What Would You Buy: Civic or Corolla

rolandk

What Would You Buy: Civic or Corolla

Postby rolandk » September 12th, 2007, 2:16 pm

OK folks,

I have a choice between a 2007 civic and a 2007 corolla.

The are the best two products IMO at the respective price range.

Corolla - fully loaded, sunroof, 1.8 VVTI - $180K

Civic - no sunroof, everything else that the corolla has, but 1.6 1-vtec - $172,500 with spoiler

(doh bother telling me about the civic 1.8L cause its >$180K and thats my limit).

For the owners out there, what have been your experiences. I going to test drive them tomorrow, so will post up my findings.

Also, what else could I look at within that price range? New vehicles only.

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » September 12th, 2007, 2:49 pm

Like yuh have some paper to spend! If you plan to modify the car later on - you could probably go with the Civic, cause you will more likely be able to get aftermarket parts for it. The Corolla will keep the value better than the Civic. But I eh go lie - them Corolla RUNNIN horse! 1.8 VVTi - yuh on. As for the ride - can't say for the Civic, but I rode my bro's 07 Corolla (1.8 Sport) in Miami - and it rides and pulls well. Always nice to have a sunroof too....lil extra 'bling' - especially if yuh cruising with a client on the side..... :lol: :lol:

Does the 1.6 Civic come with rear disc brakes? I am almost sure the Corolla does - so this would be something else to consider. When going fast you need the extra stopping power. :twisted:

rolandk

Postby rolandk » September 12th, 2007, 4:04 pm

^^ Not my paper I spending. Company car.

If was my money spending, I woulda get better value from a FU......same models for a fraction of the price..........LOL

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 12th, 2007, 4:26 pm

if ure gonna be doin some good amt of drivin corolla...
if its fully maintained by the company civic

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » September 12th, 2007, 8:00 pm

agree with aaron on dat

cjawahir

Postby cjawahir » September 12th, 2007, 9:01 pm

when you test drive the car you will know , I think you will go with the toyota.
the civic is fast but then again speed is not every thing.

cj

Postby equipped2ripp » September 12th, 2007, 10:02 pm

corolla...

the 1.8 is kinda rare.. also, resale might be better because when those civics start to come RORO, the resale value of the one from the showroom would go down... cause i know you might be buying it from the company to sell back.

but the civic does look better i find.

rolandk

Postby rolandk » September 12th, 2007, 10:13 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:if ure gonna be doin some good amt of drivin corolla...
if its fully maintained by the company civic

It will be company maintaned.

And I do about 5Km per day or less for work. :)

rolandk

Postby rolandk » September 12th, 2007, 10:16 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:corolla...

the 1.8 is kinda rare.. also, resale might be better because when those civics start to come RORO, the resale value of the one from the showroom would go down... cause i know you might be buying it from the company to sell back.

but the civic does look better i find.

Thats exactly what I'm thinking.

Also, I kinda lazy to go into town for a service. The convenience of having Toyota in Barataria is a big deal for me. :oops:

Will post some reviews of both tomorrow.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » September 17th, 2007, 12:55 am

COROLLA - All The Way ! ! ! !

Postby equipped2ripp » September 17th, 2007, 1:11 am

1.8 corolla ftw...

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » September 17th, 2007, 10:16 am

corolla

benko

Postby benko » September 17th, 2007, 11:03 am

linking the corolla but it seems everyone has one and the bandits all want one

xxSTAY TUNEDxx

Postby xxSTAY TUNEDxx » September 17th, 2007, 9:15 pm

I SAY THE COROLLA THEY HAVE ALLWAYS BEEN GREAT CARS....

rolandk

Postby rolandk » September 17th, 2007, 10:14 pm

OK,

I took one look at the interior of the corolla and got thrown off. It really ugly and old. Like a car from the 80's, especially the dash. I think Toyota could do better!!!! The only interior colour available was tan.....which i also don't like.

The civic a lot more responsive than I thought. The civic is my choice, based mainly on looks.

If I buy the corolla, I would get vex everytime i jump in an see the hideous interior!!

I drive a 99 ViRS civic which is 8 years old and a 07 grand vitara both manufacturers seem to have paid a lot more attention to the interior. My blood still boiling thinking about why such a good car would have such an ugly inside!!!!!!

Postby equipped2ripp » September 17th, 2007, 11:35 pm

yeah the only colour the 1.8 comes in, is beige...

somehow i feel you going for the civic

Silvafoxx

Postby Silvafoxx » September 18th, 2007, 10:39 am

Same here I dont like the interior of the corolla. Civic really nice ....I like the whole car...

Terran

Postby Terran » September 19th, 2007, 9:02 am

Man, get over the interior thing, nuh. If you can sit in it comfortably, SEE THE ROAD CLEARLY, and have the accessories you need, then don't compromise on the quality of the ride because of its interior colour. As you said, it's not your money spending, and Toyota is easier access than going into town. :wink:

Yes, I am a Toyota fan. I like the new Civic, but I ent budging from quality, performance and economy when it comes to something like this.

srnoth

Postby srnoth » September 20th, 2007, 5:59 pm

Have you considered the new '08 lancer? You should be able to get a nice 2.0L model for that price range (~180k). I've never actually driven one, but they're very comfortable to sit in, and lancers have always been excellent cars.

blackNshine

Postby blackNshine » September 20th, 2007, 11:37 pm

once u have to a lot of driving comfort and dependability should be most important.they are both good cars so on ur test drive see which one is most comforting to you.highly doubt u lookin to mod a company car.

rolandk

Postby rolandk » September 22nd, 2007, 1:40 am

OK,

I try to convince myself to by toyota, but just could not bare the thought of living with that absoltely hideous interior. I just could not stand it.

I going with d civic, seems like an allround superior car...........looks, exterior/interior and performance.

I will sacrifice resale value and driving into port of spain mostly cuz I can't stand the fugly interior.

Toyota need to come better than that.

srnoth

Postby srnoth » September 22nd, 2007, 2:05 am

rolandk wrote:OK,

I try to convince myself to by toyota, but just could not bare the thought of living with that absoltely hideous interior. I just could not stand it.

I going with d civic, seems like an allround superior car...........looks, exterior/interior and performance.

I will sacrifice resale value and driving into port of spain mostly cuz I can't stand the fugly interior.

Toyota need to come better than that.

Have you looked at the lancer? Has a great interior & exterior, and is certainly a competing car in your price range.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 22nd, 2007, 5:19 am

Roland..... I haven't seen anyone mention the new 08 corolla which is suppose to be out soon.... ask your Toyota sales rep about it. If you can wait, check that out.... but I'll admit, the Civic is a nice ride.....

boogy

Postby boogy » September 24th, 2007, 10:57 am

Corolla all d way!!

GoS

Postby GoS » September 24th, 2007, 1:49 pm

nissan alll the way dude

rev hard

Postby rev hard » September 24th, 2007, 7:02 pm

corolla, de boss!!

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 24th, 2007, 10:06 pm

Check this thread for the latest pics.....

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... highlight=

Sheriff!
Location: Some Where Out There Shouting "All'uh Buy Zorce From Meh Na"

Postby Sheriff! » September 26th, 2007, 6:21 pm

corolla dude dat 1.8 vvti comes in them celica so u on like corn!

srnoth

Postby srnoth » September 26th, 2007, 7:27 pm

2008 Lancer comes with a 2.0L mivec (mitsu vvti) engine. But like nobody taking me on in this thread :| .

white~nigg@

Postby white~nigg@ » September 27th, 2007, 12:53 pm

DO worry horse{srnoth} d lancer 08 z a bess ride ...buh d man z probly not a fan of dem.
i waitn on one my self,buh d gt model wit d 18's & shiit.sold my local ck4 lancer wit a mivec in it jus 2 geh updated.