Steering Vibration

Red line

Steering Vibration

Postby Red line » February 18th, 2010, 7:39 pm

Nissan P12 Primera. Changed rims to 17" using nexen tyres. Steering vibrating at about 80-100kmph, beyond that no problems, but when i hit the brakes, it shakes violently.

Ah just fed up, speed balance about 4 times and aligned.

Please help.

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » February 18th, 2010, 7:42 pm

^^got dat same prob wit meh AD...neva found ah solution :(

vin123

Postby vin123 » February 18th, 2010, 8:25 pm

My Friend had the same problem, he never pin pointed the exact problem but he changed CV Joints & Rotor Discs and it stopped.

andy111

Postby andy111 » February 18th, 2010, 8:30 pm

Most likely its your rotor disks........

subzerounlimited

Postby subzerounlimited » February 19th, 2010, 8:24 pm

well since you balanced the tyres already
could be a few things:
check your rims first then
maybe the bearings are loose or worn
worn tie rod ends
worn ball joints
worn bushings

and with the braking issue
again could be worn bearings
worn spring or struts
leaking cylinder or caliper
rotor disc or drum maybe warped... :)

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » February 19th, 2010, 8:34 pm

subzerounlimited wrote:well since you balanced the tyres already

this should be the first thing you check

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » February 19th, 2010, 9:17 pm

same problem with a ck2 lancer...it was the rims

Postby Damien » February 19th, 2010, 10:05 pm

You installed new rims or used ? any bent?

TRDGUY

Postby TRDGUY » February 23rd, 2010, 11:07 pm

from what the guys at TONE in marabella told me since i had the same symptoms the rims nowadays are not really made to oem specs when the after market rims are placed on the vehicle there are more tolerances compared to the latter. so they actually make these rings which goes in between the rims and the car spindle to eliminate the so called "play"..........not too sure how they do it but this is all i was told.......i didnt put it in my car since it was kinda expensive to install. :|

Red line

Steering vibration specialist

Postby Red line » February 25th, 2010, 6:33 pm

A few ppl gave me some advice to check a guy called Shabbi in Couva opposite a funeral home. The man real good and reasonable. At least he would show you where the problem is instead of changing a million different things.

Will have to check him out soon and let you all know if i got a fix or rip off.

wheel whores

Postby wheel whores » February 25th, 2010, 7:11 pm

TRDGUY wrote:from what the guys at TONE in marabella told me since i had the same symptoms the rims nowadays are not really made to oem specs when the after market rims are placed on the vehicle there are more tolerances compared to the latter. so they actually make these rings which goes in between the rims and the car spindle to eliminate the so called "play"..........not too sure how they do it but this is all i was told.......i didnt put it in my car since it was kinda expensive to install. :|
those things could be your prob. since the rim isn't centered i got mines by mileage mack

Postby sharkman121 » February 26th, 2010, 10:26 am

Had this problem for a while before and after speed balancing a few times i realised the rim had a slight bend that was barely even visible by the naked eye. Once i fixed this it stopped.

I initially thought it was the rotor discs though.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 26th, 2010, 10:39 am

Had this same problem on a nissan car for a year!! Got fed up and deceided to keep it under 100km to not get vibrations...but could not keep up that practice....so I changed bushings and stuff - still vibrating.

Aligned wheels and speed balance the four tyres at a respectable tyre shop.....no help same problem......

Eventually I went to a small tyre shop and took out all the rims and tyres only to notice all Four F**g rims were bent on the inside.........Got rid of the rims and tyres - bought NEW RIMS and TYres and all vibrations stopped!!!!

Car runs like the wind now - with a steady steering - zero vibrations.....!!!!!!!!

Its definitely your rims and tyres causing this........!!!! Trust me .....

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » February 26th, 2010, 1:55 pm

i gettin a vibration wen acceleratin, around 120kmph

checked suspension & rims, rotated tyres, balanced and aligned: everyting good!

still gettin d same probs....

ne idea why?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 26th, 2010, 1:59 pm

I am sure it is the rims and tyres cause I balanced mines and the guys in th tyre shop assured me that my rims and tyres were good.....but again upon closer inspection by myself I saw that the rims were bent on the inside....Once I chaged them I never got those vibrations again..........check your rims and tyres personally ----dont take anyones word for it that they are good.......

