quintessentiallyenigmatic

Nothing when key turned

Postby quintessentiallyenigmatic » October 21st, 2008, 10:51 am

recently (past week & a half)
been having an intermittent problem when starting
when i turn the key nothing- i.e no tumble or click .....on 2 of approx 5 ocassions i heard a whirring noise......lights on dash look normal
happens odd times not on mornings only
AND
on some days car starts normal you wouldn't know anything thing was ever wrong
i am very concerned about this though.......its the time to go by auto electrician is my problem
any ideas as to the root problem & solution or do i need to see electrician asap
thanks.............

forgot to mention
CK4 4g92
Last edited by quintessentiallyenigmatic on October 21st, 2008, 11:06 am, edited 2 times in total.

VIP2Nr

Postby VIP2Nr » October 21st, 2008, 11:01 am

with my last car i had a similar problem...electrician could never find the problem since everytime i took the car to him, it always seem to work fine (damn civic)..I decided to clean off the battery poles, since then it worked fine.

cud be the wiring, negative and/or positive wires to the battery have a loose connection.. My .02c

Postby wagonrunner » October 21st, 2008, 11:03 am

also check starter ground wire.

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » October 21st, 2008, 11:25 am

starter could be sticking, if its an auto the gear selector switch might be malfunctioning, or finally it might be a battery problem.. dirty terminals, lose leads, or battery might be developing a bad cell

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » October 21st, 2008, 11:49 am

Do you have an alarm with a starter cut out? commonly the relay which they use to do this fails and causes this problem

However you mentioned that you heard a noise which without hearing I am assuming it is from the starter itself. This is most likely a good time to service the starter by the sounds of things. .

STARTER

Postby quintessentiallyenigmatic » October 21st, 2008, 12:14 pm

saltydog wrote:Do you have an alarm with a starter cut out? commonly the relay which they use to do this fails and causes this problem

However you mentioned that you heard a noise which without hearing I am assuming it is from the starter itself. This is most likely a good time to service the starter by the sounds of things. .

yes i do
but who should service this as i don't want to void my warranty
do i go by the alarm people & tell them you know the first thing they'll ask how i know is the relay they put in
or could the autoelectrician fix or change this

mikey_v

Postby mikey_v » October 22nd, 2008, 8:42 am

probably better if u go to an electrician to make sure the relay is the problem but as everyone else said it really does sound like the starter needs servicing

kevin310

Postby kevin310 » October 22nd, 2008, 9:00 am

wagonrunner wrote:also check starter ground wire.

had that same problem already
turned out that the starter wire was slack
i changed terminal an it never happened again

turbohead

Postby turbohead » October 23rd, 2008, 9:11 pm

check the pigtail wire by the starter to see if it slack also. happens to me wen drivin the 929 it drops out an wen yuh switch off an go to start back nothing. all lights workin but dat out so no power to solenoid... also check batt. terminals

Postby cinco » October 23rd, 2008, 9:19 pm

might even want to get the shift interlock solenoid checked if the car does not recognise the shifter in park it wont let the car start

larafan

Postby larafan » October 23rd, 2008, 9:55 pm

VIP2Nr wrote:with my last car i had a similar problem...electrician could never find the problem since everytime i took the car to him, it always seem to work fine (damn civic)..I decided to clean off the battery poles, since then it worked fine.

cud be the wiring, negative and/or positive wires to the battery have a loose connection.. My .02c

there u go....u've identified the problem right there....

Postby quintessentiallyenigmatic » October 24th, 2008, 8:11 am

Guys thanks for all the input.....
will be checking all possibilities saturday by auto electrician & mechanic......

