Coloured Head lamps Illegal?

trinianouk

Coloured Head lamps Illegal?

Postby trinianouk » March 7th, 2009, 8:36 pm

Guys,

I saw on the news the other day that the police in POS were cracking down on dark tints and coloured head lamps? At least that's what I think the commentator said.

Are they talking about the bulbs with the coloured tips? This illegal?

Cuz I was thinking of getting the PIAA Xtreme white with blue tip from Raptor.

Wuz the real deal here.
Last edited by trinianouk on March 8th, 2009, 6:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

super_cadet

Postby super_cadet » March 7th, 2009, 9:42 pm

no they talking about it lighting up in different colours at night E.G. blue,pink etc.

QG

Re: Coloured Head lamps Illegal?

Postby QG » March 7th, 2009, 9:59 pm

trinianouk wrote:Guys,

I saw aon the news the other day that the police in POS were cracking down on dark tints and coloured head lamps? At least that's what I think the commentator said.

Are they talking about the bulbs with the coloured tips? This illegal?

Cuz I was thinking of getting the PIAA Xtreme white with blue tip from Raptor.

Wuz the real deal here.

Yes, it's illegal. Also those extreme over bright lights that blinds people on the highway or causes distraction...that's illegal too.

super_cadet

Postby super_cadet » March 7th, 2009, 10:05 pm

Don't be soo vague....Their are lights on high beam that are extremely bright but not illegal..Eg. OEM suzuki Vitara and BMW head lamps...There are HID's that would keep you out of trouble..I think it's the 4100K..Those light Bright White and should not cause you problems unlike the ridiculous ones like 8000k blue and 12000k an that higher crap that really is blinding and lights all different colours of the spectrum

QG

Postby QG » March 7th, 2009, 10:18 pm

super_cadet wrote:Don't be soo vague....Their are lights on high beam that are extremely bright but not illegal..Eg. OEM suzuki Vitara and BMW head lamps...There are HID's that would keep you out of trouble..I think it's the 4100K..Those light Bright White and should not cause you problems unlike the ridiculous ones like 8000k blue and 12000k an that higher crap that really is blinding and lights all different colours of the spectrum

That's what i am talking about...people over do it and go beyond 4000K to 6000k and 8000K and so on.

The 4000K is legal. My statement said OVER BRIGHT LIGHTS...sorry for not being specific. 8-)

silver racer

Postby silver racer » March 7th, 2009, 11:02 pm

yea but d police watchin an den seein d bulb shell an tip is blue an dey assume is ah blue lite it givin!

Postby wagonrunner » March 7th, 2009, 11:06 pm

silver racer wrote:yea but d police watchin an den seein d bulb shell an tip is blue an dey assume is ah blue lite it givin!

is your light switch disabled? turn it on, and show them

trinianouk

Postby trinianouk » March 8th, 2009, 6:56 am

silver racer wrote:yea but d police watchin an den seein d bulb shell an tip is blue an dey assume is ah blue lite it givin!

Well that is what I thought to....but this exercise was during the day so is only headlights with coloured tips the police could have seen....and was pullin fellas over...

Chipz

Postby Chipz » March 8th, 2009, 9:14 am

8000k & higher produce different colors like blue, purple, pink etc....i was once told by a padna the higher the color intensity the more blurred the light shows & also alot of noobs installing HID's & Halogen bulbs & they aint focusing the bulbs properly also that's why it also affects drivers................but honestly it some have officers so stupid that they might even stop owners of bmw/benz/vw/land rover etc cause these lights on these vehicles at some point they output white, then they output a kinda purplish color but very light or not forgetting the primera's & bluebirds

Chipz

Postby Chipz » March 8th, 2009, 9:26 am

but most HID lights came standard in vehicles with projector headlights in the low beam, the high beam is not projector type neither HID
& jus love how that Halo ring looks

silver racer

Postby silver racer » March 8th, 2009, 10:33 am

is your light switch disabled? turn it on, and show them

homie, still, if u put it on sum police will see an let u off, but it hav sum who wudnt comprehen a blue bulb givin white lite!! :roll:

Postby equipped2ripp » March 8th, 2009, 3:39 pm

The PIAA Xtreme White, the Intense White and the Super Plasma GT-X are all street legal... as well as the Eurolites and the Sylvania Silverstars.

These bulbs are mostly for the American/European market, so they have to conform to the US DOT rules and regulations and whatever other European standards.

The cheap Chinese/Taiwanese Xenon bulbs which show blue/pink/purple are ones that aren't street legal. Those manufacturers in Asia don't really manufacture those bulbs to certain rules and regulations as the American/European manufacturers do.