Car Horn Troubles

sboo99

Car Horn Troubles

Postby sboo99 » May 20th, 2009, 7:41 am

I have a 2003 Mistu Lancer (RORO). This morning, a fella pull out of an intersection and caused me to slam on brakes and blow the horn. I think I had my hand on the horn for about 6 or 7 seconds (longer than I would have normally pressed it for). After I moved my hand, the horn stopped blowing like normal, then I drove for about 5 seconds and the horn (possessed) came back on by itself. It didn't turn off again until I popped the bonnet and pulled out the relay in the fuse box. At first it seemed like the relay, but then I switched it with another relay (in the fuse box) just to test that theory. Same problem.

What's wrong with the horn then?

Postby wagonrunner » May 20th, 2009, 7:44 am

the contacts in the steering wheel are bent closer together more than likely.

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » May 20th, 2009, 7:54 am

^^ correct is right... they happened to someone i know, and they just had to remove the steering and straighten the contacts...

be sure when removing the steering u drive in a straight line, to ensure the wheel is straight, then remove, if not when u do replace the steering and u going down the road, it may be twisted.

sboo99

Postby sboo99 » May 20th, 2009, 7:56 am

So I can just carry that to an electrician to have it sorted out, right?

EDIT: And what about the airbag in the steering wheel? Would that be a problem?

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » May 20th, 2009, 7:59 am

^^ yes.. or if you want to save some money and do it u r self.. it is quite easy.

sboo99

Postby sboo99 » May 20th, 2009, 8:05 am

Cool. Thanks man!

avinashr

Postby avinashr » May 20th, 2009, 8:20 am

sboo99 wrote:So I can just carry that to an electrician to have it sorted out, right?

EDIT: And what about the airbag in the steering wheel? Would that be a problem?

was wondering the same thing too....... i have slightly similar problem where sometimes the horn does blow and sometime it doesnt!........... i know is a contact problem.........

but wah about the airbag?

Postby wagonrunner » May 20th, 2009, 9:00 am

the only recomendation i can give wrt the airbag, is have a body shop (repair garage) remove the airbag, and adjust the connector.

or anyone else who knows how to remove it without deploying it.
some car manufacturers recommend just disconnecting the battery, some require that and other jacks be disconnected.

avinashr

Postby avinashr » May 20th, 2009, 9:11 am

wagonrunner, WORD!

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » May 20th, 2009, 9:12 am

^^ it all depends on the make and model of the car, i know for sure the NZE, there is a hex screw on the under left side of the steering, you thread it out, remove the battery pole, and unplug the harness behind the steering colum and u good to go... remove steering...

Most steerings with SRS will have this screw, i do not know what exactly it does, but i saw an electrician do it and fix a twisted steering... dat is how i know.

avinashr

Postby avinashr » May 20th, 2009, 9:38 am

is a b15

any guidances?!

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » May 20th, 2009, 9:43 am

unplug battery poll.......screw out .......adjust the switch and screw back up and yh on ......but make sure not too adjust it too much as it will be hard to press!!!

avinashr

Postby avinashr » May 20th, 2009, 9:45 am

scene!

Daniella Logan

Re: Car Horn Troubles

Postby Daniella Logan » November 11th, 2012, 4:10 pm

i have a nissan march and my horn will only work when i;m turning the wheel. can anyone help?

evolution91

Postby evolution91 » November 13th, 2012, 12:48 am

hmm this happen to me last wk, i hav a b15 also, their is a plastic that separates the two contacts from touching, most likely it broke n the contacts are always touching, u hav to remove the backing from the steering, take out the 3 gold screw which are place on with locktight so it hard to come out, den look for the contact wit the broken part n replace it with a rubber washer i used that,wrkin well so far den mount bk up

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 29th, 2012, 7:24 pm

any update here?...

allyuh still gettin horn?