night vision

tko

night vision

Postby tko » July 13th, 2007, 8:52 am

can anyone give advice , lastnight was real pressure going home, rain falling and it seems that all the on coming cars had on their high beams, what can i do to improve my night vision because it is very blinding when on coming cars headlights cover yours.

eitech

Postby eitech » July 13th, 2007, 8:58 am

i tink the rule is keep ur eyes to da left side of the road. or if you like me, geh dem bak fogs plus high beam coz like some ppl jus doh care

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » July 13th, 2007, 9:04 am

Make sure that your windscreen is clean - try using Rain X or Rain Clear , whatever it's called - improves night vision dramatically cause you don't get that HAZE on the glass which the approaching vehicle's lights show up.

Even if your wiper blades are good, that haze really can upset your vision into approaching traffic.

And adjust your a/c to keep the glass from fogging.

tko

Postby tko » July 13th, 2007, 12:33 pm

fuh real, thanks, my windscreen does appear a little hazy, also what should i do to improve my headlights i currently have 100/90 watts bulbs but the cheap kind, i heard someone said that you can bump that up with some sort of relay connection which involves wiring direct to the alternator and back to the battery or sumtin like that, does anyone know of such connection and how it is properly done?

please shed some light?

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » July 13th, 2007, 12:45 pm

Eitech's right - avoid looking directly at the oncoming lights, and use your peripheral vision to watch the road until the high beams pass.

Also, something most people neglect to clean is the INSIDE of the windscreen. They wash, polish, and rain-x the outside of the windscreen so it's spotless and water beads off like crazy, but the inside is still dirty and hazy like hell :roll: .

At nite, especially in rain, this haze on the inside reduces your visibility vastly. Take a clean chamois and pass it across the inside of your windscreen and chances are that it'll come off black :shock: .

This is because the interior of your car (vinyls, leather, plastics and rubber, etc) give off gases and vapors and this, coupled with dust that comes in through the windows and off fabrics, creates a haze on the inside of your windows.

Try cleaning the inside of all your car glasses and you'll almost always be guaranteed a crystal clear view out :wink: .

trinish

Postby trinish » July 13th, 2007, 1:05 pm

the rain x does work good. try that out. Just keep yuh eyes to the left of the road and wipe inside yuh glass

tko

Postby tko » July 13th, 2007, 2:00 pm

avoid looking directly at the oncoming lights, and use your peripheral vision to watch the road until the high beams pass

i know this, that is how i manage to get home every night but as far as my headlights are concern does anyone know how i can inprove my beam?

Postby cinco » July 13th, 2007, 7:18 pm

yuh hav 100/90 cheap blue tinted bulbs? them ting is the worst for night and rain driving because blue light gets lost easier than yellow light with the street lights.
other than cleanin the glass yuh might want to go to d optometrist eh
night blindness is a serious problem

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » July 13th, 2007, 8:08 pm

dredman1, good point. The inside of the glass is a real culprit wrt to hazing.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » July 13th, 2007, 11:26 pm

if i on a darkish road an cant see nun i slow down dramatically till they pass cuz iz cant even see the side of the road to kno if it have a bend or not

larafan

Postby larafan » July 14th, 2007, 8:57 am

buy de lexus SUV with the night vision strip pon de windsheild...

Postby X_Factor » July 14th, 2007, 3:49 pm

the worst is when u driving up toco about to go around a corner and yuh get high beam in yuh eye

Terran

Postby Terran » July 14th, 2007, 4:38 pm

Those 100/90W bulbs are poor at night, not to mention generating a lot of heat and can melt wires and scorch the headlamp interior. Ever wonder if your own headlights may be a factor why the on-coming drivers are driving with their high beams on? Those lights emit more glare to oncoming drivers, and naturally, their line of defence to put on high beams to try to better their own vision.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » July 14th, 2007, 7:21 pm

Also, consider that maybe your beams not aimed correctly? it might be something to consider. How do the beams line up against a wall ?

awesomeandre

Postby awesomeandre » July 14th, 2007, 8:25 pm

Rain X is really good, but how often do you all put on the screen.

Checking to see if you lights are aimed properly is a good way to start.

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » July 14th, 2007, 9:33 pm

Rain X is really good, but how often do you all put on the screen.

Yup it works wonders...
in the rainy season, like one every 2-3weeks

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » July 14th, 2007, 10:40 pm

this might sounds dumb but it works for my dad; he has a neon by the driver pedals so its not pitch black. That way when uncoming cars give him high beams he dont get as "dazzled" as he regularly would.

awesomeandre

Postby awesomeandre » July 15th, 2007, 12:10 am

^^ i tried that once and would you believe it worked

warriorking

Postby warriorking » July 17th, 2007, 8:41 am

^^^^ I have heard about this. Haven't tried it as yet though. Which part exactly doyou put the neon.

awesomeandre

Postby awesomeandre » July 17th, 2007, 10:01 am

i had it right above the pedals on the dash it self

slick

Postby slick » July 17th, 2007, 7:09 pm

The neon helps in keeping your eyes adjusted to the bright light so you are not "blinded" when someone driving an oncoming car hits you a high beam.
Good idea!

awesomeandre

Postby awesomeandre » July 17th, 2007, 8:40 pm

this is where i have mine

this is a pc neon light