WTK - Gas lock in car

hondaman

WTK - Gas lock in car

Postby hondaman » February 25th, 2008, 7:53 am

Tuners,

Want to know what are the disadvantages, if any, of installing a gas lock in my car.

It's got an alarm and car search will be installed next week but thinking of installing gas lock in event dem damn bandits look to rob you gunpoint at home.

Let me know what you guys think.

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » February 25th, 2008, 8:58 am

:roll: Doh call them them things on yuh self. If they cyar start it believe you me they go make you start it for them. Besides that you getting car search. Let them go with it.

RA40-GTE

Postby RA40-GTE » February 25th, 2008, 10:46 am

i think its a great idea. I had one in one of my cars, very hidden away that can be activated with your foot. So if you're ever pulled from the car, set it one time without anyone knowing. Car will still go for about 2 mins, but after that it not moving..
I plan to get one again when I get another car

Postby nervewrecker » February 25th, 2008, 10:50 am

i understand there is a riadio controlled on too (jus like the car alarm) it saved a friend of mine almera.

where can I get one?

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » February 27th, 2008, 6:50 am

^^^Thats a good Idea.

toyocorolla

Postby toyocorolla » March 4th, 2008, 2:41 pm

interesting, how does this work, can anyone explain in detail it's functions?

honda4life

Postby honda4life » June 11th, 2008, 11:45 pm

:bump:
how does it work exactly?

katastrophic

Postby katastrophic » June 12th, 2008, 9:55 am

honda4life wrote::bump:
how does it work exactly?

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » June 12th, 2008, 9:59 am

when you see d car cut off and you still in range and they come back for u! u done have car search! let dem take it, u go find back the car!

Postby Rory Phoulorie » June 12th, 2008, 12:37 pm

RA40-GTE wrote:i think its a great idea. I had one in one of my cars, very hidden away that can be activated with your foot. So if you're ever pulled from the car, set it one time without anyone knowing. Car will still go for about 2 mins, but after that it not moving..
I plan to get one again when I get another car

The one that came with my car is no longer working. It's the mechanical type, like that described in the quoted post above.

Does anyone know where I can get someone to see what is wrong with it, and, if need be, get it replaced?

quintessentiallyenigmatic

gas lock

Postby quintessentiallyenigmatic » June 12th, 2008, 1:22 pm

if you're going with car search don't bother with the gas lock
mine is an electrical gas lock....it sucks because if it's on the car won't start & if you activate it whilst engine running couple of seconds for the most remains idling

dmitc

Postby dmitc » June 12th, 2008, 1:54 pm

truth is most bandit know bout these sorts of things so like b18b_turbo, said yuh go get back the car so let them go with it.
and trust me car search does actually work

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » June 12th, 2008, 5:57 pm

Its a VERY GOOD IDEA. However, do it from an alarm point of view whereby is you are held up, your car taken away, its activated. I had this installed and works excellent. It was an electronic module that was connected directly to the pump and activbated fro your alarm unit. Car is killed about 1 mile down the road - giving you suficient time to "get out of it"

This is the way to go !

honda4life

Postby honda4life » June 13th, 2008, 12:27 am

^^ thanks booge.....
so if smeone tries to take yuh vehicle from u and u activate it...then it will not go very far...
it cuts off de gas from flowing into de engine basically?

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » June 13th, 2008, 7:32 am

b18b_turbo wrote:when you see d car cut off and you still in range and they come back for u! u done have car search! let dem take it, u go find back the car!

X2!

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » June 13th, 2008, 7:36 am

mine is an electrical gas lock....it sucks because if it's on the car won't start & if you activate it whilst engine running couple of seconds for the most remains idling

this is the one i know off!

However, do it from an alarm point of view whereby is you are held up, your car taken away, its activated. I had this installed and works excellent. It was an electronic module that was connected directly to the pump and activbated fro your alarm unit. Car is killed about 1 mile down the road - giving you suficient time to "get out of it"

didn't know bout this one! *it sounds reliable*

V2NR 3.0

gas lock

Postby V2NR 3.0 » June 13th, 2008, 9:26 am

honda4life wrote:^^ thanks booge.....
so if smeone tries to take yuh vehicle from u and u activate it...then it will not go very far...
it cuts off de gas from flowing into de engine basically?

THE SYNDICATE

<<< Guys, this system is the best. When i bought my car from the firm it came stock with a little noise maker prestige alarm. Now this is me thinking a 151k car being protected with a $700 alarm system?.

The next day i ripped out that alarm and sold it and installed the viper 791x series. Optimum security. Used to leave the keys in the car because to be quite frank - the car cannot be driven if bandits get into it. Them fellas hadda come with a wreck car to take it. The new owner of the car (it was sold) has also upgraded on that system...virtually impossible to steal. VIPER works

Anyway, what happens - the fuel cut module is installed and activated with the hand unit. Its an electrical cut off. Bandits would have to look for the module - ripping out the upholstery to disconnect and re-connect existing lines. Once activated the fuel pup stops and fuel in the gas line is burnt up. The car starts stuttering and cuts off. If the bandits decide to re-start, the car WONT because the command is given to cut it off. For it to restart the owner must deactivate it with the hand set.

Gentlemen, aside to this feature, the viper series is also well known for optimum security. ANY slightest hint of tampering - once sensors are installed the unit shuts down everything.

The key is to keep the alarm unit on you and not attached to the car keys. ! -

My next car will have the upgraded system to this.

Cant go wrong with this... :D

A bit pricy but worth your car

katastrophic

Postby katastrophic » June 13th, 2008, 1:15 pm

booge, so what if the battery on de alarm unit dies.. an de key in the car... an u have no spare battery.. how u gonna open the car.. is there a switch of some kind that is on the outside of the car that u can use to open the car... (a hidden switch of course)

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » June 13th, 2008, 1:50 pm

katastrophic wrote:booge, so what if the battery on de alarm unit dies.. an de key in the car... an u have no spare battery.. how u gonna open the car.. is there a switch of some kind that is on the outside of the car that u can use to open the car... (a hidden switch of course)

The unit has a batter level indicator. Therefore, you can monitor. In addition, once the battery has one "bar" left on the indicator, it starts chirping...and will chirp chirp chirp until you change the battery. It carries one small triple A battery. Just buy a 4-pak and keep in your car.

No such switch identified.

If battery dies you can use your normal car key and disarm the alarm by pressing a pre-set code which is identifiable by your system and pre-programmed.

civic SIR

Postby civic SIR » June 13th, 2008, 3:17 pm

VGI (Very good Idea) hondaman,the gas lock my car has will drive of for a few minutes if idling and if parked will not start or start and cut off so ya safe both ways. but ya still should install de car search :)

honda4life

Postby honda4life » June 14th, 2008, 1:21 am

^^ i'm a feuner :?

katastrophic

Postby katastrophic » June 14th, 2008, 4:27 pm

booge, thanks for clearing that up

:rofl: at civic SIR

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » June 16th, 2008, 7:02 am

Aye booge,where does this system?

Or is this part of a viper alarm?

*sry bout the noob ques.* :oops:

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » June 16th, 2008, 7:08 am

:rofl: at civic SIR

:lol: :oops: :lol:[quote][/quote]

D@rkChild

Postby D@rkChild » June 19th, 2008, 8:49 pm

anybody have a number for carsearch i looking for one and cant find it

portugeseking

Re: WTK - Gas lock in car

Postby portugeseking » March 27th, 2011, 1:54 pm

all dis gaslock talk and nobudy still ent say whey sellin it .. ah rell need 1 fellas hav ah almera dey jes park up cause i aint wa nobudy like it more dan me ..

V2NR 3.0

Re: WTK - Gas lock in car

Postby V2NR 3.0 » March 28th, 2011, 9:37 am

hondaman wrote:Tuners,
Want to know what are the disadvantages, if any, of installing a gas lock in my car.
It's got an alarm and car search will be installed next week but thinking of installing gas lock in event dem damn bandits look to rob you gunpoint at home.
Let me know what you guys think.

Okay first thing - do not come on a public forum and say what your security features are or intend to be. You never know if potential bandits could be on the internet.

Once you have car search installed - keep that knowledge to yourself. With that system, you need not need anything else.