Why does my steering shim while driving

bnrampage

Why does my steering shim while driving

Postby bnrampage » February 2nd, 2008, 9:49 pm

What can be causing my steering to shim while driving between 80 and 140km\hr ?

jeepers
Location: Still locating this location that when located it will appear as my location

Postby jeepers » February 2nd, 2008, 11:02 pm

well i think it can be bad shocks,suspension,rims,tyres,joints

Lean Wid IT

Postby Lean Wid IT » February 2nd, 2008, 11:45 pm

cud also be the steering column....so check that out to

nismown3d

Postby nismown3d » February 3rd, 2008, 12:06 am

it only does it between those speeds?

what happens if you go 150? lol

Postby buzz » February 3rd, 2008, 12:21 am

bent tires, wheel balancing........... go to an alignment centre do a check(front and back) shud not cost more than $30.00 they mite shed some light on d situation...

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » February 3rd, 2008, 10:31 am

could be the balance of the air in the tyres or if the rim have ah dish or if the steering rack giving trouble

bnrampage

Postby bnrampage » February 3rd, 2008, 10:37 am

Well at 150 and above or 80 and below no major vibration felt

MANIAC

Postby MANIAC » February 3rd, 2008, 11:37 am

jeepers wrote:well i think it can be bad shocks,suspension,rims,tyres,joints

Add Rotor Discs to that as well .... had that problem in my B13 which used to cause the shimming

Postby X_Factor » February 3rd, 2008, 11:42 am

3out of 3 times i had shimming in steering between the 80-120k's speed balancing the front tyres solved the problem and not everyone does a good job
i remembered i bought a pair of new tyres at a shop..they balanced them and i still got shimming...went by my alignment shop..they re-balanced them and it was perfect

Postby r3iXmann » February 3rd, 2008, 1:06 pm

X_Factor wrote:3out of 3 times i had shimming in steering between the 80-120k's speed balancing the front tyres solved the problem and not everyone does a good job
i remembered i bought a pair of new tyres at a shop..they balanced them and i still got shimming...went by my alignment shop..they re-balanced them and it was perfect

x2 ^

check ur tyre pressure as well

Postby X_Factor » February 3rd, 2008, 3:09 pm

what the guys told me is that the stick on weights ppl use, sometimes it may fall off and u'd never know and u thinking well the tyres balanced, so its probably another problem

Postby UML » February 3rd, 2008, 6:33 pm

cud be bad tyres, balancing, alignment

Postby *KRONIK* » February 3rd, 2008, 6:33 pm

strangley .........

add engine mounts to this!

if u have a bad mount on the cross member which supports the tranny

vibrations could arise when u release the X.

i doh bound to be this but check still!

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Re: Why does my steering shim while driving

Postby Big Z » February 3rd, 2008, 6:43 pm

bnrampage wrote:What can be causing my steering to shim while driving between 80 and 140km\hr ?

Speed balance yuh tires and doh worry bout nothing else until yuh do this.
Is not a bend tire cause yuh woulda notice it at all speeds.

Postby Hook » February 3rd, 2008, 7:49 pm

engine mounts is corect...can cause this, but it vibrates the whole front of the car, not just the steering...also, it's a constant vibration with little relation to speed (it actually gets worse the faster u go, but it's not predominant in a particular speed bracket)

bad cradle bushings can do this also, given the state of our roads..but once again, it vibrates the whole front of the car, not just the steering, and it's not predominant within a particular speed bracket

butnigZ is right..speed balance the front wheels first things first and see if the problem persists...if it does, then look into the other things

Postby joker » February 3rd, 2008, 9:06 pm

and axles could cause this too if they were cut and joined...
correct me if im wrong

Postby bushwakka » February 3rd, 2008, 9:09 pm

check it out on the ramp by the alignment centre, but as mentioned above, it can be a variety of reasons y

MANIAC

Postby MANIAC » February 4th, 2008, 10:45 am

bnrampage, from your location, you is a south man, I would recommend for you to go to Roops Wheel Alignment. He is located near to Gasparillo Junction. Very well known and does a great job, prices are excellent too !

Postby *KRONIK* » February 4th, 2008, 7:28 pm

bushwakka wrote:check it out on the ramp by the alignment centre, but as mentioned above, it can be a variety of reasons y

this shoulda be ur 1st option!

jeepers
Location: Still locating this location that when located it will appear as my location

Postby jeepers » February 4th, 2008, 8:19 pm

feedback?

fras

Postby fras » February 4th, 2008, 9:05 pm

MANIAC wrote:Add Rotor Discs to that as well

turbohead

Postby turbohead » February 5th, 2008, 8:42 pm

speed balance u tyres an u go be on like socks. if u get it whilst mashin brakes cut ur rotor discs

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » February 8th, 2008, 11:15 am

most likely you need to balance your wheels, while you are at it, check your tyres for eating away and align the wheels as well...

ryansouthman

Postby ryansouthman » February 11th, 2008, 8:34 am

buzz wrote:bent tires, wheel balancing........... go to an alignment centre do a check(front and back) shud not cost more than $30.00 they mite shed some light on d situation...

Best thing to do first, then start troubleshooting one at a time

ninjaboost

Postby ninjaboost » February 11th, 2008, 8:46 pm

If I were to put all the causes mentioned in this thread into a list of most probable causes... it'd be as follows

1. Wheel balancing
2. Warped rotors
3. Bad ball joints
4. other suspension parts
5. steering rack ends
6. other things mentioned like mounts etc.