wtk oil in radiator bottle

rishi_j

wtk oil in radiator bottle

Postby rishi_j » October 3rd, 2007, 5:11 am

what causing this? plenty oil mixing with the water in de rad bottle buh frm wat i notice no water in de engine VW Bora

Postby ronsin1 » October 3rd, 2007, 6:14 am

does it have oil in the radiator

Postby Rory Phoulorie » October 3rd, 2007, 7:49 am

Blown cylinder head gasket?

Cracked cylinder head (you said no water in the engine)?

Postby De Dragon » October 3rd, 2007, 8:35 am

I think you have a blown head gasket. Do a compression test.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » October 3rd, 2007, 8:38 am

check your dipstick and the bottom of your oil cap. If it's milkshake looking colour

then the gasket has blown...

Do the bottle test:

Get a bottle and fill it. Open radiator andput bottle upside down. Start car. See if it continually takes water for at least 1 min. especially after you switch it back off...

if it does, then the gasket is gone.

rev hard

Postby rev hard » October 3rd, 2007, 8:40 am

sounds like a blown cylinder head gasket....

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 3rd, 2007, 8:55 am

agree with my fellow 2nrs here.

classic symptom of a Blown head gasket.

get a compression test done.

Nyo1988

Postby Nyo1988 » October 3rd, 2007, 11:08 am

dread i have a polo d same thing happen to me. is not d gaskit or cylinder head.
It is the cooling system for the radiator that gone . to fix it the VW doh come use water only d special coolant it does be kinda red in colour
It would cost bout $4000.i.e. New coolant, labour, part to repalce and other small things included the man even clean my injectors for me. not d company. doh even think bout going there.pm me if you want more info

sufferrar

Postby sufferrar » October 3rd, 2007, 2:56 pm

I think is a blown gasket. Usually the oil pressure is much higher than the water pressure so you will find oil in the water and not water in the oil. Look under the radiator cap and look closely and see if there is oil there on the rubber seal.
I had a b13 and use to see oil in the radiator, for about 6 months or so it went on like that. then 1 month the radiator bottle had began to be black with oil . still went to work for about a month and then one day the radiator fan kept staying on and then i see oil in the radiator. never overheat or anything. the gasket gone , teh mechanic say the block crack-buy next engine- sell car.

stang

Postby stang » October 4th, 2007, 12:45 pm

ok, but what if you have the water from the radiator coming through the exhaust ..

when I start the car (b11) have a strong smell of coolant and white smoke coming from the muffler (don't think its oil)..after a minute and turning off the car, the engine makes a strange vacuum sound and find the water level has dropped in the radiator…

BTW there is no oil in the radiator or on the cap...and no water in the engine oil

Postby Rory Phoulorie » October 4th, 2007, 2:26 pm

Could it be that the cylinder head gasket is also blown, just somewhere between a water passage in the engine block and a cylinder??

Coolant is therefore just getting into the cylinder and being discharged through the exhaust system.

Somebody correct me if I am wrong.

sufferrar

Postby sufferrar » October 5th, 2007, 7:38 am

Usually when problems happen like this, in about a month time it will get worse and then you will discover what it really happening.

Postby crazybalhead » October 5th, 2007, 8:57 am

stang wrote:ok, but what if you have the water from the radiator coming through the exhaust ..

when I start the car (b11) have a strong smell of coolant and white smoke coming from the muffler (don't think its oil)..after a minute and turning off the car, the engine makes a strange vacuum sound and find the water level has dropped in the radiator…

BTW there is no oil in the radiator or on the cap...and no water in the engine oil

Definitely blown head gasket.

stang

Postby stang » October 9th, 2007, 9:48 am

took down the engine and the bloc has become porous in 2 areas around the 2nd and 3rd chambers.. the gasket didn’t show any failure...also the second cylinder showed no signs of carbon as water got into it and cleaned it to a shine...

gonna change rings and hopefully the bloc could be repaired...

theblitz

Postby theblitz » October 25th, 2007, 9:47 am

more than likely its a blown head gasket. cracked blocks and so on are not as common as the gasket failure. if the car overheat recently then daz wat cause the gasket to blow

Postby Hook » October 26th, 2007, 4:36 pm

aside from the most likely reason being a blown head gasket, it could also be a problem with the radiator itself...mixing of fluids due to a leak between the tranny fluid cooling lines and the water cooling lines..have seen this before

how's ur tranny fluid level, rishi_j?

rishi_j

Postby rishi_j » October 27th, 2007, 3:31 pm

arite the problem was an oil cooler de vw equipped with a oil cooler for the engine and an oil cooler for the transmission my problem was with the transmission oil cooler. Both oil and water pass through this lil device and it became porous inside. Twice we took out the oilcooler immerse it in water and pass bout 40Psi air pressure inside it and found no leaks. But we immerse it in hot water after and den pass 40psi again and find the leaks.

Oil cooler and oil changed cost about 4000$

theblitz

Postby theblitz » October 31st, 2007, 3:14 pm

Postby Maserati » October 31st, 2007, 4:08 pm

Oil cooler and oil changed cost about 4000$

:shock: :shock: :shock:

Langdon

Postby Langdon » November 2nd, 2007, 11:40 am

presha

Sheriff!
Location: Some Where Out There Shouting "All'uh Buy Zorce From Meh Na"

Postby Sheriff! » November 2nd, 2007, 5:27 pm

neal and massey bus price on u or wat block?

blackNshine

Postby blackNshine » November 2nd, 2007, 8:17 pm

hard luck dey pal