FACTS ABOUT SUPER AND PREMIUM GASOLINE

butch246

FACTS ABOUT SUPER AND PREMIUM GASOLINE

Postby butch246 » October 29th, 2008, 5:03 pm

i have a p11 sr20 and have been using super for quite some time now even before the hike in the pice of premium, this is what i've found.

1) there is NO LEAD IN SUPER GASOLINE in the country, only avjet feul used in planes have lead. that is FACT.

2) the problem of the catalyst chocking up cannot happen, (there is NO LEAD IN SUPER GASOLINE), the lead is what used to choke it when we had leaded gas about 15 years ago.

3) the dye in super is only to tell the diffrence between both gasses. the ratio is 150ml of dye to 10,000gl of super. it is only for identification purposes.

4) the only real concern is with the octane level of the engine. super octane level is 92 and premium is 95, (SO THEY TELL US, BUT WHO REALLY KNOWS). THE ONLY DIFFRENCE is the combusion of the engine.
how fast it goes for the size of the engine. if you not into racing then you will not knwo the diffrence.

NOTICE SOMETHING: all car manifactures who telling people to use super, look at the cars in question. all are under 2000cc. the LARGER the ENGINE the MORE COMBUSION needed, so HIGHER OCTANE gas needed.

I NOT TELLING YOU TO SWITCH FROM PREMIUM TO SUPER. i did over a year now with no problems. i did my reserch first so i thought i would share it with you. hope it would help with some questions you all have.

kripplerz

Postby kripplerz » October 29th, 2008, 10:41 pm

true super in unleaded gasoline but u does feel a difference

B20VTEK

Postby B20VTEK » October 29th, 2008, 10:57 pm

it depends on cylinder pressure and compression.
choose wisely

i run super, works good

Pointman-IA

Re: FACTS ABOUT SUPER AND PREMIUM GASOLINE

Postby Pointman-IA » October 29th, 2008, 11:10 pm

butch246 wrote:
2) the problem of the catalyst chocking up cannot happen, (there is NO LEAD IN SUPER GASOLINE), the lead is what used to choke it when we had leaded gas about 15 years ago.

DID YOU KNOW
What happens to the Cat Converter is this. If your vehicle was designed to use fuel with an octane rating of 95 and you persistently used a fuel with an octane rating of 92 plus fuel additives, the Cat Converter wouldn't clog up. It would begin to distingerate and before you know it, your tail pipe would be sounding as if you got pebbles rattling in a KLIM pan.

butch246

Postby butch246 » October 30th, 2008, 9:48 am

thanks for the comments. just trying to help out people who want a heads up on whats going on

butch246

Postby butch246 » October 30th, 2008, 2:12 pm

bump

baby-boy

Postby baby-boy » October 30th, 2008, 2:37 pm

tanks bro caz i jus bought ah 2000 modle civic an dat premun killin me....i was mixin d two gas..but is super all d way now :lol:

butch246

Postby butch246 » October 30th, 2008, 8:33 pm

the reason why the super would diffrent from the premium is that the octane level in each is diffrent. hence the diffrence in performance!!!

centralized(m)

Postby centralized(m) » November 2nd, 2008, 12:43 pm

another fact-----trinidad not producing super or premium gas!!!! IT'S ALL IMPORTED BABY!!!!

pandu

Postby pandu » November 2nd, 2008, 12:48 pm

^^^ wait, that is true?

centralized(m)

Postby centralized(m) » November 2nd, 2008, 12:57 pm

well i heard it from a reputable source and well apparently we don't we buy it from our neighbors!! guess who??? and also think about this.......if we buy gas from someone else is it economical to subsidy such gas???? :idea: :idea:

QG

Postby QG » November 2nd, 2008, 3:43 pm

baby-boy wrote:tanks bro caz i jus bought ah 2000 modle civic an dat premun killin me....i was mixin d two gas..but is super all d way now :lol:

If you are using the 2000 model civic (VTEC) then u need to stick with premium. The compression is high on that engine.

