Post your engine oil / grade / price / location

kamakazi

Re: Post your engine oil / grade / price / location

Postby kamakazi » December 9th, 2015, 10:25 pm

Has anyone ever used 10w60 racing oil in their vehicle; or any oil for that matter with a heavier weight than 5w40

Dave-ve

Postby Dave-ve » February 24th, 2016, 8:28 pm

Is 20W 50 Racing oil still available? Not seeing the Valvoline anymore. Have a new cam and a high zinc oil was recommended.

Postby Dave » February 24th, 2016, 9:25 pm

Available in Amsoil

richgold1000

Postby richgold1000 » February 25th, 2016, 5:04 am

What is the best oil to use in Nissan E25?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 25th, 2016, 9:38 am

Havoc

Re: RE: Re: Post your engine oil / grade / price / location

Postby Havoc » September 1st, 2016, 9:27 pm

kamakazi wrote:Has anyone ever used 10w60 racing oil in their vehicle; or any oil for that matter with a heavier weight than 5w40

A co-worker running 25w60 in his ranger due to oil burning issues, after a few months he doesn't hv any complaints

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 1st, 2016, 10:33 pm

Good evening... What is the current cheapest synthetic oil you have encountered from a reputable brand... i am Not discriminating against group 3,4,5 basestocks or oils that aren't 100% synthetic. Input welcomed

Havoc

Postby Havoc » September 7th, 2016, 8:03 am

Basically any oil u decide to buy will wrk out substantially cheaper if u buy by 5 gallon pails
When I was using Royal Purple I used to buy 5gals for $1050
It's when they raised the price to $12xx I switched to conventional

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 7th, 2016, 3:41 pm

Thanks for the response

I am not sure but the only synthetic options available in pails are royal purple and gulf and maybe Castrol...I have not encountered any others

Edit
Purchased a pail of Gulf Fleet Force Synth 10w40 for just under $900... My oil change interval is coming up so giving this a try

Havoc

Postby Havoc » September 8th, 2016, 4:53 pm

Last pail I bought was Gulf 20w50 for $487 and it worked well for my application, but the Valvoline PriceSmart selling working out to $25 per quart so I'm running tht right nw

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » September 29th, 2016, 9:03 pm

Any truck owners in here? (Canter/NPR etc) what type of oil do you folks use?

Postby skylinechild » October 12th, 2016, 1:28 pm

guys i'm looking for the sheel helix HX8 fully synthetic oil....not finding it anywhere.
all i seem to find is the HX7 - semi synthetic. anyone knows anywhere that has the HX8...

this is what it looks like

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » October 12th, 2016, 8:15 pm

^Did you try the agent for shell?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 12th, 2016, 9:35 pm

Why are you after the hx8 when ultra is available... Just asking

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » October 13th, 2016, 8:52 am

skylinechild wrote:guys i'm looking for the sheel helix HX8 fully synthetic oil....not finding it anywhere.
all i seem to find is the HX7 - semi synthetic. anyone knows anywhere that has the HX8...

Not enough Moly. Good detergent numbers though. I wouldn't use this.

ShellHelixHX8VOA.jpg

Postby skylinechild » October 13th, 2016, 6:25 pm

kamakazi wrote:Why are you after the hx8 when ultra is available... Just asking

educate me nuh..is the ultra more advanced than the HX8..??
i only goin up to the HX8 cause its fully synthetic and its a step up from the HX7....

if ultra is better than the HX7. i will buy a gallon of 0w-40.... and put it down..i;ll be needed an oil change ending up of october.....

Big Z

Postby Big Z » October 13th, 2016, 8:21 pm

Shell HX7 10W40 virgin oil analysis.
No moly. Good detergency. Wouldn't touch it.

ShellHX7VOA.jpg

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 13th, 2016, 9:35 pm

Shell helix ultra is made from natural gas and is marketed as their top of the line product. Is available locally...and has more moly... Which big z apparently requires before he can touch it...

Also since Shell owns Pennzoil, the same base stocks are used in platinum and ultra platinum

Z... What oil do you use in your Swift and in your van

Big Z

Postby Big Z » October 13th, 2016, 9:55 pm

Moly and titanium are friction reducers... and you get all sort of good stuff from reduced friction.

Shell Helix Ultra
Not enough Moly. Good detergent numbers though. I wouldn't use this.
ShellHelixUltra.jpg

Big Z

Postby Big Z » October 13th, 2016, 10:09 pm

kamakazi wrote:Z... What oil do you use in your Swift and in your van

Swift used to get Redline 10W30 when it had the original engine. Since the swap, I'm using Kendall syn blend 10w30

Kendall 5W20 VOA
Much nicer Moly/Titanium numbers than the Shell.

In the Hilux, Amsoil 15W40 Heavy Duty, but will be moving away from this on the next oil change. Kendall Super D 15W40 or Amsoil Signature Series 10W30 are possible candidates.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 17th, 2016, 2:07 pm

So what convinced you to promote this oil... Was there a demonstration of the benefits of titanium in whatever form it takes in the oil...I would like to know
My motivation is mainly purchase price. How can I say no to $130/gallon mineral oil and $175/gallon synthetic oil from recognized brands.
Total quartz was my reintroduction to synthetic lubricants; however the old Castrol syntec that cost $175 a gallon... That still remains one of the best oils I have ever used.
The Castrol was the only oil that made the engine run so much cooler that it actually registered on the factory idiot temp gauge.
But now it is only price...

Big Z

Postby Big Z » October 25th, 2016, 10:15 pm

kamakazi wrote:So what convinced you to promote this oil... Was there a demonstration of the benefits of titanium in whatever form it takes in the oil...I would like to know

I was running Redline 10W30 in my car, and tried the Kendall 10W30. I could not tell the difference. As you can tell, I am a fan of VOAs, virgin oil analysis. This gives you a breakdown of the oil additives in quantitative form, removing the subjectivity in choosing an oil.
Oil Analysis explained
Kendall has a reasonable amount of moly and titanium, leading to reduced friction and its benefits.
While the base oil can still degrade, this is not much of an issue with modern oils.
It may not have the high detergent levels of Shell, but will be fine for the 5k km oil changes that most people like to do.
I don't mind paying the extra few dollars for Kendall oil which gives better engine performance, when compared to the regular suspects.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 26th, 2016, 9:52 pm

I not on your case eh Z... But part of me not sold on this titanium additive. For whatever reason Kendall themselves don't seem to use it in their own euro spec GT1 oils. I mainly prefer euro specced oils ACEA over API.

Again man if it works for you more power to you; I just find it a tad strange that it is absent from one of their products after they market it so strongly

Appreciate the info in the link... Thank you

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 20th, 2017, 10:42 am

anybody tried the Kendall GT1 Competition? the price looks good and it claims high levels of zinc, but I cant find any voa info on it. I've seen it about for $150/gallon...

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » March 20th, 2017, 10:54 am

Valvoline 20w50 red bottle works well in my 330,000 engine. All dem fancy name lawd.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 20th, 2017, 11:15 am

yeah, i've used a plethora of oils in my fielder doing 295k kms, including the valvoline max life(always 10w30 though).

When I started getting hard starting, I used cam2 blueblood synthetic , that actually eased the hard starting, valvetrain noise was loud, but the hard starting went away...I'm guessing the 1zz had some sludge somewhere about, when i changed the VC gasket i didnt notice any buildup though.

groundpilot

Postby groundpilot » March 27th, 2017, 12:33 pm

FullStop wrote:anybody tried the Kendall GT1 Competition? the price looks good and it claims high levels of zinc, but I cant find any voa info on it. I've seen it about for $150/gallon...

Let me know how much and when you want #377-5816

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 27th, 2017, 3:38 pm

Recession time tuners ..what oil is the best and most affordable in the market for diesel engines.....anybody uses Np

ADONI

Postby ADONI » October 27th, 2017, 3:52 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:Recession time tuners ..what oil is the best and most affordable in the market for diesel engines.....anybody uses Np

I use Shell Rimula R4x by the pal from FtFarFan $733, was the last price earlier this year.
I use that in a Hilux Vigo, first and second gen Tucson. Second gen Tucson engine capacity is two gallon :shock:

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 27th, 2017, 4:55 pm

*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:Recession time tuners ..what oil is the best and most affordable in the market for diesel engines.....anybody uses Np

$503 for a pail of Gulf Superfleet Supreme 15w40 and 640 I think for gulf xle... Both for diesel
Lange Trinidad

Only thing is the cheaper one doesn't come in a "bucket"