tranny question/problem

slow323

tranny question/problem

Postby slow323 » January 26th, 2010, 3:30 pm

car almera engine qg16de kms 25x,xxx

the car works fine but when the reverse gear in engaged its not as powerful as before and the car bucks when reversing, it only bucks when reversing

wtk what causing this, and is this pre tranny failure

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » January 26th, 2010, 5:18 pm

your reverse clutches are burnt. do not waste time and money getting it scanned. the reverse is fully hydraulic and there isn't any sensors or solenoids controlling it. you may replace the clutches or put in a F/U one and call it a day!!

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » January 26th, 2010, 5:46 pm

^true story :)

Postby Hook » January 26th, 2010, 10:02 pm

Yup, the reverse is usually the first thing to go because of this. Rebuild or replace. It's up to you n' your budget.

kingkdr

Postby kingkdr » January 26th, 2010, 10:14 pm

check bamboo for a tranny....it may be easy to replace than to rebuild

Postby Rainman » January 26th, 2010, 10:54 pm

I know this sounds strange but this happened in my uncle's Almera, but it was not the tranny, when he engaged the reverse gear the engine pulled on a slack ground cable which made it shudder, rough idle, and buck while in the reverse gear. Just something you can look at.

slow323

tranny

Postby slow323 » January 27th, 2010, 10:53 am

thanks guys, yeah took it by the tranny guy yesterday im gonna rebuild it, may be easier to buy FU but to me that is cat in bag

Postby Hook » January 27th, 2010, 11:02 am

Yeah, the rebuild will cost u downtime and money but you'll have a practically brand spanking new tranny when u get it back. Glad u getting through.

Spike_AG

Postby Spike_AG » February 10th, 2010, 11:31 am

my padna had a b16 and his reverse gear is completely gone now. and he still drives it like normal... just park on slants.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » February 10th, 2010, 11:58 am

^^^^ :D :D :D :D :D

moti

Postby moti » February 10th, 2010, 1:53 pm

or always have someone to push the car :lol:

Spike_AG

Postby Spike_AG » February 10th, 2010, 2:10 pm

excatly

STi-N