WTK : FIRE EXTINGUISHERS

^^!SPAWN!^^

WTK : FIRE EXTINGUISHERS

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » September 19th, 2007, 11:00 pm

My neighbour told me that I should remove my extinguisher from where it is (passenger side by the windscreen) because of possible explosion . Can anyone confirm this ? And give safety tips if possible ?

Postby De Dragon » September 21st, 2007, 8:29 am

So you needed TWO threads to ask this? :? :?

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » September 22nd, 2007, 8:39 am

TWO ? is only one i posted :shock:

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » September 22nd, 2007, 8:56 am

ask yuh neighbour if he serious :|

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » September 22nd, 2007, 8:58 am

Well he's a police so I kinda believe him , that's why I asking the Tuners here for advice ... :D

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » September 22nd, 2007, 9:04 am

well my opinion, Fire ext's supposed to put-out fires, not Start them :wink:

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » September 22nd, 2007, 9:11 am

So you needed TWO threads to ask this?

TWO ? is only one i posted

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=151255

:?

GoS

Postby GoS » September 22nd, 2007, 10:27 am

walks in thread lights fie and walks out

boom

Postby boom » September 22nd, 2007, 2:46 pm

^^!SPAWN!^^, yuh never hear police chewpid?

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » September 22nd, 2007, 10:52 pm

boom wrote:^^!SPAWN!^^, yuh never hear police chewpid?

:D :D :D

Postby De Dragon » September 22nd, 2007, 10:58 pm

Those extinguisher casings are designed for much higher pressures than what is displayed on the gauge(if so equipped).

boogy

Postby boogy » September 23rd, 2007, 9:18 am

neva heard that

rev hard

Postby rev hard » September 23rd, 2007, 9:26 am

:shock: ah doubt...

Postby De Dragon » September 23rd, 2007, 7:32 pm

What I mean is something really bad has to happen(Fire,defective valve) for them to explode.

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » September 23rd, 2007, 11:44 pm

spawn those things were specialy engineered to take high pressure and if some thing were to go wrong they installed a pressure valve that would open and release the pressure well thats on the god ones and some words of and anvice here
boom wrote:
^^!SPAWN!^^, yuh never hear police chewpid?

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » September 23rd, 2007, 11:56 pm

If the extinguisher is located on the pillar of the passenger side of the car ..... it is a safety hazard and not necessarily an explosion hazard . In case of an accident or impact ... it is possible that the extinguisher may be dislodged and seriously injure or worse kill your passenger!... i would advise that you located the extinguisher to a position where it would be safer eg. near the passenger side kick-panel.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » September 25th, 2007, 5:20 am

phreakazoid wrote:If the extinguisher is located on the pillar of the passenger side of the car ..... it is a safety hazard and not necessarily an explosion hazard . In case of an accident or impact ... it is possible that the extinguisher may be dislodged and seriously injure or worse kill your passenger!... i would advise that you located the extinguisher to a position where it would be safer eg. near the passenger side kick-panel.

Same as this dude said. I am a HSE professional and these fire extinguishers are designed for extreme temperatures. We have a couple 20 pounders on our plant in the direct process areas. The heat in a car when all the windows are rolled up is no comparison to what these things are designed for. If you want more information - do a search on NFPA standards.

However, the risk of it being on the side panel is greater in the event of an accident. It could act as a missle.

tizik 2nr

Postby tizik 2nr » September 25th, 2007, 11:15 am

good info here...

Postby Maserati » September 25th, 2007, 11:39 am

The heat in a car when all the windows are rolled up is no comparison to what these things are designed for

good point :idea: