stering vibrating when apply brakes

grasshopper4389

stering vibrating when apply brakes

Postby grasshopper4389 » April 21st, 2009, 11:17 am

when i doing about 120 km/h and mash brakes the stering shimming is some thing slack or is it the rotors

mute

Postby mute » April 21st, 2009, 11:38 am

grasshopper4389 wrote:when i doing about 120 km/h and mash brakes the stering shimming is some thing slack or is it the rotors
did u find d problem 4 dat yet

GEAR_HEAD

Re: stering vibrating when apply brakes

Postby GEAR_HEAD » April 21st, 2009, 11:49 am

grasshopper4389 wrote:when i doing about 120 km/h and mash brakes the stering shimming is some thing slack or is it the rotors

This may most likely be the rotors are 'warped'. In some cases a few good hard stops will 're-set' the rotors, meaning the brake pad and rotor will wear evenly leading to better contact and less vibration.
However, if this does not help ur rotors may need to be machined, or if you like u can buy some new rotors.

grasshopper4389

Postby grasshopper4389 » April 21st, 2009, 12:26 pm

ok will try tonight will check the bearings and see any other stuff is slack .by chance how much is it for a pair of rotors for a b15 will i get new ones or foreign used

GEAR_HEAD

Postby GEAR_HEAD » April 21st, 2009, 1:23 pm

hmm i see nothing wrong with foriegn used as they may be almost 1/4 price of new ones..... but u most likely will have to machine the foreign used ones as well....there is a minimum thickness that ur rotors are supposed to be, which is why rotors can only be machined a certain number of times before they are useless
machining removes material and as such the rotors heats up faster and this can lead to a reduction in braking performance....
new rotors for ah b15....guesstimate ... around $1200tt :?:

Postby janfar » April 21st, 2009, 5:17 pm

Machining them should not cost you more than 200TTD.

Postby bushwakka » April 21st, 2009, 6:45 pm

replacing is better than machining tho, machining ur rotors will worsen ur braking performance in the long run even tho it will stop ur shim

Ginxdor

Postby Ginxdor » April 21st, 2009, 7:17 pm

Machining is just for temporary use. If the rotors bad I advise you change them. I think $1200 would get you the drilled rotors ; check those El Secorro auto shops.

eitech

Postby eitech » April 21st, 2009, 8:32 pm

1200tt for both rotors or 1?

Ginxdor

Postby Ginxdor » April 21st, 2009, 11:56 pm

For the pair and i think it may be less

oxidation

Postby oxidation » April 22nd, 2009, 6:51 am

if anyone knows the parts place by rochard rd junction in penal

the guy have slotted and cross drilled rotors for around 250 each

i personally saw these rotors and they look pretty good

Ginxdor

Postby Ginxdor » April 22nd, 2009, 10:06 am

Honestly oxidation, I'm afraid of cheap rotors. Unless you use them as hard as I would for about two years with no prob, and give me the review. I remember I was going to buy the plain rotors for $150 each. Price nice, ent? Well, good thing I didn't buy them; they fell apart on a man while he was driving through rain.

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: yeah I know.

grasshopper4389

Postby grasshopper4389 » April 22nd, 2009, 10:33 am

well took out every thing meaning the calipers pins to ensure the pins have no play check the disc pads bleed the lines ets and the same thing this morning even roll the tyre down stairs and see if it uneven or swell and it good it cut even every thing to my knowing ok .the rotors for 1200.00 is where neal and massy ????? this may sound stupid but since they didnt bring the b15 local will i get it at neal and massy???? i know the n16 and b15 have similar parts will the rotors work i considering buying them .

Machining is just for temporary use. If the rotors bad I advise you change them. I think $1200 would get you the drilled rotors ; check those El Secorro auto shops.
ginxdor are these good rotors ?????

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » April 22nd, 2009, 11:18 am

Rotors warped or bake pads need changing.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » April 22nd, 2009, 11:20 am

replacing is better than machining tho, machining ur rotors will worsen ur braking performance in the long run even tho it will stop ur shim

Nope.....why should it?

Once you're above the minimum thickness......and of course, assuming the rotor isn't BADLY warped.
Last edited by Alpha_2nr on April 22nd, 2009, 11:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

Ginxdor

Postby Ginxdor » April 22nd, 2009, 11:23 am

I have a N16 and I didn't buy my rotors Plain not drilled) at Massy. To tell you the truth the parts we buying in massy sometimes are the same parts in Bamboo and other places just in different packaging and higher prices.

I was still living Tobago when I bought my rotors and they cost me $1000 but, the drilled are your best bet last price I heard was $1200. I'm not sure of brand though; will try to get some more info for you.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » April 22nd, 2009, 11:29 am

^^So why exactly would drilled rotors be the best bet?

Cuz first off, I don't think the OP's gonna be buying Brembo, or EBC rotors (i.e. name brands).

So are you going to sacrifice quality for a perceived increase in braking performance (which in actuality won't exist since for regular driving which should allow for sufficient heat dissipation without inducing brake fade)?

You'd hardly ever reach the conditions on road use (assuming you're a responsible driver) that would necessiate drilled rotors....unless of course....you like the "bling factor" to it :lol:

Ginxdor

Postby Ginxdor » April 22nd, 2009, 11:35 am

Well Knight1, I catering for if the man is a madman behind the wheel and if was the "bling factor" he could buy the face drilled caps. You ever saw them? They look ridiculous.

grasshopper4389

Postby grasshopper4389 » April 22nd, 2009, 4:22 pm

no i am not a mad man behind the steering just want the brakes fix thats all no bling thing i riding on 13 spare rims with tyre is ah normal ride to work and back no bling thing .just the normal rotors will work but to the topic i changed the disk pad a month ago the brand wagner brand so is it the bess thing to buy from the bamboo?????????????????

Postby bushwakka » April 22nd, 2009, 6:07 pm

Knight1 wrote:

Nope.....why should it?

Once you're above the minimum thickness......and of course, assuming the rotor isn't BADLY warped.

heats up faster.....i kno this may be negligible, but it wud depend on how much machining has to be done, how much is taken off as u said

but at the same time, heat wud also be dissipated faster tho

shameer666

Postby shameer666 » April 22nd, 2009, 7:17 pm

can't go wrong with cross drilled :wink:

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » April 22nd, 2009, 11:16 pm

Well Knight1, I catering for if the man is a madman behind the wheel

And you're recommending buying drilled rotors from fellas who MIGHT be selling stuff like Arospeed (aka crap)? (breakage? failure? all of the above?).

W3rd :lol:

just the normal rotors will work but to the topic i changed the disk pad a month ago the brand wagner brand so is it the bess thing to buy from the bamboo?????????????????

Well, first off, Wagner = mess.

At least go with OE pads. In addition, you can consider getting a set of used rotors from the bamboo, and skimming them over to emove any embedded deposits from previous pads (and checkings for any warping etc).

If you do that, and provindg you got good rotors (which is taking a chance buying used), then you can be sure that your new disc pads will bed-in proprely, and you shouldn't have as much problem with bad wear/bad spots cropping up later on you.

Just my 2c of course.

grasshopper4389

Postby grasshopper4389 » April 23rd, 2009, 7:57 am

well i check the bamboo see i get a good set and let you all know what the scene thanks for the information

atomik

Postby atomik » April 23rd, 2009, 1:22 pm

I dont think its the brake pads, i recently bought a foreigh used corolla altis, same thing around 120 and slowing steering vibration and a kinda warp sound while braking , its a 4wheel disc braking system, i replaced all the disc brake pads with new ones , while the problem was alleviated slightly it didnt stop completely. no big change really! so i dont know what it is.

GEAR_HEAD

Postby GEAR_HEAD » April 23rd, 2009, 1:34 pm

^^ the same problem of only vibration when u press the brake?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » April 23rd, 2009, 1:41 pm

^^As was said in this thread....the ROTORS might be warped.

atomik

Postby atomik » April 23rd, 2009, 5:06 pm

GEAR_HEAD, yea same problem. but asKnight1, said it may be the rotors,

Postby bushwakka » April 23rd, 2009, 5:23 pm

indeed, warped rotors from excessive heating?
in that case, won't machining them make them even more prone to warping if they havnt been already?

atomik

Postby atomik » April 24th, 2009, 7:57 pm

bushwakka,^^^wondering the same thing??? :roll:

neoise

Postby neoise » April 24th, 2009, 8:18 pm

Definitely warped Rotors - I had this problem 2 yrs ago and the problem was solved when I changed the Rotors