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » November 2nd, 2008, 7:37 pm

i have ah bj familia with vvt using super awhile now butwhen igoin an play de arse on de gubment road i use put premium the difference isreally in performance at high speed ah know some ppl go say 180k is not high speed but it fas enough fuh we congested highway

but seriously butch is speakin fact for the ones amongst us who cyah do dey own research :lol: :lol:

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » November 3rd, 2008, 2:30 pm

centralized(m) wrote:another fact-----trinidad not producing super or premium gas!!!! IT'S ALL IMPORTED BABY!!!!

We actually produce good premium and then export the good stuff to buy some cheap crap from me eh know where....probably Venezuela or something.

centralized(m)

Postby centralized(m) » November 3rd, 2008, 4:26 pm

yea....lol....shottah_crew,Venezuela or sumting indeed!!! lol

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » November 3rd, 2008, 10:20 pm

centralized(m) wrote:another fact-----trinidad not producing super or premium gas!!!! IT'S ALL IMPORTED BABY!!!!

NO AMIGO.
Oil is imported from Venezuela to help meet the refinery operating capacity. There is not sufficient oil on the local market to sustain the day to day activity of the refinery.

banzai

Postby banzai » November 5th, 2008, 9:51 am

my little contribution..........I have switched to super with my L touring no performance issues but definitely less mileage. Even with this loss (30km per tank some times more) It still works out cheaper to put extra super than use premium.
Full tank premium =$160
Full tank plus extra super = $118 -$138 assuming worst case of 60km less

super_cadet

Postby super_cadet » November 5th, 2008, 4:08 pm

Premium is required for higher compression engines...aka..performance oriented engines..yuh almera an b15 dont need it.

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » November 5th, 2008, 5:16 pm

sob sob my mazda BJ vvt need it

buh rite now is suppaaaaaaaaa in he pweffin :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

super_cadet

Postby super_cadet » November 5th, 2008, 5:18 pm

super going to have him pingin too..hehe

If you didnt know what makes the pingin noise...It's ur piston slaping about on the cylinder walls due to detonation...not nice for your baby

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » November 5th, 2008, 5:41 pm

nah doh get that have a secret anti knock ingredient called race gas gets alittle free nah so dais my octane boost rite dey

Idle_Torque

Postby Idle_Torque » November 6th, 2008, 11:21 am

good info here..

eg8

Postby eg8 » November 6th, 2008, 12:57 pm

i hav a b16a which is dohc n was told dat i cud never use super..is dis tru?

sham1984

Postby sham1984 » November 6th, 2008, 9:07 pm

once upon a time all hondas would get killed if u throw super in it, but the new mix working just fine

eitech

Postby eitech » November 6th, 2008, 11:12 pm

well i full up with super today fuh d fus time..drove a lil hard and regular..so far no difference felt

sr20ck2

Postby sr20ck2 » November 9th, 2008, 8:49 pm

does a mivec 4g92 require premium? if not would super affect performance?

Idle_Torque

Postby Idle_Torque » November 9th, 2008, 10:07 pm

hmm i does rock my super..... cause is super unleaded.. duh is still unleaded gasoline...

Postby sMASH » November 25th, 2008, 8:29 am

there is definitely a performance difference i have experienced with an rb25 and a carbureted b13 engine,,, but to get the car moving the same way, i just mash the 'x' a little harder with the super, which means burning more.
imo the premium burns a lot faster in the cylinder than the super, giving a faster rate of energy release.

the question should be: what exactly about a car really is dependent on octane difference?
imo, to switch to super, maybe the ecu should be re-booted to get the proper timing for the lower octane

NST

Postby NST » November 28th, 2008, 6:03 am

butch246, AVJET is kerosene (pitchoil) what you are talking about is Aviation Gasoline which is basically 100 RON and Unleaded, all fuels are now unleaded

centralized(m), your source is mess....we have too much gasoline right now and no one to sell it to...our refinery is a gasoline refinery

jmarson

Postby jmarson » November 28th, 2008, 9:32 am

what yall think for a 2.0l mazda sport 20. using premium since compression is 10.4. but how come the new mazda 6 has a compression of 11.3 and it says use super unleaded?