WTK : A rough change/jerk from first to second, 1996 B14

GoodDude

WTK : A rough change/jerk from first to second, 1996 B14

Postby GoodDude » April 27th, 2007, 1:07 pm

Like in traffic jams, I get this jerk when the first gear changes, but all the othe gear changes are OK. It's a RORO B14.
Last edited by GoodDude on April 27th, 2007, 1:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby wagonrunner » April 27th, 2007, 1:13 pm

what's the tranny fluid level, and color?
what does it smell like?

GoodDude

Postby GoodDude » April 27th, 2007, 1:18 pm

I didn't smell it, it's goldish in color, to be honest I never changed it and the level is always OK

Postby wagonrunner » April 27th, 2007, 1:34 pm

goldish?? brown??

fresh fluid is almost red.
perhaps a change of fluid, but chances are something is already burnt / burning.

change fluid, Masterserv does a fairly thorough vacuum & replace of tranny fluid.
monitor how it drives, and color.
if it darkens quickly, may have some more serious issue.

GoodDude

Postby GoodDude » April 27th, 2007, 1:40 pm

Could I use NP Supermatic...? I getting at dealer price.

Postby wagonrunner » April 27th, 2007, 1:45 pm

yup

Doom

Postby Doom » April 27th, 2007, 1:48 pm

^^one of the best to use

GoodDude

Postby GoodDude » April 27th, 2007, 1:51 pm

Thanks dudes, actually at first I taught the jerk was from a bad engine mount.
How many litres I need to buy?

turbo master

Postby turbo master » April 27th, 2007, 1:51 pm

i get the same..i think its tranny probs though..
sometimes i get the kick..also get sm tyres too...lol
but the tranny fluid is fine..

Doom

Postby Doom » April 27th, 2007, 2:13 pm

the kick is a damaged spring and thus fluid when accelerating does not move as quick and would ultimately lead to the trannys demise cause of improper lubrication
this is not the case unless some sort of shift/reprogram kit was installed

turbo master

Postby turbo master » April 27th, 2007, 2:42 pm

hmm cool scene doom..any further info on the spring itself?

Doom

Postby Doom » April 27th, 2007, 2:56 pm

it breaks and does not allow the piston inside it to flow fluid thus causing the low fluid pressure resulting in damamged clutches, bands, etc
the shorter the spring, the quicker and harsher the change but bad flow if not made to work properly
dave went though lenghts with this tranny issue

Doom

Postby Doom » April 27th, 2007, 2:58 pm

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » April 27th, 2007, 9:47 pm

sometimes i drive my aunt 14 and it does the same........jerk from 1 - 2...

sometimes it change from 1 straight to 3rd :?

and all the gears take long to change.....
what could be causing these?

the fluid was changed abt 6mnths now(mobile1) and the converter seal was also changed...

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » April 28th, 2007, 12:01 am

boy i see that happen to a lot of b14 even the fluid new or old but d piont is it still woking :fadein:

Pinkcorolla

Postby Pinkcorolla » April 29th, 2007, 4:00 am

check your transmission mounts. or let ur mechanic check it for you, i changed my mounts the other day cuz i was gettin jerks when the gears change and it was my transmission mounts which we bad.

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » April 29th, 2007, 11:07 am

^^heard this also

Postby X_Factor » April 29th, 2007, 11:32 am

CAS in chaguanas does the complete flush...it uses 10quarts of oil..it costs around 700 using ATF+3 tranny oil...but they stopped that and using +4 now which is more costly

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » April 29th, 2007, 8:55 pm

^^ will this stop the rough shifting?

Postby X2 » April 29th, 2007, 10:49 pm

good thread.

Doom

Postby Doom » April 30th, 2007, 7:34 am

like allyuh eh read the link, rough shifting is not the cause of tranny fluid is because of the acc spring, sheesh

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » April 30th, 2007, 10:31 am

any1 knows who is good @ repairing these things :?:

Civilian

Postby Civilian » May 2nd, 2007, 1:53 am

same ting happens in mines... dunno y...

Doom

Postby Doom » May 2nd, 2007, 7:54 am

most tranny fix men would sort it out
read the link in previous page and u will see why it is happening

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » May 2nd, 2007, 7:40 pm

ok to be specific seeing that u never changed the transmission fluid CHANGE IT NOW its very cheap. matter of fact if the recommended fluid for ur car is dexron III i have 2 quarts of castrol sitting here just cause im paranoid and always over prepared i'd be happy to part with them for a small fee.
2nd thing to do is put the car up on a ramp and have a knowledgeable mechanic inspect the mounts. if you have a quack look at them you'll defeat the purpose of the exercise since a compressed mount is harder to detect than a busted one but almost just as problematic.
last but not least take the two front wheels off AND TIGHTEN THE AXLES. You may be shocked to note that this can also cause the problem you're having and it costs zero to fix it. all u need is a power handle and possibly a 30mm socket.

if these steps avail nothing then clearly its your tranny that’s on the bum but at least you'll be happy to dish out the cash now instead of attacking a broken spring problem that will render your car useless for several days only to find out it was something else that would have been alot faster and cheaper to fix.