future of air conditoning (next 4 years)

megadoc1

future of air conditoning (next 4 years)

Postby megadoc1 » July 13th, 2008, 12:50 am

was gathering info and came across this
some cutting and pasting done

Future A/C Systems
the future of mobile A/C systems revealed some interesting information about what’s happening in Europe and how it will impact North America. The Europeans are moving to phase out R-134a as a refrigerant by 2011 because it is on the hit list of gases that contribute to global warming. Most of the European nations signed the Kyoto Protocol that calls for cutbacks in carbon dioxide emissions and the release of other global warming gases. The U.S. did not sign this agreement, so it is uncertain how this will impact us. But within the next five to eight years, the Europeans will probably start introducing higher pressure CO2 (R-744) A/C systems on high-end luxury cars.Image
Since the thermal property of CO2 is different from current refrigerant, CO2 is especially effective in heating a vehicle compared with the HFC-134 alternative refrigerant used in other automotive air-conditioning systems. In the CO2 system, heating is accomplished by switching to the refrigerant channel so that the refrigerant can be compressed and supplied to the passenger compartment heat exchanger from which it radiates heat. In other automotive air-conditioning systems, a hot engine coolant that has been heated by the engine heat is circulated through the heater core to warm the passenger compartment. Until now, fuel cell vehicles and electric vehicles (EVs) have had the drawback of not providing very effective cabin heating because they lack a heat source as they do not have an internal combustion engine.

The CO2 air-conditioning system uses the same process as ordinary automotive air-conditioners to cool a vehicle. The refrigerant -- in this case CO2 -- is evaporated by a passenger car compartment heat exchanger to absorb heat and cool the vehicle's cabin.

CO2 is a naturally occurring, non-flammable refrigerant and is more environmentally friendly than the HFC-134a alternative refrigerant. The new CO2 system can help to reduce the amount of CO2 discharged from factories because CO2 waste from factories can be reused for use in the system.

The implementation of the new air-conditioning system has been made possible in part by the successful development of a compact, lightweight compressor capable of withstanding the high temperature and high pressure needed to compress CO2. Another contributing factor is the successful development of a heat exchanger capable of withstanding the high pressure and temperature of the highly compressed CO2 gas supplied from the compressor.

Moreover, the power loss that ordinarily occurs in a small car when the air conditioner is operated while driving can be reduced with this air-conditioning system through suitable control of the compressor torque. Further development work is now under way with the aim of using this CO2 air-conditioning system on vehicles powered by a gasoline engine.

The advantage of using CO2 as a refrigerant is that there’s no net increase in global warming gases. The drawback is that a CO2 system operates at extremely high pressure - 1,500 psi on the low side and 2,500 psi on the high side. This requires much stronger tubing and poses a hazard to service technicians.

Another alternative refrigerant that is being considered is HFC-152, which is slightly flammable. It may be used in a "secondary loop" A/C system that uses a heat exchanger to transfer cooling from the refrigerant in the engine compartment to ordinary antifreeze coolant that is circulating into the passenger compartment.

In the near future, we will see even more electronics in A/C systems, including more computer-controlled variable-displacement compressors, electronic orifice tubes and expansion valves, and electric-driven compressors in vehicles that have an idle shut off system to reduce fuel consumption
http://www.aa1car.com/library/newac2k.htm

Stay Tuned

Postby Stay Tuned » July 13th, 2008, 3:21 pm

I tought R134a was ozone friendly that's why they changed from R12? :?

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » July 13th, 2008, 8:33 pm

i thought so to0 but its less efficient than r12 so i think its about the amount of work that has to be done or something like that

centralized(m)

Postby centralized(m) » July 13th, 2008, 8:38 pm

well we also signed this kyoto protocol so i think we may one day have to adopt this new air-con process for our vechiles entering trinidad!!!

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » July 14th, 2008, 6:40 am

Good find bro......... :|

LedZep

Postby LedZep » July 14th, 2008, 8:59 am

globaL warming, pah! what a faux :roll:

xtech

Postby xtech » July 14th, 2008, 8:07 pm

i thought CO2 was causing global warming..................geeze

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » July 14th, 2008, 10:46 pm

Although carbon dioxide is a global-warming gas, conventional refrigerants called hydrofluorocarbons cause about 1,400 times more global warming than the same quantity of carbon dioxide. Meanwhile, the tiny quantities of carbon dioxide that would be released from air conditioners would be insignificant, compared to the huge amounts produced from burning fossil fuels for energy and transportation, says Eckhard Groll, an associate professor of mechanical engineering at Purdue.

Carbon dioxide is promising for systems that must be small and light-weight, such as automotive or portable air conditioners. Various factors, including the high operating pressure required for carbon-dioxide systems, enable the refrigerant to flow through small-diameter tubing, which allows engineers to design more compact air conditioners.

xtech

Postby xtech » July 15th, 2008, 7:59 am

ok lets say this new tech makes it to large aircons.........................for home an office

i sleeping dreaming an thing an next thing i know i wake up in heaven.......at d gates

i ask d angel wat i doing here :shock:

an he say dat new econo-wise aircon u buy started leaking CO2 in yuh bedroom so here u iz :( :( :( :(

centralized(m)

Postby centralized(m) » July 15th, 2008, 8:01 am

xtech,

LOL.................

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » July 15th, 2008, 10:06 am

xtech wrote:ok lets say this new tech makes it to large aircons.........................for home an office

i sleeping dreaming an thing an next thing i know i wake up in heaven.......at d gates

an he say dat new econo-wise aircon u buy started leaking CO2 in yuh bedroom so here u iz :( :( :( :(
how much co2 yout hink it will take to kill you?
co2 displaces oxygen that's how you die right ?
but then you emit more co2 in a closed room every day than the ac will if it develops a leak
and you are still alive
hear what try this test get a co2 fire extinguisher and empty it into your bed room and measure the co2 levels
bear in mind that the fire extinguisher contains more co2 than the ac does
tell me your findings :)

xtech

Postby xtech » July 15th, 2008, 10:10 am

i just tested it an yuh theory sucks!!!!!!!!!!! :fist:

Oh yeah i am sending this post from my Jesus phone while walking on streets paved with gold.......... :(

since i killed myself an everybody thinks i did it on purpose. :oops:

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » July 15th, 2008, 10:40 am

so you didn't use a meter to measure it?
i thought you were a smart guy :shock:
and if your room so small wuy u need so much a big ac
freon would have poisoned you the same way :roll:

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » July 16th, 2008, 6:23 am

xtech wrote:ok lets say this new tech makes it to large aircons.........................for home an office

:lol: :oops: :lol: