Gas tank problems

twisha

Gas tank problems

Postby twisha » December 27th, 2007, 7:10 am

I am having some trouble whengoing to fill up gas. At first the gas would pitch out thje tank and the pump attandent would have to fill up by pumping the gas. Could anyone tell me where i can get this checked out or what could possibly be the problem. (fyi... i used the search feature but didn't come up with anything helpful)

Postby Hook » December 27th, 2007, 8:42 am

what kind of car?

some cars come with a kind of "strainer" in the refill opening (I guess to prevent vandalism and gas theft *shrugs*)

if, for whatever reason, this is partially blocked, the result may be what u're experiencing now

SUPERMAN2

Postby SUPERMAN2 » December 27th, 2007, 9:28 am

U KNOW IT HAVE A LITTLE OPENING WHEN U OPEN UR GAS TANK TO ALLOW THE AIR TO COME OUT CHECK TO SEE IF TO CLOG OR JUS TELL THEM TO RUN THE PUMP ON SLOW OR MEDIUM SPEED THEY USUALLY RUN IT FAST SO THAT TEND TO CAUSE THAT TO HAPPEN

trinish

Postby trinish » December 28th, 2007, 12:45 am

air from the tank is probably pushing it out back.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » December 28th, 2007, 2:01 am

i am very interested in this problem cos my last car, a P11 Primera Camino had the same exact problem. i checked all the tank breathers and the return line; all were OK. the only thing i did not check was to see if what Hook said is true

and SUPERMAN2, to run it on slow and take 15-20 mins to fill de tank when de gas station line back up all on de main road is ah recipe for cuss eh!

Postby *KRONIK* » December 28th, 2007, 3:29 pm

i think daz the air pushing back up! those pumps lock when the get a back pressure of fuel!
so if the air is preventing it from reaching down the gas would push back up!

this happens to my sometimes !

i duz open the tank and let the air pressure regulate a lil then fill up!

venum

Postby venum » December 28th, 2007, 4:29 pm

change the gas cap and see if it makes a difference

it prob has air buildup in there

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » December 28th, 2007, 6:45 pm

if the tank goes into a pressure there is a somewah breading hole or you can go by a machine shop and install a breeding hole

Ree

Postby Ree » December 28th, 2007, 8:35 pm

gas is not really just gasolene alone ....in trinidad the gasolene is a blended product ...they use alot of different compenents to make up the specifications.....like MTBE and Butanes ....yes BUTANES ...this as u all know or don't know is similar to cooking or LPG.....it stays in a liquid form only under pressure or at very low temperatures......hence the reason for the hiss or release of pressure when u open the tank cover......it's best to fill gas when it is cooler when rain falls, early or late in the day!!!!

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » December 29th, 2007, 1:59 am

but as i said in my last post, all breathers were checked; OK, return line from tank checked; OK. so whatever vapors were being generated could be vented off. it did not matter what time of day i filled the tank, always the same problem. probably there is a strainer in the neck of the fill line, but i need confirmation

Postby Hook » December 29th, 2007, 2:30 pm

some tanks also have a little flap on the inner end of the refill pipe...like a one way valve kinda flapper thingy
this is to prevent gas flowing back out through the refill pipe, in the event the car is tipped over to that side....improper operation of the flap can cause this as well

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » December 30th, 2007, 2:00 am

but Hook, ent the nozzle has to penetrate that flap thing before you can begin filling gas in the vehicle? i know what you are talking about, saw it on a SUV i rented in Orlando once. but the Primera does not have that

Postby ronsin1 » December 30th, 2007, 7:38 am

my car has the said flap and the nozzle will have to penetrate the flap to fill up
the filter is intresting though never knew it had one in at the top of the tank