Air condition blower...

larafan

Air condition blower...

Postby larafan » May 20th, 2007, 10:43 am

having a problem with mine...in a Y10 wingroad...

when i put on my AC...from speeds 1-3...u hear the compressor come on....but no breeze......then when i put it on 4....full blast...cold breeze like normal...just like how the 4th speed should work....

is there a relay or fuse i could check??....

fuses in fuse box all fine...

is jess laziness for me to go by the electrician to have him check it out....

just asking if its something simple i could do my self...

was thinking its probably a problem with the switch...but when u put it on 1-3 the compressor comes on...so...rules that out i guess...

Postby wagonrunner » May 20th, 2007, 10:54 am

larafan,
speeds 1 - 3 with A/C off. tap d blower. located behind, on d left of d glove box. if it inda works, while you tap it. change it. dirt cheap. like $50 in d bamboo. they will sell yuh wid housing, doh change housings. just one screw to remove each blower, and swap them.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 20th, 2007, 10:56 am

I had a similar problem (but different type of car) and I was only getting the lowest and third fan speed settings. It was the actual blower switch mechanism itself. My electrician advised me to get a new switch from the firm. I am not sure if the contacts can be repaired.

larafan

Postby larafan » May 20th, 2007, 11:08 am

wagonrunner,

tried that...nah work....

hrm....guess i'll have to try and go by electrician some time soon...

lol..not like i not getting AC atall...

but...would be nice to have some lower speeds....esp at night...

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » May 20th, 2007, 11:24 am

that soundin like the contacts in the Blower speed switch gone bad.....try to locate a new switch, or dunno if it can be repaired

larafan

Postby larafan » May 20th, 2007, 9:49 pm

that soundin like the contacts in the Blower speed switch gone bad

yeah das wha i was thinking

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » May 20th, 2007, 9:54 pm

or check in d Bamboooo, they have alot of scrap dashboards, u will sure get a switch that will work

Dave-ve

Postby Dave-ve » May 21st, 2007, 12:13 pm

the control card for the blower needs replacing. had this problem in a primera. if you look near the blower motor you should see a jack going into a thin slot in the ducting with two screws holding it in place. the resistors on this card usually burns out with use. you dont need to replace the entire blower, just the card.

dont interfere with the speed switch. you'll end up with more problems .

larafan

Postby larafan » May 21st, 2007, 1:54 pm

DE-VE,

is ah lil credit card sized thing???..with a jack on it??

ok..located it..took it out a while ago....and tried cleaning it up to see if that did anything...but no work..oh well...

tomorrow if there's any b14 or something i'll take it out and try it in my car and see if that works...

thanks in advance if that is the problem,...

Dave-ve

Postby Dave-ve » May 21st, 2007, 4:33 pm

yes, thats it. most nissans has the same card.

Rush

Postby Rush » May 28th, 2007, 1:14 am

u end up solving this problem?
did the b14 card wor?

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » May 28th, 2007, 10:21 am

Yeah... I had this same problem (with different make of car). What the A/C told me its a common problem with the age. You can change the control board, however the A/C guy just changed one or two items on the boad and it worked perfect. Didnt cost much either...

BTW if you're interested, my A/C guy was K Wilson on Wrightson Road

larafan

Postby larafan » May 28th, 2007, 7:33 pm

did the b14 card wor?

well...haven't gotten my hands on a b14 board yet....

took one out of a b15...but..that card shaped different all together....

larafan

Postby larafan » June 14th, 2007, 12:13 am

lil update on this....

it was the blower resistor...

as DE-VE said....thanks man....

finally got around to buying one today...

but....lol..now i'm only getting 1,2 and 4 to work...

tomorrow i'm going back to exchange the card and hopefully get one that will make all speeds work...

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » June 14th, 2007, 9:52 am

i can repair the card so anyone intrested :!: and i have new ones too

larafan

Postby larafan » June 14th, 2007, 5:26 pm

strueps...now yuh telling meh dat??

how much to repair..and how much for a new one?

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » June 14th, 2007, 8:53 pm

a new one is 150 - 200 i does charge $60

larafan

Postby larafan » June 14th, 2007, 9:17 pm

a new one is 150

das how much dem was selling me de used one for... :?

yuh real stick dey dread...

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » June 14th, 2007, 9:21 pm

not new well i mean a used one in d bamboo :lol:

larafan

Postby larafan » June 14th, 2007, 11:57 pm

Anil_Sooknanan,

or hor :!:

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » June 15th, 2007, 8:45 am

The resistor going bad seems to be a common thing... I have seen it happen with lots of makes and models of cars.

larafan

Postby larafan » June 15th, 2007, 9:15 pm

yeah..carried it back today..got another one...everything in order now... :D

thanks again DE-VE...

Dave-ve

Postby Dave-ve » June 15th, 2007, 9:44 pm

no problem man.

Postby pugboy » June 15th, 2007, 10:31 pm

anybody knows who can do take down the blower and clean the coils/evaporator in a quick job ?
most of the a/c places seem reluctant to do this because of the amount of work required.
I want to clean out any crud in mines and get as clean scent as possible

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » June 16th, 2007, 12:26 am

i can do it

Postby pugboy » June 16th, 2007, 11:55 am

where you located and how long you think it would take ?

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » June 16th, 2007, 11:20 pm

a 1 1/2 hr for the most depending on the type of car

Postby pugboy » June 17th, 2007, 1:24 pm

this will entail taking out the coils/evaporator to clean and reconnecting/gassing etc right ?

do i need to make an appointment ?

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » June 17th, 2007, 5:15 pm

give me a call and we will arrange some thing

Re: Air condition blower...

Postby redmanjp » April 9th, 2022, 1:14 pm

Bumping this.

I have a Y10 AD wagon with the same issue.

Speeds 1 to 3 are gone but 4 is working still so is either full blast or nothing. Although the compressor still turns on. Would it be the same control register to change?