Postby quintessentiallyenigmatic » October 27th, 2008, 11:37 am

fellas went by the autoelect man start & stop the car for a million times car working fine
still have to check out relay for alarm though was getting late
will keep up to date when problem solved

Postby cinco » October 27th, 2008, 5:58 pm

might even want to check the tumblers in the ignition switch it wears out after a while

Postby X_Factor » October 27th, 2008, 6:29 pm

the ignition capsule sometimes goes bad and would cause the car not to start sometimes...happened to me before and i thought it was battery, starter etc
when u try next time and the car not starting...push the key harder into the ignition and see if it would help

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » October 27th, 2008, 6:56 pm

for problems like that you have to DIY cause when you go by the electrial it will get scared and start to wok :lol: it's simple you have to work your way to the problem

1) try starting on (N) instead of (P)
if the problem is still there then it maybe the alarm,immoblizer,stater or capsule
you need to work from the starter back to the capsule

all you need to make is a test light for yourself and when the problem occurs you will know if the starter actually getting power or not connect one terminal to ground and the otherr splices into the starter static wire when you turn the key it should light and if at any time the problem occur and the bulb lights then it's your starter is the problem if not the the bulb is off the it 's a part of the starter circuit bad

sham1984

Postby sham1984 » October 28th, 2008, 1:15 am

the "whirring noise"..could that be the starter spinning up and the static not engaged? or is some other sort of whirring noise?

when our starter was failing, it was very unpredictable like that... took a number of embarassing trips to the electrician having the car work perfectly fine when it got there (was a 306 tho)

Postby quintessentiallyenigmatic » October 29th, 2008, 9:22 pm

fellas hear this........checking fluids & thing yesterday
battery water low in some cells
top up as i usually do once a month & thing switch on engine & battery bubbling like mad......vapour/mist/??? coming out from battery smelling very pungent & felt like it will kill me..............run to tuner to find out wtf going on
well i know is hydrogen escaping now..& ah have a very serious problem here
went by the auto electrician man check the battery on idle the dmn thing charging @ 16v i'm like along with the man WTF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! when u tip the accelerator thing going over 16
tried to help me out......couldn't looking for a alternator now......he says it usually has 2 or 3 wires this one have 4 or 5 i think
my problem is how much thing i already flick up in my car by overcharging or too much current
can't do without the car ........baby & thing........help

sham1984

Postby sham1984 » October 29th, 2008, 11:18 pm

The fusebox protects all the electronics of the car...so if anything's broken, it will be the fuses first.

If the internal regulator on the alternator is malfunctioning (which would cause overcharging or undercharging), you can have the electrician install an external regulator if you don't want to buy another alternator or can't find the appropriate replacement part.

Btw the bubbling is not a healthy thing for the battery as you already know. Aside from killing the battery by overcharging and stuff, gas buildup can cause the battery to explode if its not venting properly so be careful when u go in the engine bay and the battery's bubbling.

venum

Postby venum » October 30th, 2008, 4:47 pm

had this problem with my CK2 couple weeks aback

turned out to be battery

teh battery wasn't holding charge for more that 2 hrs

so when it was started and run and then cut-off it started back fine withing 2 hrs

but if left longer - you would hear teh whirring noise (battery too weak to turn starter properly)

but it started properly with a jump start all teh time

turbohead

Postby turbohead » October 31st, 2008, 7:41 pm

sham1984 wrote:The fusebox protects all the electronics of the car...so if anything's broken, it will be the fuses first.

If the internal regulator on the alternator is malfunctioning (which would cause overcharging or undercharging), you can have the electrician install an external regulator if you don't want to buy another alternator or can't find the appropriate replacement part.

Btw the bubbling is not a healthy thing for the battery as you already know. Aside from killing the battery by overcharging and stuff, gas buildup can cause the battery to explode if its not venting properly so be careful when u go in the engine bay and the battery's bubbling.

correct is right

Postby cinco » October 31st, 2008, 7:57 pm

bubbling battery means its done change it FAST
dont put the new battery with your messed up alt
i posted in your other thread about the 16v
its the regulator most probably so get it fixed/replaced

Postby quintessentiallyenigmatic » November 2nd, 2008, 9:51 am

guys changed the alternator everything fine so far
thanks for all the input

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » November 2nd, 2008, 6:15 pm

Check this linkalso. I had a similar problem too. Car started normally up to when I sold it last week.

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... highlight=

Postby cinco » November 2nd, 2008, 6:58 pm

change your battery man
it will die soon

Postby X_Factor » November 2nd, 2008, 8:47 pm

^^ yeah, Deep Cycle Dry cell ftw!!

no looking back