Car smoke stress .....!!

D_bodyguard

Car smoke stress .....!!

Postby D_bodyguard » December 3rd, 2009, 4:41 pm

well my engine QG15 in a AD is smoking .....i have cleaned my injectors and plugs is good, trottle body was blown out and everything. What i relly wanna know is why it still smoking over 4000rpm+. Before i cleaned my injectors it was smoking alot and after cleaning it eased up a bit but i still seeing a little smoke and airfilter is clean!

Plus in the beginning of november (1-5) i changed my oil to amsoil 10w-40. from Shell 15w-50 cause they stop making it and 10W-40 is what the car came with running so i jes went along with it. will this cause my car to smoke?

the smoke i am getting is black which i know to be gas but i still wondering what to do again ...... this only started to happen Sunday so i wanna know wat can be done ......

praise

Postby praise » December 4th, 2009, 7:31 am

Black smoke indicates fuel. Do a scan. Check injector pulse and do an idle air relearn. Also the MAF or Oxygen could also be malfunctioning. Scan with live data should guide you to the source of the problem.

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » December 4th, 2009, 4:23 pm

soo get the vehicle scanned out then ......ok kool ....will do this over the weekend !!

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » December 6th, 2009, 1:09 pm

you may also try to swap out the coolant temp sensor. if faulty the ECU may overfuel thinking the engine is still cold.

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » December 6th, 2009, 4:20 pm

kool ......ok .....notice something new .....when ever i ow starts it smokes and when it runs a little (with a lil hard rev and thing) it stops an doesn't smoke again ......wah allyh thing could be d that now ......remember i did all the basic stuff injectors plugs filter....can a sensor cause this ??

Postby ..77. » December 8th, 2009, 7:24 am

Maybe do a visual inspection of spark plugs .

Postby cinco » December 8th, 2009, 3:21 pm

D_bodyguard wrote:kool ......ok .....notice something new .....when ever i ow starts it smokes and when it runs a little (with a lil hard rev and thing) it stops an doesn't smoke again ......wah allyh thing could be d that now ......remember i did all the basic stuff injectors plugs filter....can a sensor cause this ??

sounds like common valve seal failing

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » December 9th, 2009, 4:47 pm

^how to know that for sure .....what tests can i run on the engine to know that ??

Postby cinco » December 9th, 2009, 4:49 pm

usually smoking on startup is valve seals there is no real way to test this as far as i know and google seems to agree with me.
a compression test will tell you if its the rings

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » December 9th, 2009, 5:58 pm

^^kool ...will have to check this!! .....but can changing meh oil cause this??

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » December 9th, 2009, 7:30 pm

could be your valve seals as the guys suggest

is the car pulling or lazy

iff lazy u can also check your MAF .. do u have cone filter or Stock ?

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » December 9th, 2009, 8:24 pm

no car is pulling rell good ......everything working up to mark but the smoke dies out after ah 30 sec drive ......cone filter doh ......but car works relly good .....no problem except for the lil smoke ....but i feel is something else

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » December 9th, 2009, 9:46 pm

oh thought was smoke right through

what is the mileage on the engine?

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » December 10th, 2009, 6:55 pm

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » December 10th, 2009, 7:11 pm

orr this also started to happen 1 day after a redline fuel treatment was added to a full tank of gas !!

Idle_Torque

Postby Idle_Torque » December 10th, 2009, 7:15 pm

SIGH u coulda tell meh something today, u riding skyline n drifting round d place.. SIGH!! I go check out d scenes tomorow........ N HOLD IT DONGG !!!!!!!!!!

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » December 10th, 2009, 7:38 pm

ROFL ........yeah mamooo ....hol it dong ...lol

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » December 11th, 2009, 2:06 am

cinco wrote:usually smoking on startup is valve seals there is no real way to test this as far as i know and google seems to agree with me.
a compression test will tell you if its the rings

to check for valve seals:
come to idle for a bit (say like stop light) and pull off heavy, if you see black smoke its your valve seals.
Or if your car smokes initially on start up and then goes away its also a sign of valve seals.

Compression test wont do much for him, even though it is a good practice to always check every so often. He did not say he is burning oil or anything and it doesnt seem like he has bent valves.

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » December 11th, 2009, 4:30 pm

nope no oil is lost or burnoff is not occuring .....how much does it cost to do valve seals ???

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » December 12th, 2009, 12:03 am

the seals themselves are relatively cheap.
well, they are cheap.
It takes time to do them though...

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » December 12th, 2009, 8:52 am

or lord .....thise ah time taking thing or wah ???

Rayden6

Re: Car smoke stress .....!!

Postby Rayden6 » October 21st, 2022, 11:42 am

My QG15 cable type park up 2yrs now fresh H&B before, now using it smoking blue/white what could cause it? Could it be the rings asleep? Suggested filling plug hole with trans oil over nite to free them up???? Help needed