HELP ....... Digital temp gauge hook up on SR20DET

tow_tray

HELP ....... Digital temp gauge hook up on SR20DET

Postby tow_tray » November 13th, 2008, 3:18 pm

Guys I need help here. Looking to hook up a digital temp gauge on my SR20DET, but i dont want to sacrifice the original dashboard temp gauge.
What are my options?
Is there a "T" connection for the temp gauge unit?
Is there somewhere else I can hook up the unit that came with the gauge?
Really looking for some advice here guys.

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » November 13th, 2008, 6:33 pm

look for the temperture sender under the intake manifold the wire ''should be'' a yellow with a green stripe you may have to jack up the car and check it from under if is a low port engine. if trace the wire you could just tap it at any point . if not you could ust tap it off from the dash board just trace the runs on the (IP) and connect it

tow_tray

Postby tow_tray » November 13th, 2008, 6:46 pm

Thanks man .....I'll suggest it to my electrician ....if he doesn't already know that.

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » November 14th, 2008, 6:20 am

U can do what Anil said or if ur fans are wired of the ECU and not from an external thermostat on the radiator,u can remove it, carry it to any machine shop and they will make a fittin to screw back in the spot together with the sender for the gauge!

MY $0.02 :|

sidewayz69

Postby sidewayz69 » November 14th, 2008, 6:40 pm

yes dat is true
it might even be better
cost ah little more and get ah more accurate reading because de sensor is in contact wiht d hot water

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » November 14th, 2008, 6:51 pm

THE SYNDICATE wrote:U can do what Anil said or if ur fans are wired of the ECU and not from an external thermostat on the radiator,u can remove it, carry it to any machine shop and they will make a fittin to screw back in the spot together with the sender for the gauge!

MY $0.02 :|

This is what i did and works fine.

sidewayz69

Postby sidewayz69 » November 15th, 2008, 11:25 pm

ok solider ya in d game den!

ready 4 ah pull??

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » November 16th, 2008, 11:27 am

sidewayz69 wrote:ok solider ya in d game den! ready 4 ah pull??

Who?...

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » November 16th, 2008, 7:27 pm

arite right now i wiring up a SR20DET Aviner and the wire your looking for is purple the color i gave you is what a wiring diagram said the temp wire said it would be

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » November 17th, 2008, 5:21 am

ahm ah mite sound stupid eh but is the sending unit or the dash gauge calibrated to only read within a certain range like from when the engine reaches full operating temp is the new aftermarkt gauge calibrated same way ????

eitech

Postby eitech » November 17th, 2008, 7:27 am

normally these aftermaket gauges are sold with a sending unit..are u saying he can jus tap off his existing sensor or he needs the sending unit?

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » November 17th, 2008, 4:54 pm

i'mjust curious as to which method will give him the correct temp readings cause i'm not sure which works

sidewayz69

Postby sidewayz69 » November 17th, 2008, 9:07 pm

red bwoy wrote:i'mjust curious as to which method will give him the correct temp readings cause i'm not sure which works

any 1 should work but 4 me i will invest in the unit to hold the sensor and install it directly in the cooling system

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » November 18th, 2008, 7:34 am

if ur fans are wired of the ECU and not from an external thermostat on the radiator,u can remove it, carry it to any machine shop and they will make a fittin to screw back in the spot together with the sender for the gauge!

works fine bro.....

i'mjust curious as to which method will give him the correct temp readings cause i'm not sure which works

all up to the person i guess......

:)