Anywhere has Wing Mirror Glass? FOUND & INSTALLED!

idlemind

Anywhere has Wing Mirror Glass? FOUND & INSTALLED!

Postby idlemind » June 10th, 2009, 1:46 pm

Is there anywhere that makes this glass to cut, fit and replace the OEM Wing Mirror Glass?

A used OEM costing $1200
and I dont not want to replace with an ordinary Mirror
Any help would be appreciated.
How ever you call it: Side View, Rear View, Wing Mirror, Door Mirror
Last edited by idlemind on January 11th, 2012, 11:28 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby 7143 » June 11th, 2009, 11:06 am

horse wey yuh from??it hv couva glass(well in couva) an i went in dey an see dey makin sum...it look gud to...it also hv ah place in monroe rd dat does make it,not quite sure where d place is buh it kinda well known so yuh cud ask around

MJ

Postby MJ » June 11th, 2009, 12:07 pm

waz a wing mirror glass :?: :?

idlemind

Postby idlemind » June 11th, 2009, 8:57 pm

thanks 7143, il call them tomoro

and about the thread title, im simply making it 'search friendly' for other folks who looking into door mirror replacement options, coz the topic doesnt exist here.

so for tuners like MJ who needs to place words to photos here ya go...
i want to replace this...

but not with this...
[img::]http://bl121w.blu121.mail.live.com/att/GetAttachment.aspx?tnail=20&messageId=cfd5bb9e-2d9f-4e33-9b07-1ea85fd168ce&Aux=44|0|8CBB83332E18510|[/img]

thanks much

cressida_override

Postby cressida_override » June 11th, 2009, 11:28 pm

Is there anywhere in the north to do this? i also need to replace a mirror, because all normal glass shops use the near view glass as a replacement.

Postby wagonrunner » June 12th, 2009, 8:09 am

carried the holder that the mirror is stuck to to one of the glass shops in cocoyea.
<iframe src="http://wikimapia.org/#lat=10.2804592&lon=-61.4426923&z=18&l=0&m=a&v=2" width=600 height=320></iframe>

and they made a replacement for the 323F. working good so far.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » June 12th, 2009, 3:12 pm

wagonrunner, u is a boss yo...complete with map!

and if the mirror u talking about was for the 323F liftback, small lights lantis/astina/protege model then i know your pain. almost cried when i found the mirror hanging on the door one day aback.

Postby wagonrunner » June 12th, 2009, 3:45 pm

ypu, that be the model.
the local cost of parts for that car................. *slit's ahamad's wrist*

idlemind

Postby idlemind » June 12th, 2009, 3:53 pm

yep managed to get ours sold two weeks ago
everything was original for a 12 year old car.

the time had come to move on :(

but this glass shop in couva, will they have convex mirrors or the standard flat mirror

coz if its not the convex mirror for wide angle then i can get the flat mirror up north

Postby bushwakka » June 12th, 2009, 7:18 pm

MJ wrote:waz a wing mirror glass :?: :?

is specially shaped glass; slightly concave i think....i made the mistake of replacing wing mirror with a normal mirror glass already....blind spot big like wow

Conrad

Postby Conrad » June 12th, 2009, 8:08 pm

So anywhere up North fits the concave mirrors?

idlemind

Postby idlemind » June 13th, 2009, 9:14 am

convex ppl :!:
they are convex not concave...
if they were concave then you would see less than the flat normal ones...lol

Postby bushwakka » June 14th, 2009, 5:12 pm

idlemind wrote:convex ppl :!:
they are convex not concave...
if they were concave then you would see less than the flat normal ones...lol

my badd :lol:

MJ

Postby MJ » June 15th, 2009, 12:53 am

idlemind wrote:thanks 7143, il call them tomoro

and about the thread title, im simply making it 'search friendly' for other folks who looking into door mirror replacement options, coz the topic doesnt exist here.

so for tuners like MJ who needs to place words to photos here ya go...
i want to replace this...

but not with this...
[img::]http://bl121w.blu121.mail.live.com/att/GetAttachment.aspx?tnail=20&messageId=cfd5bb9e-2d9f-4e33-9b07-1ea85fd168ce&Aux=44|0|8CBB83332E18510|[/img]

thanks much

Oh ok for tuners like idlemind that is called a side view mirror... Now u know... Btw if the side view mirror from a 2002 cedia could work I could help u but if it's a rear wing mirror whatever I mightn't have that dunno who will have that u really need a pic to explain urself but some people r like that so don't feel a how

idlemind

Postby idlemind » June 15th, 2009, 8:16 am

MJ it is referred to as both side view and wing mirror. So try and see outside the box a bit. Nevertheless, thank you for make this thread sharper for searching by tossing in your worthless posts.

Now you asked about...
waz a wing mirror glass :?:

maybe you should have googled it first because everyone else knew what I meant. Futhermore the Glass from the Wing Mirror is not the same as any other Mirror on the car thats why I am adamant on finding this material as it solely belongs to this part.

Now please continue to contribute in this thread in tech-like manner because we are in the Tech Forum and not Ole Talk. That being said, yes i am looking for the rightside Wing Mirror for the 02 Lancer at a good price but this is not a WTB thread. Alternatively, I would like to know where I can get this made without having to lash out $1200.

So I have checked a few places up North and they only sell Flat Mirrors
Going to continue looking around...again if anyone knows where i can get this, please drop a line.

cressida_override

Postby cressida_override » June 19th, 2009, 6:47 am

no more info on where to replace the convex glass?

idlemind

Postby idlemind » June 19th, 2009, 9:58 pm

nope, had someone check out the place wagonrunner suggested and they admitted to replacing with only flat mirrors not convex.

so is back to looking again.

MJ

Postby MJ » June 28th, 2009, 7:02 pm

idlemind wrote:MJ it is referred to as both side view and wing mirror. So try and see outside the box a bit. Nevertheless, thank you for make this thread sharper for searching by tossing in your worthless posts.

Now you asked about...
waz a wing mirror glass :?:

maybe you should have googled it first because everyone else knew what I meant. Futhermore the Glass from the Wing Mirror is not the same as any other Mirror on the car thats why I am adamant on finding this material as it solely belongs to this part.

Now please continue to contribute in this thread in tech-like manner because we are in the Tech Forum and not Ole Talk. That being said, yes i am looking for the rightside Wing Mirror for the 02 Lancer at a good price but this is not a WTB thread. Alternatively, I would like to know where I can get this made without having to lash out $1200.

So I have checked a few places up North and they only sell Flat Mirrors
Going to continue looking around...again if anyone knows where i can get this, please drop a line.

you sure like to type man and bro i know what kinda glass is on the side view mirror but despite you talkin down to me and callin my post worthless i'll put in another worthless post, i found out about the "wing mirror" for you it's indeed a right side from a 2001 cedia though, it's black with a few scratches and the price is $500.
btw we're all 2ners bro u, if u realised i only made a "worthless post" cuz i could have helped but u took it to heart. it's all good man lighten up :roll:

idlemind

Postby idlemind » June 28th, 2009, 7:10 pm

sorry bro was a bit ticked and you weren't helping
anyway JUS4SHO gave me this link: http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/02-07-MI ... ccessories

gonna try it and post the results
if it proves to be of good quality il help out anyone in need of getting it for any model that the manufaturer provides.

MJ

Postby MJ » June 28th, 2009, 7:15 pm

cool man and didn't mean to piss u off i just play the arse a lot :mrgreen: 0X

MJ

Postby MJ » June 28th, 2009, 7:18 pm

u should buy a pair though you never know if the veiw angle on that one and your stock one would have the same degree
also magnification and be different... dont want to see a man looking 25' away in the passenger mirror but a foot away in your mirror LOL

idlemind

Postby idlemind » July 13th, 2009, 7:58 pm

thanks for the concern bro....of course i went ahead and bought it, didn want to take the chance and extend myself for a pair not knowing the product first.

and heres the update....got the mirror today.

packaging sealed pretty tight

contents include, mirror, adhesive tape, instructions and all bubble wrapped

mirror itself with warning

cleaning off the gunky glue from the broken glass

instructions said to rub with some spirits

the mirror itself was double sided, this is the right side

this was the wrong side, notice the magnification

and the mirror is physically curved...rightside up

downside up

applied the special sticky tape included

install finished

what was impressive with this application was its accuracy in fit.
there are NO gaps between the housing and mirror
infact the install was a bit tricky coz the housing actually wraps infront of the mirror
this together with the adhesive tape making contact was a bit difficult to ease around to snap in properly.

with a lil time and delicate nudging the mirror sat in place and the housing wrapped it snug.

if anyone is interested in getting this OEM replacement for any vehicle please pm me, i would be more than willing to help bring it in for you.

And jus a reminder, its OEM fit with OEM wide angle and magnification :!: :!: :!:

Postby wagonrunner » July 13th, 2009, 8:08 pm

idlemind wrote:And jus a reminder, its OEM fit with OEM wide angle and magnification :!: :!: :!:

how come the mirror has the disclaimer / reminder then that objects are "closer" than they appear to be then?
[exaggeration] that means the car you think is 2 car lengths away, is actually knocking at your rear fender. [/exaggeration]

idlemind

Postby idlemind » July 13th, 2009, 8:14 pm

well in the coming days i gonna post its driver-friendliness
but off the bat it shouldnt be anything different from the images we see from an OEM mirror.

initially, it matches the angle and range of the OEM passenger's door mirror

Postby cinco » July 13th, 2009, 8:45 pm

it has that warning because that is a LHD mirror which is a bad thing to do on a RHD car

idlemind

Postby idlemind » July 13th, 2009, 8:48 pm

rite rite...bought from the US which is expected.
minor issue when compared to what i was previously looking out of

Postby cinco » July 13th, 2009, 11:09 pm

well the LHD mirrors would have a different reflective rate as compared to the RHD one just be a little more aware when changing lanes as the warning suggests the LHD passenger mirrors are more concave to allow a wider viewing area from the LHD drivers seat

Obi-Wan

Postby Obi-Wan » July 14th, 2009, 9:35 am

Good job, just replaced mine, but used the OEM from Diamond, no adhesive tho, it snaps into place. Cost $235 TT.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » July 14th, 2009, 10:38 am

mirror is good
same angle as OEM, no difference

and like i said before, i kno the original had to be convex and not flat.
flat mirrors on the drivers side, although it was an industry standard, increases the blind spot, years ago they started creating both the passenger and drivers side mirrors convex for wide angle. i am not regretting this purchase, the view is back to what my eyes and mind was accustommed to without having to ponder over it.

and i still had enough room to change lanes in front the xtrail

MJ

Postby MJ » July 15th, 2009, 6:33 pm

good stuff bro!!!