Bypassing the speed limiter...170km max?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 10th, 2004, 9:48 pm

TriniGT wrote:I think due to laws in Japan all car have the speed limit set to 180KM, that's why the speedo only reaches 180Km. There is a guy I know that sells the HKs speed cut but his price is kinda steep, at about $1400 but it does the job.

Huh?
Only the slower cars (like the Civics) is hit 180 and stop :D
The rest of us have the 180km/h limit on ur guages, but we can make it to 200km/h :wink:

Postby Dave » January 12th, 2004, 7:43 am

Go straight to JWT. about $350Us i think.

try $595 and if u in a group well the price might be $550
remaps with a increase rev limit, speed limit removed and fuel maps in a certain ratio until who knows when. :lol:
As i said before, removing is one but if the ecu cannot map air to fuel you are not gonna get past a certain speed anyway.

trincivic

Postby trincivic » January 19th, 2004, 9:36 pm

Disconnecting the speed sensor will eliminate the vtec from coming in at set rpm: :oops: VTEC engagement dependent on rpm, speed, temperature and oil pressure. APEXI v-afc 1 eliminates top speed :?: Best/cheapest way would be e-bay chip for ECU

Sully

Postby Sully » January 19th, 2004, 10:35 pm

Did anyone find out if the Apex'i Rev/Speed meter also bypasses the speed limiter?

ninjaboost

Postby ninjaboost » January 20th, 2004, 8:32 am

I just have one question, now allyuh doh geh meh wrong eh, but WTF yuh want to go faster dan 180km for? Unless you doin more than dat on the 1/4 mile I doh see the point. Trinidad roads too crowded, short and bumpy.

Das just my 2c on this topic, allyuh take it easy. :D

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » January 20th, 2004, 9:04 am

THats an excellent point ninjaboost..... taking your car too 200km/h plus on the road not goin to get you any faster. Our roads to fleck up in so many ways to be bussin dem kinda numbers

Sully

Postby Sully » January 20th, 2004, 9:46 am

2NR §murf wrote:Why alyuh want to go so fast for!?!?!

But with my civic it tops out @ 160k :oops: :oops: , with the Auto trans. in D4, if i drop it into D3, it begins to pass the 160 mark.... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: not sure how much faster it goes after that...not sure i want to go that fast :? :?

DBigBadSmurf, It's like when you buy a computer that says it's a 2.0GHz processor, and when you get home it only lets you use 1.3GHz. Even if you're not maxing out the processor you'd still like to know that you can if you want to.

The same applies with my car. I know my car can go past 180, so why limit me to 180. I may not drive over 180, but don't prevent me from doing it if I so choose.

Clerique

Postby Clerique » January 20th, 2004, 9:50 am

Tanka lang kang! Allyuh does be speedin on public roads! Ah go tell! :D

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » January 20th, 2004, 8:22 pm

*I just have one question, now allyuh doh geh meh wrong eh, but WTF yuh want to go faster dan 180km for? Unless you doin more than dat on the 1/4 mile I doh see the point. Trinidad roads too crowded, short and bumpy. *

i suspect strongly that u havent had a lil run in with fella who think he cud ride yuh ass home at 2:30 in da morning cuz yuh car lookin 'sportish'...

if meh baby cud make frickin 200+....is frickin den she will make it...is only dust in dey face!!!

ALSO...if yuh TRYIN to catch dave...yuh better be able to go faster than 180 pardner...tha come like cruisin speed...wha yuh say dave??
:mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Postby Dave » January 21st, 2004, 7:41 am

ALSO...if yuh TRYIN to catch dave...yuh better be able to go faster than 180 pardner...tha come like cruisin speed...wha yuh say dave??

lol :mrgreen: , that was needle bouncing scenes with a local ss dash and tach still going
As I was saying, u removing the speed cut but if the ecu doesn't have a map for speeds in excess of the limit then you are not going to get much more on top

Sully

Postby Sully » January 21st, 2004, 9:33 am

Are you certain that there are mo maps above the 180 mark? Or are the maps there, but a speed cut prevents you from actually using them?

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » January 21st, 2004, 9:51 am

Isn't it mapped out according To RPM and not km/h?

so it would be the same map in every gear?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 21st, 2004, 10:37 am

ninjaboost wrote:I just have one question, now allyuh doh geh meh wrong eh, but WTF yuh want to go faster dan 180km for? Unless you doin more than dat on the 1/4 mile I doh see the point. Trinidad roads too crowded, short and bumpy.

Das just my 2c on this topic, allyuh take it easy. :D

Ninjaboost (i like that name. heh heh),
I shoot up to 200km/h very fast and I have all this road to drive on. So I won't mind carrying meh car to the theorical 240km/h... supposedly when I run out of tach.

g20freak

Postby g20freak » January 21st, 2004, 11:35 am

anyone have the number for Sheldon?

ninjaboost

Postby ninjaboost » January 21st, 2004, 11:55 am

i suspect strongly that u havent had a lil run in with fella who think he cud ride yuh arse home at 2:30 in da morning cuz yuh car lookin 'sportish'...

if meh baby cud make frickin 200+....is frickin den she will make it...is only dust in dey face!!!

