Hyundai Engine Conversion

Jedi Master

Hyundai Engine Conversion

Postby Jedi Master » July 30th, 2009, 8:57 pm

I have a 1999 4 door Hyundai accent.

I would like to know what is the fastest engine that can fit into it without cutting the fire wall and What else would need to change?? e.g transmission?

what would u all advise automatic or manual??? the car is already automatic

Postby 7143 » July 30th, 2009, 9:53 pm

horse men puttin ga and sr an thing in they car accent...is realli what you want to pu t in and how much you willing to pay to do it.....

Jedi Master

Postby Jedi Master » July 30th, 2009, 10:49 pm

ok but wat i want is a full list of parts on what will need changing in the accent

e.g engine and transmission, automatic, manual or tip tronnic ??

xtech

Postby xtech » July 31st, 2009, 5:26 am

Hyundai used Mitsubishi engines so you can take your pic of Lancer to Galant engines.
Met a guy with a 4G93GDI with 5speed box in his Accent

no cutting no welding in mounting points.....everything bolt for bolt
Last edited by xtech on July 31st, 2009, 11:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » July 31st, 2009, 6:46 am

Just don't forget to upgrade your brakes and suspension at the same time or soon thereafter.

dregz

Postby dregz » July 31st, 2009, 6:53 am

had one with an SR, cost of installation and engine and ting was round 9K, worked well.

Postby bushwakka » July 31st, 2009, 11:01 am

SR is always a good choice

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 31st, 2009, 12:09 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:Just don't forget to upgrade your brakes and suspension at the same time or soon thereafter.

BRAKES!! dont forget that at all pal !

ripit

Postby ripit » July 31st, 2009, 12:12 pm

ga15 is a real bess conversion, I know a guy even used the b14 suspension on his car with a ga15 conversion

Postby 7143 » July 31st, 2009, 3:20 pm

if money is not too much of an issue then go with the sr...parts accesible by every parlour....easy available upgrades to make tons of power....the prices of the parts and engine good too....the onli thing is the suspension and the brakes work that has to be done.....

slimshiney

Postby slimshiney » July 31st, 2009, 4:29 pm

Jedi Master if ur goin SR...analyze well and understand how ur doing the installation in terms of the spacing between the chassis and the axle positioning.......u'll need to definetly stiffen up do some re-enforcing...to ensure the car remains a reliable daily driver......in the end i know u'll get a fun little econo to roam around d place with...especially if ur planning to hit it some "sleeper boost" as well :wink:

Jedi Master

Postby Jedi Master » July 31st, 2009, 6:54 pm

Ok ok if i going with the SR in terms of suspension what will have 2 change??? i know i have 2 put calipers in the back

and what transmission will u all recomend??

Postby bushwakka » August 1st, 2009, 9:34 pm

Jedi Master wrote:Ok ok if i going with the SR in terms of suspension what will have 2 change??? i know i have 2 put calipers in the back

and what transmission will u all recomend??

well u don't have to convert ur drums to discs.....most of the braking force is applied at the front....get the bigger rotor/caliper setup in front and yuh on like socks

stephengobin

Postby stephengobin » August 2nd, 2009, 10:50 am

well the best engine for a accent is a ga15 fuel injected..
you will need engine, tranny, shifter, shifter cable, fuel pump, left side axle, right side would be y10 wingroad axle, putting in these axles will give you the exact side and distance for the engine without cutting any axles.
you would have to take out the stabulizer bar from under the car and buy a universal to bolt from the top...
i had one with these upgrades and it never give any trouble...
the only thing is that the accent ac vents work with the vaccume from the engine..
so if you putting back ac you would get one direction in your vents...

slimshiney

Postby slimshiney » August 2nd, 2009, 9:12 pm

^^he asked for the best punch...GA15 is good for reliability unless he's going gearbox and doing some little bolt on mods......Then again how much would that give him....