Can Heat Crack Ur Windscreen?

lastminuteaudio

Postby lastminuteaudio » January 12th, 2009, 5:17 pm

As The Topic Says. Can Heat from Parking ur Car in d Sun All Day cause ur windscreen 2 crack?

So Here it is, i bought d car wid a chip on d windscreen bout 6 months ago, it never cracked, i installed 4 new doors last week and tinted 5% Saturday.
Today was d first day i parked d car in d sun since i tinted an when i came this evening, there was an 8" crack on d glass. No Damage 2 d vehicle otherwise, so i think i can rule out someone hitting the car while it was parked.
So i'm wondering: hot air in the car+ new door rubbers that seal better= cracked windscreen?

eitech

Postby eitech » January 12th, 2009, 6:09 pm

i dunno if there are cheap windscreens out there, but i have parked in blazin heat for numerous times and long periods and never had that problem

Postby wagonrunner » January 12th, 2009, 6:27 pm

yes it can.
though it hasn't happened in recent times.
PAC corolla, screen cracked / hsattered from sun.
PS Corolla, cracks.
PAM 323, shattered.

cars parked in sunlight with windows wound up, and day was rather hot.

Racegod

Postby Racegod » January 12th, 2009, 11:58 pm

let mih pops kia out in de sun to find it after a little rain fell on it totally shattered...

i think this was a case of typical heating and cooling too fast...

slow323

Re: Can Heat Crack Ur Windscreen?

Postby slow323 » January 13th, 2009, 12:20 am

lastminuteaudio wrote:As The Topic Says. Can Heat from Parking ur Car in d Sun All Day cause ur windscreen 2 crack?

So Here it is, i bought d car wid a chip on d windscreen bout 6 months ago, it never cracked, i installed 4 new doors last week and tinted 5% Saturday.
Today was d first day i parked d car in d sun since i tinted an when i came this evening, there was an 8" crack on d glass. No Damage 2 d vehicle otherwise, so i think i can rule out someone hitting the car while it was parked.
So i'm wondering: hot air in the car+ new door rubbers that seal better= cracked windscreen?

happened same way to friend's car when we went to replace they told us that as the air inside heats up it expands hence causing the crack/chip to expand with the pressure build up inside. remember 5% tint doesn't reflect the heat just absorbs it so im guessing that it just absorbed more than normal.

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » January 13th, 2009, 6:15 am

Can Heat from Parking ur Car in d Sun All Day cause ur windscreen 2 crack?

yes! :|

daymean

Postby daymean » January 13th, 2009, 11:55 am

if ur windscreen already has a crack in it that is deep enough, the heat can cuase this crack to spread over time...also the cool of the night and heat of the day and the expansion and contraction of the glass can lead to the small crack developing into a bigger crack over time or even over night!

Hotxspicy

Postby Hotxspicy » January 13th, 2009, 1:01 pm

that same thing happen to my bro car..... it had a little crack, not deep, an as time went by it started to get bigger an bigger.....

Postby cinco » January 13th, 2009, 6:42 pm

also if you do suspension work and make the car stiffer the additional torsional rigidity can cause an already weak piece of glass to fracture
windshields in newer cars are also load bearing devices

lastminuteaudio

Postby lastminuteaudio » January 13th, 2009, 9:04 pm

well, i parked the car same place today, i forgot to leave the window down a little, an when i came back, my crack grew by another 6 inches! in 2 days! then i tapped it lightly out of curiousity an it grew by another inch...

talk bout luck, d car been parking in d same spot all d time, only since d new doors went on. well i found d culprit, never thought that could cause it....

i hear ppl does drill the glass to stop the crack from running but its a risk of shattering the glass or the crack splitting two ways, any input?

daymean

Postby daymean » January 13th, 2009, 9:23 pm

if the crack is that long might be better to replace the windsheild
some ppl do the drilling thing and fill the crack with some clear silicone i believe...not sure...

lastminuteaudio

Postby lastminuteaudio » January 13th, 2009, 9:46 pm

i will change it, i called Double "Z" for prices- original $1800, generic $700 & $900
i want geniune but it will hurt if it ever crack again, then again, it will be the most durable. i'l leave it it to crack till i find d cash for a new one.... that drilling thing aint sounding nice.... :?

QG

Postby QG » January 13th, 2009, 11:42 pm

Racegod wrote:let mih pops kia out in de sun to find it after a little rain fell on it totally shattered...

i think this was a case of typical heating and cooling too fast...

You are correct. And never use A/C after entering a very hot parked car...crack the window and let the inside get cooled for a few minutes or so before using AC.

Oleander

Postby Oleander » January 14th, 2009, 10:52 am

Yes..
Happened to a PAY Mazda 323 in my yard.. :|
Hard mess to clean up.

Postby honda hoe » January 14th, 2009, 11:42 am

parkin in the sun and then drivin wit cold breeze tend to crack ur glass faster cuz of the diffrent temps on both sides of the glass

dtopshottas

Postby dtopshottas » January 14th, 2009, 4:11 pm

Think so my dad almera was parked in the sun for a day and as he turned on the A/C straight down the centre. Well hot and cold probably cracked his.

slow323

Postby slow323 » January 14th, 2009, 4:52 pm

if the crack is less than 4 inches then you can drill after that dont bother, had the experience already, once over that 4inches the crack will spread till it reaches the end
plus most good places wont recommend you drilling if its its larger than the 4"
also if you're putting out your money ask for a warranty on the job

GoS

Postby GoS » January 14th, 2009, 5:19 pm

yes it can

lastminuteaudio

Postby lastminuteaudio » January 14th, 2009, 5:44 pm

well i leave d window open a lil bit 2day an no further cracking, so lets hope no more cracking

i woulda never even think that sun coulda cause that. live and learn AND SPEND MONEY!!!

sidewayz69

Postby sidewayz69 » January 15th, 2009, 9:42 pm

when u tint ur glass whole front or even 1/2 the tint holds the glass preventing the glass from expanding under heat ( when parked in the sun ) thus causing the glass 2 flex in the weakest part of the glass making it crack

or and using ur ac should not cause the glass 2 crack unless if u have ur glass tinted low

lastminuteaudio

Postby lastminuteaudio » January 16th, 2009, 8:46 pm

sidewayz69, i was thinkin bout this, yes my whole windscreen tint but is has been 6 months now. problems only developed after new doors went on... so i dunno maybe a combination :?

bredder78

Postby bredder78 » January 18th, 2009, 12:36 am

Well i guess by now you have a thorough understanding of the effects of the sun coupled with other factors could have on your windscreen. Very interesting thread..... just goes to show how many people suffered the same fate.........here is some more info, hope it's helpful.
i hear ppl does drill the glass to stop the crack from running

Yes there are people who with the use of a very fine drill bit would drill the crack to stop it from running.
and fill the crack with some clear silicone i believe...not sure...

No. It's not clear silicone, it's 'liquid synthetic glass' (don't settle for anything less, be careful people will try to sell you all kinda things in them mango tree garages).
also if you're putting out your money ask for a warranty on the job

You do get warranty on the job, insist on it! The price is dependant on the length of the crack. You also won't even notice if there is a crack from outside of the vehicle. Very professional once done correctly. If I remember correctly the place is located in Palmyra village and I also beleive that they have another branch in Curepe. Tuners help me here!! Of course the best option is to change the windscreen, call your insurance company to see if you have windscreen coverage on your policy, remember when you change your windscreen and take out your inspection sticker the sticker won't be able to go onto the new windscreen.

sidewayz69

Postby sidewayz69 » January 19th, 2009, 9:12 pm

lastminuteaudio wrote:sidewayz69, i was thinkin bout this, yes my whole windscreen tint but is has been 6 months now. problems only developed after new doors went on... so i dunno maybe a combination :?

maybe cause most windscreens are
2 sheets of glass with ah sheet of plexy ( or how it is spelled) in d middle so that if ur windscreen gets ah sudden blow it will shatter not break
this also acts bad 4 tinting purposes
ah see this happening in meddilst most of d time

sidewayz69

Postby sidewayz69 » January 19th, 2009, 9:14 pm

but u u un-fortunate cause most tint places that ive checked does not want to tint whole front because of this

lastminuteaudio

Postby lastminuteaudio » January 19th, 2009, 10:37 pm

yeah, i know tinting d whole front is not a good idea, but it does rel help in hot sun an when jacka$$ drivers hitting yuh bright lights in d night. live & learn yes...

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » January 21st, 2009, 6:14 am

it does rel help in hot sun an when jacka$$ drivers hitting yuh bright lights in d night.

x2!