Premium vs Regular

Postby UML » October 3rd, 2008, 9:26 am

Loooong read...

Premium vs. Regular Gas: How to Decide
Nov 14 '01 (Updated Nov 16 '01)

The Bottom Line Most cars don't need premium, but a few do -- and not necessarily the ones you'd expect. And premium's not likely to "clean" your engine, either.

While many people claim that their car runs better on premium, this costly fuel is really only needed in a few circumstances. However, when it is needed, it must be used to spare your engine from costly damage. On the other hand, if you burn premium when your car doesn’t need it, the damage won’t be to your engine but only to your pocketbook.

It’s All In The Numbers

The AKI (anti-knock index -- also known as "octane rating") of the fuel is an average of two different methods of computing the fuel's ability to resist engine knock. Regular unleaded gas in the U.S. has an anti-knock index of 87, while mid-grade is usually 89, and premium typically is 91 - 93. The higher the number, the more anti-knock protection the fuel offers.

Engine knock occurs when the fuel in the cylinder ignites by itself before the spark plug ignites it. The technical name for this condition is "pre-ignition." It sounds like marbles rattling around in a can, and it generally gets worse the harder you press on the accelerator pedal.

Knocking can indeed damage an engine because what is in effect happening is the "explosion" of the fuel/air mixture is trying to push the piston downward in the cylinder before it's gotten to the top of its stroke and is free to move downward. The engine is actually working against itself to a degree, and there is a lot of mechanical stress placed on certain engine parts, such as the pistons. In extreme cases, knocking can burn holes in the pistons and create other forms of engine damage.

Oil companies sell higher AKI fuels (also known as premium) to address this problem. A fuel with a higher AKI actually burns more SLOWLY than fuel with a lower AKI. This is because the fuel is less volatile and requires more heat input before it begins to ignite.

(For this same reason, high AKI fuels will actually make your car HARDER to start on a very cold day. In extreme cold -- below 0 degrees F -- you want a more volatile fuel which ignites easily so you can get the engine going without extensive cranking. So if extreme cold is expected, buy 87 AKI gas unless your owner’s manual advises against it.)

Who Needs Premium?

Basically, all premium fuel does is resist knock. So the short answer to the above question of “Who Needs Premium?â€

Postby bushwakka » October 3rd, 2008, 9:54 am

de sad truth is that all these info articles written by ppl who live in foreign countries are almost non-applicable when it comes to gasoline in trinidad

the premium gasoline we get in trinidad is not 95 RON, it is one or 2 octane points lower, same thing wit de super, not to mention the gas is just all round dirtier

Postby buzz » October 3rd, 2008, 9:59 am

our diesel is the worst :|

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » October 3rd, 2008, 10:12 am

NP lists the octane rating of Premium as RON95 and Super as RON92

Chemical

Postby Chemical » October 3rd, 2008, 11:32 am

de sad truth is that all these info articles written by ppl who live in foreign countries are almost non-applicable when it comes to gasoline in trinidad

the premium gasoline we get in trinidad is not 95 RON, it is one or 2 octane points lower, same thing wit de super, not to mention the gas is just all round dirtier

Where do you people derive these from?

BS, super will work in MOST cars just as well as permium.

Postby RBphoto » October 3rd, 2008, 11:33 am

Chemical Darryl wrote:

Not in a QG engine though.

Postby UML » October 3rd, 2008, 12:27 pm

crossdrilled wrote:
Chemical Darryl wrote:

:shock: :cry:

NST

Postby NST » October 3rd, 2008, 1:33 pm

crossdrilled, ent the TIIDA is a HR Engine??

I spoke to some one with a wingroad last day and she said she ahd problems with super in her QG, which is strange since it is an "economy engine"

Super is safely 92RON and Premium is 95RON

The real issue is with the MON of the gasoline

Glitch

Postby Glitch » October 3rd, 2008, 1:51 pm

I tried Super in my car and I have a 4G93T engine (CB) and so far it works pretty well. Although I would admit it feels a tad slower. Could be the engine retarding the timing.

slow323

Postby slow323 » October 3rd, 2008, 2:15 pm

premium regular dont matter to me i use super and it works fine just the car runs a lil less pepy

as far as im concerned gas stations didnt put in new tanks to have premium pumps they just filled the same old ones with premium and thas all, same dirt same silt so regard less you still have to clean injectors and do regular maintenance.
premium does not clean engines.
if you want to knw if your car can run on super just do a gradual change to super and if your sensors go off well you know, you have to stick to premium

MANIAC

Postby MANIAC » October 3rd, 2008, 5:16 pm

bushwakka wrote:the premium gasoline we get in trinidad is not 95 RON, it is one or 2 octane points lower, same thing wit de super, not to mention the gas is just all round dirtier

... and how can you prove this ?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 3rd, 2008, 6:27 pm

even longer reading within the topics in this thread....Gasoline FAQ

FullStop

Postby FullStop » October 3rd, 2008, 9:21 pm

QG is rated at 91 octane not so? this is what i found:

# 1.6L
- QG16DE, 1597cc, petrol >=91 RON, 4-cyls, smpfi, 4-valves/cyl, valve timing control, dohc
- bore: 76mm, stroke: 88mm, c.r.: 9.5:1
- power: 83kW at 6000rpm, torque: 140Nm at 4400rpm
- economy: city 7.4L/100km manual (7.6L/100km auto'), highway 5.2 (5.4)

# 1.8L
- QG18DE, 1769cc, petrol >=91 RON, 4-cyls, smpfi, 4-valves/cyl, valve timing control, dohc
- bore: 80mm, stroke: 88mm, c.r.: 9.5:1
- power: 92kW at 5600rpm, torque: 161Nm at 4400rpm
- economy: city 7.8L/100km manual (8.0L/100km auto'), highway 5.2 (5.4)

Postby bushwakka » October 4th, 2008, 4:40 pm

MANIAC wrote:
bushwakka wrote:the premium gasoline we get in trinidad is not 95 RON, it is one or 2 octane points lower, same thing wit de super, not to mention the gas is just all round dirtier

we tested it in the laboratory for a research project using the GC (Gas Chromatograph) and the HPLC (High Performance Liquid Chromatography)

the student's conclusion stated that the Premium and Super gasoline obtained from a number of different gas stations was lower than the posted RON value
regular gasoline was not tested for fear that particulates found in dirty regular gasoline would clog the equipment (dey rel expensive)

i doh have the report on hand, it in sum lecturer office
but yea, thas how i kno...believe me or not, ur choice until another independent evaluation is made

thegtiman

Postby thegtiman » October 4th, 2008, 6:01 pm

ghostbusters wrote:QG is rated at 91 octane not so? this is what i found:

# 1.6L
- QG16DE, 1597cc, petrol >=91 RON, 4-cyls, smpfi, 4-valves/cyl, valve timing control, dohc
- bore: 76mm, stroke: 88mm, c.r.: 9.5:1
- power: 83kW at 6000rpm, torque: 140Nm at 4400rpm
- economy: city 7.4L/100km manual (7.6L/100km auto'), highway 5.2 (5.4)

# 1.8L
- QG18DE, 1769cc, petrol >=91 RON, 4-cyls, smpfi, 4-valves/cyl, valve timing control, dohc
- bore: 80mm, stroke: 88mm, c.r.: 9.5:1
- power: 92kW at 5600rpm, torque: 161Nm at 4400rpm
- economy: city 7.8L/100km manual (8.0L/100km auto'), highway 5.2 (5.4)

Which market do these specifications apply to.

Pirate

Postby Pirate » October 6th, 2008, 12:29 am

super unleaded all d way!
:mrgreen:

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » October 6th, 2008, 7:00 am

good read!

Postby r3iXmann » October 6th, 2008, 10:32 am

crossdrilled wrote:
Chemical Darryl wrote:

my father using super in TWO QG15s for years without a problem :roll:

MANIAC

Postby MANIAC » October 6th, 2008, 11:11 am

bushwakka wrote:
MANIAC wrote:

we tested it in the laboratory for a research project using the GC (Gas Chromatograph) and the HPLC (High Performance Liquid Chromatography)

the student's conclusion stated that the Premium and Super gasoline obtained from a number of different gas stations was lower than the posted RON value
regular gasoline was not tested for fear that particulates found in dirty regular gasoline would clog the equipment (dey rel expensive)

but yea, thas how i kno...believe me or not, ur choice until another independent evaluation is made

Strange, cause, I am working with someone who used to work in the Lab at NP and he confirmed to me that they used to check that the RON Rating is correct on the gases and quality certify it before distribution ...

Postby bushwakka » October 8th, 2008, 9:54 am

MANIAC wrote:
bushwakka wrote:
MANIAC wrote:

Strange, cause, I am working with someone who used to work in the Lab at NP and he confirmed to me that they used to check that the RON Rating is correct on the gases and quality certify it before distribution ...

you're right....that's very strange indeed...

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » October 8th, 2008, 10:45 am

very useful article

Postby UML » October 9th, 2008, 10:54 am

Neal & Massy Automotive Ltd. Vehicles - Gasoline Octane Requirements

RON Rating - Minimum Manufacturer recommendation as per owner's manuals

Octane rate 91 Super Unleaded

Octane rate 95 Premium

Brand / Model Octane Rate
Nissan
Almera 91
Tiida 95
Sylphy 91
Cefiro 2.0 91
Cefiro 2.3 91
Cefiro 3.5 95
Teana 2.0 91
Teana 2.5 91
Teana 3.5 95
X-Trail Classic 91
X-Trail 2.5 95
Quashqai 91

Hyundai
Getz 91
Accent 91
Elantra 91
Sonata 91
Tucson 91

Subaru
Impreza 95
Forester 95
Legacy 2.0 95
Legacy 2.5T 95
Outback 95
Tribeca 95

Volvo
S60 95
S80 95
XC-90 2.5 Gas 95

Peugeot
206 95
207 95
307 95
308 95
407 95

Volkswagen
Jetta 95
Passat 95

Postby bushwakka » October 10th, 2008, 9:40 am

so all scoobies must use 95? geez! what i get myself into!

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » October 14th, 2008, 10:32 am

UML wrote:Neal & Massy Automotive Ltd. Vehicles - Gasoline Octane Requirements

RON Rating - Minimum Manufacturer recommendation as per owner's manuals

Octane rate 91 Super Unleaded

Octane rate 95 Premium

Brand / Model Octane Rate
Nissan
Almera 91
Tiida 95
Sylphy 91
Cefiro 2.0 91
Cefiro 2.3 91
Cefiro 3.5 95
Teana 2.0 91
Teana 2.5 91
Teana 3.5 95
X-Trail Classic 91
X-Trail 2.5 95
Quashqai 91

Hyundai
Getz 91
Accent 91
Elantra 91
Sonata 91
Tucson 91

Subaru
Impreza 95
Forester 95
Legacy 2.0 95
Legacy 2.5T 95
Outback 95
Tribeca 95

Volvo
S60 95
S80 95
XC-90 2.5 Gas 95

Peugeot
206 95
207 95
307 95
308 95
407 95

Volkswagen
Jetta 95
Passat 95

UML What about the AD Wagons with QG13DE?

Pirate

Postby Pirate » October 16th, 2008, 3:36 am

so what about Mitsubishi vehicles?

Postby bushwakka » October 16th, 2008, 2:19 pm

wbt them?
dem using super!

not the GDI engines tho

trinianouk

Postby trinianouk » October 17th, 2008, 11:40 am

I heard people who switch from Premium to Super say they getting less mileage on a full tank.

Even though the mileage is less it still cheaper..... :|