CA18, RB20 or SR20?

dipz

CA18, RB20 or SR20?

Postby dipz » July 13th, 2004, 12:02 am

amm meh padna have a PAG galant and his engine giving problems. he always damaging his turbo or rings and he looking at a new engine. he wanted to know what would be his best option for a moderately powerful reliable engine with some upgrade potential. right now he looking at either rb20/sr20/ca18 or possibly a 4g63. which of these do u guys think would be the best bang for the buck and what good/bad experiences have u had with these engines?

also is it possible to mount a 4g63 longitudinally and use it for a rwd application and what hassle in terms of transmission would there be?

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » July 13th, 2004, 12:39 am

altho im a die hard mitsu fan:

sr-20 det RWD...is ur best bang for the buck in those scenarios u presented..

maybe a good sirrus 2000 but these are rare and very very old...

u also have better support/upgrades/parts accessible wrt sr-20det...

8)

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 13th, 2004, 10:08 am

also is it possible to mount a 4g63 longitudinally and use it for a rwd application

SKF lancer has done it. Don't know about the transmission aspect of that though. :?

blu-rolla
Location: either in sando, or sneakin out yuh back door as you reach home.

Postby blu-rolla » July 13th, 2004, 1:40 pm

since yuh actually considering doin a crossbreed transplant (pot-hong), if de RB could fit, put it.
why settle for a four cylinder.

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » July 13th, 2004, 4:49 pm

^^rb motors will require reall mods to work....as a mitsu lover the 4g63..is a mad platform as vega said skf fame right there...buti doh think it will be all that hard to work...also..the rwd version isn't that bad to mod if ur inaganitive...now from a suport point of veiw sr20 motor is bettter for bolt on preformance..those engines will rip in that car...IMO if u goin bigger than a 4cly ..fins a v6 if not doh go straight six that big an waste time step up to a small block one time an done the talk

W2J

Postby W2J » July 13th, 2004, 4:57 pm

I think Ryan Garcia (skf lancer) used the 4g63t Head and not the block fellas

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » July 13th, 2004, 5:03 pm

^^ yep, I considering this as a long term mod for my car as well, i won't be running skf obviously. I think the rwd 4g63 is the best bet performance wise ( I could be wrong on this). The Nissan engines are deffinitely very reliable and easier to come by with more available parts both oem and aftermarket though.

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » July 13th, 2004, 5:25 pm

ahmm... skf..ibelive according to my info did usea 4g63..block ..but with a nother dohc..head...the personi told me should be relaiable for info but i doh know him that well...soo....but i agree with zodiac on the rwd 4g63 as best bet and this is infact whut i wanna put in to my rwd lancer...with a few goddies :mrgreen: :twisted:

Gool

Postby Gool » July 13th, 2004, 9:20 pm

wit the rb he will have to cut firewall and upgrade front suspension and brakes....
ca18 is a belt driven engine that will fit

sr20 is chain driven and it will fit without having to cut firewall and upgrade suspension... but in any case nomatter which of the engine he put he will have to change his diff...well... only if its stock.... :lol:

sr20 have more parts available... um... plenty bang fuh al 4 cylinder.... and compared to dat rb (gas guzzler) it ok on fuel consumption....

and well it plenty faster dan ca18.... so i think out of the 3 nissan engines the best bet is the sr20.... i know rel men put it in lancers and dey rippin...

concernin d odder funny named engine... i lorse cus i only know bout nissan engine :mrgreen:
hope i was helpful :D

jackal

Re: CA18, RB20 or SR20?

Postby jackal » July 13th, 2004, 9:46 pm

dipz wrote:amm meh padna have a PAG galant and his engine giving problems. he always damaging his turbo or rings and he looking at a new engine.

I would first find out why this is happening. Is it a maintenance problem? poor tuning? poor instalation?

If you don't know the reason chances are he may be getting the same problems.

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » July 13th, 2004, 10:49 pm

M&N auto has a ca18 det for 4500 complete RWD gear box , harness , ecu

Adrenalinerush

Postby Adrenalinerush » July 14th, 2004, 12:16 am

how he always damaging he turbo? d lube system workin good? make sure wastegate and everyting wokkin good...if he always damaging d turbo, chances are when he gets this new engine, he go damage this turbo too...

dipz

Postby dipz » July 14th, 2004, 2:59 am

Adrenalinerush wrote:how he always damaging he turbo? d lube system workin good? make sure wastegate and everyting wokkin good...if he always damaging d turbo, chances are when he gets this new engine, he go damage this turbo too...

well is not a stock engine he have(not sure if he has a sirrus now, heard him mention something like it though). i think he say the ppl who put it in didnt optimise his distribution timing. i really eh know what he does be doing nah. he always flecking around with he distribution timing and adjusting his a/r ratio. anyways ppl thanks for the help. i have to talk to him but i guess the best bet would be the sr20. the 4g63 looking good too, i will talk to him to get his opinion...

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 14th, 2004, 12:00 pm

and well it plenty faster dan ca18.... so i think out of the 3 nissan engines the best bet is the sr20.... i know rel men put it in lancers and dey rippin...

Uhumm.... :fist: lol

anyway...

Ryan used the sirus engine with a DOHC 4G63 head ion the street car, then went to the full 4G63 set up using a Toyota 2C or something gearbox with an adapter plate custom clutch and out put shafts etc... till he started running into the 10's and 9's then it was full race drag box's...

my suggestion is get a SR20 and let spank the hell outta you with my CA18

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » July 14th, 2004, 9:05 pm

umm^^

man get call out before engine install... :lol:

by the way..its not HIS CAR...he just askin for opinions/suggestions for his pardner ride...

take allyuh time!

:?

dr mazda

Postby dr mazda » July 27th, 2004, 2:57 pm

well i was like u confused.but now i'm clear due to ALOTTTT of research for one the for reliability and access to pts is de sr & rb
1 the srfwd 140 srrwd 150-160HP vs rb 135HP
2the sr has about 2-5 lbft of torque more the rb
3the sr is 100 lb lighter than de rb so
4the sr is full aluminum vs pt alu & cast iron
5in some reported & tested cases an sr can handle up to 600hp and rb can take so much but the heat will crack up the case iron
ENOUGH!!! the info is factual i went tru ur sheit & i consulted tonnes of persons so read the sheit do the maths u seem smart :idea: but i went sr the toyo from skf lancer was mod to full alum hotter cams big$$$$$$$$$ fully mod.so THINK LATERS

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » July 27th, 2004, 9:56 pm

You can likely get a RB20DET for less money than a SR20DE, so, despite other differences, the power to dollar ratio is high with the RB