby KTS » October 7th, 2010, 6:36 pm

A172 wrote:ring ring....yeah fadda ah need ah tow

n a poor lil starlet is pull up to give a tow n wanna be racing subaru n thing lol.
man make a good point wit d ecu timing more advance than d det. look in d bin in d back i sure it have a det ecu somewhere santa cudda pass early

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » October 7th, 2010, 9:39 pm

piston looks like KTS avatar :lol: :lol: :lol:

KTS

Postby KTS » October 7th, 2010, 9:50 pm

na thats a b16 that valve get away....d funny thing is we never found d valve from that engine :?

Boost Junkies TT

Postby Boost Junkies TT » October 8th, 2010, 8:44 am

KTS wrote:
A172 wrote:ring ring....yeah fadda ah need ah tow

n a poor lil starlet is pull up to give a tow n wanna be racing subaru n thing lol.
man make a good point wit d ecu timing more advance than d det. look in d bin in d back i sure it have a det ecu somewhere santa cudda pass early

Mr. KTS lol next time u giving me ah tow doh be racing any subaru nah but i keep up i was on yuh bumper :D