WTK, CHEVY V8 ENGINE (Pics added)

triniboythug

WTK, CHEVY V8 ENGINE (Pics added)

Postby triniboythug » April 2nd, 2009, 12:03 pm

i was recently blessed (or cursed as the case may be) with a chevy engine that was salvaged from a very old model american suv that was parked up in a garage for a number of years. The thing is that we do not know the name or model of the suv cause it had no badge anywhere about the the body or chassis that we could desern. The vehisle had to be cut up and dumped but the engine itself seems to be in very good order. We even got it started up before we removed it from the suv. The problem is that, i dont know what type of engine i have. We have a strong idea its a CHEVY, but what kind we dont know. I dont have much experience in american engines. there are a lot of numbers all over the engine block, i've searched for all those numbers online but nothing seems to come up for them. Can anyone help me to know what kinda engine it is, be it small block / big block and what size 350, 383, 454 etc
Any help in this reguard will be greatly appreciated.

Front view
I know it looking ah lil crazy on top but i try to get it with all the wires and hoses.
The number "509" is on the right side of the block but its stamped up-side-down. Not finding any info online for that number
To the left side of this pic just on the flat area below the cyl head have these "3 GM / 395 509" but still nothing online for these
Top view, yeah i know it looking a bit rusted by wah ah go do !
The left side is agains a wall cant get much of a good pic
Front and right side angle
Another pic

PLEASE HELP ME !!!
Last edited by triniboythug on April 3rd, 2009, 12:08 am, edited 6 times in total.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » April 2nd, 2009, 12:29 pm

well if yuh post up the numbers yuh see on d engine

or maybe a description of wat u seeing

or even better a pic from a couple angles

then i sure some ppl here go be able to assist u man

triniboythug

Postby triniboythug » April 2nd, 2009, 1:03 pm

Ok well i just looked at it again and it has to be a CHEVY, its got GM stamped on a few parts of the engine, help !!!
Last edited by triniboythug on April 2nd, 2009, 5:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Maserati » April 2nd, 2009, 3:05 pm

upload the pics on www.tinypic.com or www.imageshack.us

DIESELTRINI

Postby DIESELTRINI » April 3rd, 2009, 12:56 am

The 509 block means it's a 400 SBC or Small Block Chevy 400 cubic inch (6.6 litre), most likely a 2 bolt main block which is actually better with these engines than a 4 bolt.
It is fairly common and a good engine to build up for some decent power.

If you go to summit or jeg's and look at any of the stuff they have for SBC, most of it will fit that engine. Did you get a transmission with it?

Postby Maserati » April 3rd, 2009, 12:59 am

yea V6

DIESELTRINI

Postby DIESELTRINI » April 3rd, 2009, 1:02 am

No it's a V8... the two middle exhaust ports are next to each other, so it looks like 3 ports on each side.

awesomeandre

Postby awesomeandre » April 3rd, 2009, 9:45 am

Postby Maserati » April 3rd, 2009, 10:12 am

Inshan wrote:No it's a V8... the two middle exhaust ports are next to each other, so it looks like 3 ports on each side.

ah i see

triniboythug

Postby triniboythug » April 3rd, 2009, 11:13 am

Inshan wrote:The 509 block means it's a 400 SBC or Small Block Chevy 400 cubic inch (6.6 litre), most likely a 2 bolt main block which is actually better with these engines than a 4 bolt.
It is fairly common and a good engine to build up for some decent power.

If you go to summit or jeg's and look at any of the stuff they have for SBC, most of it will fit that engine. Did you get a transmission with it?

This is the most useful information i've received to date. What i'd like to know now is who or where in trini can i get parts to upgrade this engine and where can i get a manual transmission and clutch set-up to work with this.

By the way my intended project car for this is a Datsun 280ZX !!!

DIESELTRINI

Postby DIESELTRINI » April 3rd, 2009, 11:41 am

You are lucky in that you have some decent parts to begin with. It already has HEI distributor (electronic ignition) and a 4-barrel factory intake manifold. I would ditch that factory Rochester Quadraject carburetor in favor of an Edelbrock 1407 which is a 750cfm Weber designed carb. You'll need a square-bore to spread-bore adapter like this:

http://www.amazon.com/Edelbrock-2696-Sq ... B00062YACG

Not as good switching to a square0bore manifold but certainly alot cheaper. Holley carb is an option as well, but I personally find the Weber design to be easier to work with, not to mention leak-free.

Ditch the A/C compressor and power steering pump. You can get a set of headers for cheap. Looks like the mechanical fuel pump is missing. YOu can run an electric one but it has to be high volume.

Other than that... you would be working on the internals.

For the transmission... you can go manual (T5, T56) but it would probably be hard to find the stuff you need in Trinidad. Easier route would be to find an auto trans. Is the one that was behind the engine available? It was probably a TH400 or TH350. TH350 will be good for your car, TH400 is kinda big and heavy.
With an engine like that, I would stick with auto trans. because when they are in good shape they will take more abuse than a manual. To get a manual to stand up to abuse, the clutch and internals have to be upgraded and that costs alot of $$$.

If you haven't already, you should check out www.hybridz.org

Postby bushwakka » April 5th, 2009, 1:32 pm

good project that

star369

Postby star369 » May 14th, 2009, 4:32 am

Dude u gettiong true with ur project if u need links check me

neoise

Postby neoise » May 14th, 2009, 6:34 am

If u decide to sell PM me

star369

Postby star369 » May 15th, 2009, 4:22 am

Hit me with a price as well

daanjah

Postby daanjah » May 18th, 2009, 2:01 pm

don't kno much but u will definately have to go in side d engine..........when u do check the bore........350 small block std 3"........400 small block has the same bore as a big block

daanjah

Postby daanjah » May 18th, 2009, 2:09 pm

big block std 4" bore

daanjah

Postby daanjah » May 18th, 2009, 2:10 pm

engine # located at the front of engine by the head..........