question:loss of power at high rpm

vipervega

question:loss of power at high rpm

Postby vipervega » September 6th, 2008, 9:38 am

have a 4g15 DOHC manual wen i revvin out the gears sumtimes i wud get power(pickup) straight to about 6500 to 7000 rpm other times i wud get to about 4000 to 5000 and then the car pulls back losin power like stuterrin kinda the throttle body has been serviced and i still getin it any1 knw wat can cause this can spark plugs cause this cuz thats the only ting i aint change also i havent clean my injectors can some1 plz shed some light cuz it happen sumtimes and sumtimes it workin damn good so any help will be appreciated tanx

Postby cinco » September 6th, 2008, 11:05 am

change the plugs and wires and then come back to us. To me it sounds like one of the plug wires may be failing thats why it does it sometimes and not others dont wait till it gets worse

vipervega

Postby vipervega » September 7th, 2008, 1:39 pm

well by tmr i will change the plugs and plug wires and see if that helps tanx cinco, anybody else ever experience these problems

Postby bushwakka » September 8th, 2008, 10:00 am

hmmm, that problem u describe there is commonly experienced on diesel vehicles with water in fuel problem

so maybe ur fuel filter/pump clogged?

pornstar4777

Postby pornstar4777 » September 8th, 2008, 2:29 pm

plugs and wires

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » September 9th, 2008, 7:36 am

pornstar4777 wrote:plugs and wires

check this!

vipervega

Postby vipervega » September 11th, 2008, 6:32 pm

changed the plugs and wires clean the throttle body slight improvement but still holding back anybody knw watother issues can cause this

MX3

Postby MX3 » September 14th, 2008, 12:53 am

check ure distributer see if all units firing

vipervega

Postby vipervega » September 16th, 2008, 9:09 am

wat exactly in the distributor are we talkin about here

Postby bushwakka » September 16th, 2008, 10:11 am

the alignment of the distributor components throws off the gears and causes ur engine to move really sluggish, from rest, but the the problem here is loss of power at HIGH rpms...so i doh tink it cud be distributor, worth a check tho

did u check the fuel filter and pump?

vipervega

Postby vipervega » September 16th, 2008, 10:37 am

yes changed the fuel filter and the pump jus a couple weeks ago its only happenin sometimes on any gear wen it reaches like 5000 rpm so the car starts to pullback and stutter changes plugs and wires clean throttle body and also clean injectors havent touch the distributor though do i tink an external coil wud help msd ignition blaster 2 or sumting