I hear you bredda. Well to take off the speed limiter in my car is just to cut a wire from the ECU but the check engine light does come on. A padna in England say he bought a SLD and that wukin good on he ride.

So I know what to do when I ready to catch Dave.....doh worry!! :twisted:

trincivic

Postby trincivic » January 21st, 2004, 12:52 pm

I presently have a APEXI a-afc installed and my top speed limit is 120mph (civic). I have read the manuals and there is nothing about top speed limit removal (only rpm v-tec setting, air-fuel mapping) there are other manufacturers of fuel controllers that remove t.s.l.

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » January 21st, 2004, 11:00 pm

but honestly...ah cud understand ninja boost point to some extent...

i prefer a sprinter sort of arrangement any day over a car with less power in between shifts with a higher top end...

check the EVO 7..stock..its limited to 190kmph..anybody (OK..ALMOST) anybody ever RUN PAST ONE yet? and say..i have higher top end?...please!!

by the time u really THINK about catchin up...EVEN with traffic conditions...tha E7 in between lanes and sprintin up de road...AND with the amount of cars on de road...if yuh driving anytime before 11pm and after 5am...it really eh likely u would reach over 200 by much...

my max after 4pm on de way home from south is 190 or so...and tha is only for a lil 100m stretch tha kinda free....but is REL traffic dread :roll:

so tuners...mitsu exec wah ah sprinter...so yuh might be able to run out to 230-240...ah go give yuh dat...but pray and doh meet meh by ah traffic lights OR ANYWHERE it have traffic or OBSTACLES in de road (corners, dead dogs, people..etc) :mrgreen:

Postby Dave » January 22nd, 2004, 7:40 am

So I know what to do when I ready to catch Dave.....doh worry!!

u will have to come better than that :wink: 8)

g20freak

Postby g20freak » January 22nd, 2004, 8:02 am

that dude really belives in his car. Well buddy I say keep the dream alive 8) :mrgreen:

Postby Dave » January 22nd, 2004, 8:14 am

that dude really belives in his car.

no i believe in the hmmmm, nah never mind :mrgreen:

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 22nd, 2004, 8:37 am

Mitsu_Exec wrote:check the EVO 7..stock..its limited to 190kmph..anybody (OK..ALMOST) anybody ever RUN PAST ONE yet? and say..i have higher top end?...please!!

I fraid the Evo7 :P

But lets take the older Evos... 6 thru 4... it does not feel too nice to have a little car on your ass, keeping up but somewhere at 190km/h she sails past you. All you can do is try not to notice ur g/f starting at u in wonder and look at that little car leave your @ss. It's quite a pyshological blow on the road, isn't it?

How would YOU feel if a 'smaller' car passes your sweet Evo and disappears? Would you say "but I have a faster pull-off" ?... please !! :P :wink:
Last edited by Strauss on January 23rd, 2004, 2:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

Sully

Postby Sully » January 22nd, 2004, 9:22 am

Ignorance is bliss. Let the man live in his bliss. :)

g20freak

Postby g20freak » January 22nd, 2004, 10:03 am

well said ole chap well said

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » March 29th, 2004, 4:01 pm

so i gots myself a little ole 97 local exi. 182km PER hour :lol:

tach does read 4200 rpm. i know me chip holding me back. what be the cheapest way to get rid of it and not damage me engine

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » March 29th, 2004, 4:04 pm

get a new chip and
HOLY 2 month old post!!! :shock:

Postby Dave » March 29th, 2004, 4:08 pm

HOLY 2 month old post!!!

ent boy jim :lol: , just read the info here Madcrix and once the in and out of the engine is free then the engine will be able to reach a higher top speed quicker and probably a little more also.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » March 29th, 2004, 4:13 pm

ok fine i know it old :D but oh gorm!!! i bored here in work ok 8)

Z Tourer vtec

Postby Z Tourer vtec » March 29th, 2004, 4:44 pm

doh study it breds...i know yuh troubles and I feel yuh pain....I post this thread how much ever mths ago and still don't have the answer :cry:

(Slow Anonomous Class)

HI EVERYBODY "my name is sir civic and I can only do 180km" , I'm automatic and N/A..,.with no mods...

I wish that my addition with being boosted will go away, but it keeps haunting me...can anyone help me.....even get rid of the speed cut :mrgreen:

ZORT

Postby ZORT » March 29th, 2004, 4:52 pm

Field's vtec controller. Will do the job. But i thought we discussed this before. Here what in most of the fields the fuel setting go bad and people just use them for the speed cut, vtec engagement changing so see if you can pick up used one at a reasonalble price seeing that the fuel part is not working.

zort

Clerique

Postby Clerique » March 29th, 2004, 9:29 pm

MadCrix, as dave say, improve breathing and you might be a bit happier.

I can testify! :wink: