B15 Tranmission problem

Anthony

B15 Tranmission problem

Postby Anthony » May 3rd, 2004, 12:14 pm

Hi all,

I have a 2000 B15. I'm in traffic this morning and one minute everything is fine, the next minute, I have to give the car a lot of gas to move off. On the open road the car is extremely sluggish, as does not shift gears as it used to. The engine idles fine and revs fine, and reverse gear seems fine also.

Also, when I start the engine, to O/D lights blinks for a few seconds. That never happened before.

Any thoughts?

trini_baba

Postby trini_baba » May 3rd, 2004, 11:23 pm

yeah anthony I could give you one good piece of advice............ switch to Mitsu :mrgreen: :evil: :wink: :lol:

trini_baba

Postby trini_baba » May 3rd, 2004, 11:25 pm

could be alot of things.................need a tune up............gas choke(fuel pump)............clogged injectors..............

ziig

Postby ziig » May 4th, 2004, 6:22 am

hmmmm...not sure but if the light is blinkin it may be a fault code? maybe your trani fluid is low ? or something is wrong with it.....when it was cold did it work better and got worst as it warmed up?

JWT

Postby JWT » May 4th, 2004, 8:53 am

if u lookin to change i have a qg18de engine and gearbox for sale
and everything is in great working shape

Postby Dave » May 4th, 2004, 8:54 am

i have a qg18de engine and gearbox for sale

like this man going and flintstone he car from point a to point b :lol:

nismaniac

Postby nismaniac » May 4th, 2004, 9:59 pm

anthony if your car have no transmission oil you will have trouble selectig gears but Im sure you check that already :roll:
I busted my tranny case and the oil leaked out and had a similr problem

Sully

Postby Sully » May 4th, 2004, 10:12 pm

Quote:

i have a qg18de engine and gearbox for sale

like this man going and flintstone he car from point a to point b

Actually the talk was he was going to put in an RB26. :D

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » May 5th, 2004, 5:37 am

were the handbrakes up?

Just kidding...

Reset your tranny or main puter by unplugging your battery for a while then putting it back on. That should solve any computer glitches that may have occured, with my car, if the tranny puter detects any fault in the tranny itself, it goes into beyotch mode and refuses to turn on OD and changes gears very harshly. If that does not help, check your fluid levels and colour.

p.s. I'm not sure if the B15 has a computer controlled tranny.

Anthony

Postby Anthony » May 5th, 2004, 12:55 pm

It's in the shop right now. I'm waiting on a call. The guy seemed to know his stuff. He asked if the OD light blinked, and if the car was not coming out a high gear, both of which were true. He identified either a solenoid or a sensor (I don't remember the specifics).
Will update you.
Wish I had tried resetting the computer, though.

Anthony

Postby Anthony » May 7th, 2004, 11:26 am

Shift solenoid replaced.

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » May 7th, 2004, 6:31 pm

how much $?

Anthony

Postby Anthony » May 10th, 2004, 1:00 pm

600 for the solenoid, 150 labour, 115 for the fluid, & add VAT.

Postby AllTrac » May 10th, 2004, 1:40 pm

^^^and dey wha yuh switch to mitsu boy? yuh would ah cross 2g's ahready if it was mitsu :shock: