The A/C problem thread. Check here first! (Mods plz sticky)

Jerry84

Re: The A/C problem thread. Check here first! (Mods plz sticky)

Postby Jerry84 » December 11th, 2018, 11:42 pm

cueball1990 wrote:having an issue with my 1nze fe 2002 fielder. the AC works but when it is on the compressor is extremely noisy and idles rough. the ac guy i checked said the compressor is "filing" not sure what he meant but can anyone tell me a possible cause for the noise? it sounds like a rattle and when the car is running whines which increases with the engine rpm, but the clutch still cycles on an off as normal. i also notice my dash lights flicker when it is on but is normal while im driving.
Did you get through with this issue? Got a similar problem and looking for possible solutions after wasting money on reputable ac technicians

jose123

Postby jose123 » January 4th, 2019, 6:59 am

Hi,
My 2012 Sylphy (B17) is not pushing air out any vents. Usually when the AC goes on a noise is heard and the vents blow. Now it does not happen. At various points below the dash the air is cold. The rear vents have some airflow.
Research shows it is the vent position control. Can anyone suggest someone who can check this?
Thanks.

Postby Dave » January 4th, 2019, 7:16 am

Sounds like the blower resistor or blower itself.

jose123

Postby jose123 » January 4th, 2019, 7:18 am

Dave wrote:Sounds like the blower resistor or blower itself.

Compressor and blower actually working. Blower changes speed perfectly with the speed control on the panel as it always did.

But can u suggest someone, preferably around St. Helena/ Trincity, to check this ASAP?

Postby X_Factor » February 13th, 2019, 5:14 pm

issue-- works perfect on mornings and night, unless the car is moving it blows warm especially around midday
carried it by an a/c guy, said it needed topping up and oil...did that
now pressure, blows hot all the time with the weird probably ac gas smell through the vents

any ideas?

Postby Dave » February 13th, 2019, 6:03 pm

Smell through vents sounds like a leaky evaporator.

Postby skylinechild » February 14th, 2019, 2:39 am

Dave wrote:Smell through vents sounds like a leaky evaporator.

dave called it... leaky evaporator... get it replaced....i had my evaporator replaced by k wilson in arima - cost for everything - parts labour was $1600. got warranty and guarantee too.... 8-)

Dave...where meh Nissan horn..... :lol:

Postby Dave » February 14th, 2019, 7:59 am

Right so the local units came with two horns. Soon will replace them.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » May 27th, 2019, 8:25 am

Hey guys. Having a problem with my tiida a/c. It works fine when I put it on but if I stop anywhere an leaves the car running in park, it stops blowing cold when I start back driving. It only starts working again if I cut off the car then start back. Any ideas?

Postby adnj » May 27th, 2019, 8:34 am

Musical Doc wrote:Hey guys. Having a problem with my tiida a/c. It works fine when I put it on but if I stop anywhere an leaves the car running in park, it stops blowing cold when I start back driving. It only starts working again if I cut off the car then start back. Any ideas?
Check:
Engine fan
Engine fan belt
Engine idle speed when AC is on
AC fan control
AC fan control relays

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » May 27th, 2019, 4:14 pm

adnj wrote:
Musical Doc wrote:Hey guys. Having a problem with my tiida a/c. It works fine when I put it on but if I stop anywhere an leaves the car running in park, it stops blowing cold when I start back driving. It only starts working again if I cut off the car then start back. Any ideas?
Check:
Engine fan
Engine fan belt
Engine idle speed when AC is on
AC fan control
AC fan control relays

The fan seems to be running normal, the fan belt was changed last year and feels stiff enough, engine idle speed is about 800 rpm with the ac on. May have to look into the fan control and relays then.

Postby nervewrecker » December 24th, 2021, 10:30 pm

Did a tear down of a rotary vane auto ac comp here showing its operating principle.

If i'm not mistaken, it came out my subaru.

dtopshottas

Postby dtopshottas » May 17th, 2022, 6:45 pm

Good day 2nrs,

Any chemical foam or spray available to clean the evaporator/HVAC box without taking the system apart? Trying to rid of a musty/smoke smell

Postby skylinechild » May 17th, 2022, 7:15 pm

dtopshottas wrote:Good day 2nrs,

Any chemical foam or spray available to clean the evaporator/HVAC box without taking the system apart? Trying to rid of a musty/smoke smell

AFAIK there is no chemical spray that you can use to clean out the evaporator .

if youre trying to get rid of a musty smell there are some places that can insert a long tube into the vent and inject pressurized hot steam to kill the mould and bacteria that grows.

the downside is you will have to change your ac filters afterwards - i think they would have it.

if that doesnt work ...next step is to scrap the HVAC unit and physically clean it out ..

dtopshottas

Postby dtopshottas » May 18th, 2022, 5:45 am

KOOL-IT® by Lubegard
Contaminated air conditioning and heater/ evaporator cores can cause foul smelling, health threatening mold and mildew deposits. Use KOOL-IT® super foaming action to remove unwanted smells and stains from your vehicle's HVAC system. WORKS GREAT IN ALL ELECTRIC VEHICLES TOO!

Saw this product on other forums. There is an official Toyota branded kit also called Toyota A/C Refresher Kit. But I ain't a technician so I have no idea if it's just fancy marketing.

Postby Dave » May 18th, 2022, 6:19 am

Worldwide trading the dealer for Wynn's also had a product years ago for this purpose. Not sure if they still sell it locally.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » July 7th, 2022, 10:30 am

Dave wrote:Worldwide trading the dealer for Wynn's also had a product years ago for this purpose. Not sure if they still sell it locally.

Worldwide Trading is still in existence? They were originally in St. Joseph and then they were in Cunupia.

With respect to getting rid of the musty smell, there was a product by Mothers being sold locally, Mothers Odor Eliminator and Refresher.

You would put the can down in the footwell, put all the windows up, turn on the a/c, activate the spray, and leave the a/c running until the spray runs out and a for a few minutes afterwards.