HELP NEEDED TO CLEAN HEADLIGHT

frontier

HELP NEEDED TO CLEAN HEADLIGHT

Postby frontier » July 24th, 2010, 5:54 pm

yeah ppl i tried everything, to clean this paint stain from my light, water and soap, gas, thinners (yes even thinners) and mothers headlamp cleaner and nothing working and now my light scratch up
help please.
100_2543.jpg
100_2542.jpg

Re: HELP NEEDED TO CLEAN HEADLIGHT

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 24th, 2010, 8:41 pm

there's a thread somewhere about a 3M headlight restoration product......some say use toothpaste and others swear by brake fluid.....

frontier

Postby frontier » July 24th, 2010, 8:47 pm

cool thanks

Postby pugboy » July 24th, 2010, 9:37 pm

start with the 3m perfectit compound, its a very fine compound and wont leave scratches

Postby 3stagevtec » July 25th, 2010, 6:01 pm

check this one out..

http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=41&t=324398

it comes with abrasive pads that will polish out those scratches..

Seeker

Postby Seeker » July 25th, 2010, 7:57 pm

I wuld love to know how that pans out. I too need info on this.

Postby crazybalhead » July 26th, 2010, 8:12 am

Subscribed to the turtle wax! Check 2dmax auto on tuner right here for it.

oxidation

Postby oxidation » July 26th, 2010, 8:54 pm

Seeker wrote:I wuld love to know how that pans out. I too need info on this.

hey man if you looking to restore your headlights and do it cheap i bought the turtle wax restore kit from 2dmaxauto

and man i can tell yuh this thing works

maybe frontier can try this 2

rippitt

Postby rippitt » July 27th, 2010, 9:24 pm

While those things work sorta ok, lemme tell u how to really clean ur lights usin some degreaser an autosol metal polish.

1)You can get Purple blaster degreaser and a tube of Autosol at any auto shop.
2)Using the degreaser wash the light rubbing vigorously with a soft cloth.
3) Rinse immediately THOROUGHLY.
4)Polish the light according to the instruction leaflet. Done.

All plastic headlamps fade after a while. Oil deposits as well as dirt accumulate on roadways from vehicles, when it rains, the car in front of you sends a spray or mist onto your car. This mist carries a percentage of oil and dirt mixture which adheres to the plastic. This constant coating of oil with dirt along with the natural aging of the plastic is what causes your light to fade.

I have used this method personally on my own vehicle with great results, try it.

Autosol will remove the paint and have your light looking new.

frontier

Postby frontier » July 28th, 2010, 7:35 am

yeah but that is paint on my headlight not fading

Postby crazybalhead » July 28th, 2010, 9:22 am

frontier wrote:yeah but that is paint on my headlight not fading

Yes, the turtle wax kit will actually sand down the paint in stages and then polish.