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » February 26th, 2010, 6:30 pm

subzerounlimited wrote:well since you balanced the tyres already
could be a few things:
check your rims first then
maybe the bearings are loose or worn
worn tie rod ends
worn ball joints
worn bushings

and with the braking issue
again could be worn bearings
worn spring or struts
leaking cylinder or caliper

Postby bushwakka » March 1st, 2010, 9:43 am

its most likely bent rims, warped rotors and if fixing those doesn't remedy it fully, then check ur front ends

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » March 1st, 2010, 1:48 pm

bushwakka wrote:its most likely warped rotors

but dat will cause it 2 vibrate wile ACCELERATIN? not jus braking alone??? :?

carryman88

Postby carryman88 » March 2nd, 2010, 7:27 am

steering components can be a contributing factor to this problem...take this into consideration....when you upgrade rims from OEM to aftermarket not much ppl take into consideration the profile of the new tyres plus rims to that of the oem tyres adn rims...this sometimes may put added stress on ure steering components

some useful info....the breakdown of your tyre size goes basically like this:
for example 215/55R17 means that your tyres are suited for 17" rims, the width of your tyres are 215mm and the hight of your tyre (profile) is 55% of 215mm

if this diameter is greater than your oem rims your wheel circumference would have increased and you would therefore be driving faster than the speed indicated on your speedo

i hope this makes some sense....not ruling out n e other factors but simply changing rims and not considering the above stuff and the type of rims puts added strains on mechanical components .....

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 2nd, 2010, 7:38 am

Before trying to check rotors, balancing again etc....take my stupid 2c......

...invest in some hubcentric adapters for your rims. Available most times at Mileage mack. The thing with OEM rims is that not only do the bolt holes align (duh!) but the centre bore of the rim ftis exactly over the hub's centre bore / central "protrusion" , so giving a perfectly centred fit.

Aftermarket wheels most times, have a centre bore slightly larger than the hub bore / bore (or central protrusion) of the wheel that I mentioend, so the wheel is never really perfectly "centred", unless it's tightened by bolts with the utmost care.

http://www.tirerack.com/wheels/tech/tec ... techid=91&

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » March 2nd, 2010, 7:46 am

Knight1 and Knight1, great info!

howeva, my rims r OEM & d tyres were put on since Dec 09 & only started giving dis problem in d last 2 weeks

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 2nd, 2010, 8:10 am

^^I was actually referring to the OP (Redline) w.r.t to him changing rims and tyres :lol:

But in your case EVA Unit-01, I've found a couple o' things:

1) Sometimes the tyres themselves are defective. I had an issue once whereby I got a shim / vibration just around 100 kph on my AD van.....no matter WHAT I did, or how I balanced, nothing really changed that very slight vibration I got. I ended up carrying the tyres by a shop in my area, and they showed me that the tyre itself had a very minor "off centre" rotation (or wobble, in simple terms). A manf'rs defect that shows up as the tyre wears.

2) as the other posters said, check yuh rotors. - when you mash brakes form a higher speed, like on the highway, the "vibration" is now transferred through the caliper assembly, to the pedal and your feet, so it's more pronounced than in normal driving.

rjaggs

Postby rjaggs » March 2nd, 2010, 10:46 am

I had a similar problem wrt brakes vibration and thought i needed to replace the rotors. I was rotating my tires when i decided to clean the entire brakes setup before putting the rims back on - I also sprayed the abs sensors, etc with some CRC and since then I've had no problems wrt vibration. May not work for you but its worth a try.....when I decided to clean the brakes this was the last thing on my mind, just glad i didn't waste money replacing the rotors when they were not the problem.

Pinky

Postby Pinky » March 2nd, 2010, 2:01 pm

wheel design is also a factor
some designs ara harder to balance

Postby bushwakka » March 3rd, 2010, 10:06 am

EVA Unit-01 wrote:
bushwakka wrote:its most likely warped rotors

but dat will cause it 2 vibrate wile ACCELERATIN? not jus braking alone??? :?

thats why i said BENT RIMS first and then warped rotors (could be both)

the bent rims could be the culprit of the specific vibration at the range of 80-100kph, the fact that the vibration happens only between this range means it is resonance which happens at specific speed ranges.....he should also be experiencing more vibration at another resonant speed range (maybe 150-160); vibration can also be caused by cutting or defective tyres as knight1 said, but as the guy been balancing often, he shoulda noticed if the tyres were cutting

the violent vibration when depressing brakes should be due to the warped rotors, or another poster in another thread said it might be a hot spot on the rotor which calls for replacement, but thats new to me

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » March 3rd, 2010, 10:21 am

bushwakka, didn't see any weird wear patterns on the tyres when i rotated them, they were in perfect balance still

only ting i c on d tyres was some scuffing on d edge itself, which dey say may b due to hard cornering (Direzza's 205/55/15)

Postby bushwakka » March 3rd, 2010, 10:34 am

EVA Unit-01 wrote:bushwakka, didn't see any weird wear patterns on the tyres when i rotated them, they were in perfect balance still

only ting i c on d tyres was some scuffing on d edge itself, which dey say may b due to hard cornering (Direzza's 205/55/15)

lol, now reading ur first post @120kph

did u take out the rims and look at them rotate on a balancing machine?

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » March 3rd, 2010, 10:39 am

well, i watched them do the rotation for both wheel & rim, it was almost perfect...

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » March 3rd, 2010, 10:43 am

sigh

makk

Postby makk » March 14th, 2010, 7:49 am

Jack the front of the car up and put it on a ramp and put the car in Drive and see if the wheels are wobbling.
Last edited by makk on November 8th, 2010, 1:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.