super white light bulb review thread

Keptis

super white light bulb review thread

Postby Keptis » March 27th, 2007, 11:55 am

I got a toyota corolla fielder wagon. Can this superwhite bulb work as my headlight bulb without any problems. the superlight bulb is in 60 watts and you can also get it in 100 watts.

thks
what are your experiences with this bulb tuner who have it?

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » March 27th, 2007, 12:21 pm

u go see trouble seeing at nite..buh u wud get acustomed to it

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 27th, 2007, 12:45 pm

some people say it is more difficult to see in the night/in rain etc.

then again some people say it helps.

but a word of advice, if you want to run 100W bulbs, make sure to upgrade the harness, and the wiring and also to run them off a relay.

Postby Hook » March 27th, 2007, 1:12 pm

search this forum, there's articles on tinted bulbs, super white, hyper white, untinted bulbs and HID systems...most are exerpts from Daniel Stern's website so u can get it from the horse's mouth on there too

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » March 27th, 2007, 2:29 pm

it helps in complete darkness..but in the rain when the roads are wet an there is a reflection from other lights u dont see ya light beams on the road..an also bcuz the lights are white if u pass under a street lamp which lights are kinda yellow or orange u wont see ur headlight beam

Scoop

Postby Scoop » March 27th, 2007, 2:50 pm

they work well for me

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » March 27th, 2007, 4:09 pm

I get good result from normal 100 watt halogen lamps. you will get trouble to see when it rains at night. Plus I find it blinds the oncoming motorists. You will get better results from sylvania silverstars imo.

Postby tr1ad » March 27th, 2007, 4:22 pm

^^the sylvania are the best!
day night rain dey wukkin

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » March 27th, 2007, 4:30 pm

^^^ ENT ?

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » March 27th, 2007, 4:33 pm

how much the sylvania silverstars go for?

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » March 27th, 2007, 4:47 pm

Check Sheriff's on Cipero Street. I think they had some. Is about $300+ a pair.I could be wrong.

larafan

Postby larafan » March 27th, 2007, 4:48 pm

my experience with these 100 watt bulbs is that they melted my socket..... :?

also heard that if u doh put in relays and thing they burn out yuh switches....

*shrugs*

venum

Postby venum » March 27th, 2007, 8:06 pm

pimptacular wrote:it helps in complete darkness..but in the rain when the roads are wet an there is a reflection from other lights u dont see ya light beams on the road..an also bcuz the lights are white if u pass under a street lamp which lights are kinda yellow or orange u wont see ur headlight beam

I have had this experience with H4 Silverstars (55W)

tr1ad wrote: ^^the sylvania are the best!
day n

I would have to disagree based on my statement above

the real stuff is PIAA

Rudman has some of those on his car and boy do they work

nutting compared to the Silverstars - we did a side-by-side test

nuttin

Postby equipped2ripp » March 27th, 2007, 8:22 pm

silverstars overrated in my opinion... but they still better than those cheaper super white/xenon bulbs

awesomeandre

Postby awesomeandre » March 27th, 2007, 8:32 pm

what about the 100W yellow bulbs (Normal ones that cars come with) are they any good

is like $ 25 for one

douglaking

Postby douglaking » March 27th, 2007, 8:51 pm

larafan wrote:my experience with these 100 watt bulbs is that they melted my socket..... :?

also heard that if u doh put in relays and thing they burn out yuh switches....

*shrugs*

same shizz for me....

and that thing with the rain i experienced it tonight and that's some BS i kept going in stupid pot holes....

superwhite's the shizz though :D

Postby equipped2ripp » March 27th, 2007, 9:14 pm

awesomeandre, those are just like stock headlight bulbs

they work good... it's halogen.

they look outdated :lol:

don't you find?

awesomeandre

Postby awesomeandre » March 27th, 2007, 9:20 pm

^^^ yeah man dats is true at once i was sooo close to putting them in my pops ride but lucky thing i didnt.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » March 28th, 2007, 2:14 am

okay so venum wah is de bess kinda bulb to put in uh mitsu...i lookin to upgrade some new lights also cause those normla $25 100W nah really tha gud...so recommend me in the path of bess when its comes 2 seeing in the night and in rain...i reall hate 2 drive when rain fallin in de night..stueps i does catch meh arse 2 see

krack korn

Postby krack korn » March 28th, 2007, 4:56 am

so recommend me in the path of bess when its comes 2 seeing in the night and in rain...i reall hate 2 drive when rain fallin in de night..stueps i does catch meh arse 2 see

First and foremost JJ make certain these things are in order: (this is just what I thought of at the time feel free to add)

Is the inside of your wind screen clean or smudged with amorall, fingerprints, bamcee prints, footprints etc?

Is ur car airconditioned, does the windscreen fog up?

Do u need glasses? Don't laugh astigmatism will fook u up bad in low light.

Are ur headlight lenses and reflectors clear/clean and in good order?

Are your headlights properly aligned? Are they mounted securely or shake like a latrine in a huricane?

Is your car loaded or unloaded a lot? Do u have a coffin in the trunk made of 3/4 MDF with 200lbs of speakers? Have u changed springs or lowered the car or altered the stance of the vehicle in any way? Tyre pressure, different size or brands of tyres as well.

All these factors affect ur being able to see on the road, regardless if it raining or not.

The last 2 in particular, how may times u see people shining bright lights in your eyes or up in the trees (manicou lights)? The result they can't see and u can't see either, when u passing them yuh coiled waiting for impact and praying.

How many people have made small touch and have failed to realign their lights?

How many people drop (or raise) their cars and don't realise they have changed the distance their beam will focus at on the road.

Who driving Left Hand Drive vehicles and don't realise their beams are set from factory to shine predominantly to the right, just like RHD is offset to the left. Of course the jackass dem called licencing officers ent know that either so everybody driving happy on the road but they worried about 'unauthorised lights' and tint, like if pink parklight bulbs does cause accident.

Fog lights if properly aligned will help u to see better in heavy rain. Also the bulb should produce yellow light as opposed to white, blue etc. Just because of the way the light is dispersed by the rain drops and the resultant glare that is produced.
Last edited by krack korn on March 29th, 2007, 1:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » March 28th, 2007, 5:45 am

^^well krack korn...nside my glass clean, i doh need glasses and my air condition real cold....and the windscreen doesnt fog up...i jus want a better bulb cause i fine the normal ones real lame..thaz all , i doh wanna hadda focus 2 hard jus 2 see where i going.i wud prefer to put less strain on my eyes..

krack korn

Postby krack korn » March 28th, 2007, 6:06 am

and the rest of stuff? don't u have a swap engine with a different weight from the original? The stance of your car has been altered. More than likely ur headlights are focussing closer to the vehicle so u won't see as far ahead as u should.

Have u had your eyes tested? Specifically for astigmatism? People only know they needed glasses after they got them and realised how much better they see. Trust me on that, it's not one person that has improved their vision wih glasses and the benifits are most noticable at night and other low light contitions.

check if your headlights are properly aligned. All the inspection staions should have the setup for it.

I am not saying u shouldn't put in better bulbs, I am just saying get the light shining where u want it first and not in other people eye or at the blimp.

Also u should use the right colour of bulb, some people will find they see better wih yellow light and some with white. Choose what is best for u and not on anybody's say so..

Postby Dave » March 28th, 2007, 8:10 am

and the issues highlighted by krack korn are usually the cases and ppl feel they need brighter lights
tyres sizes throw off the aim of your lights, as simple as that

silverstars are ok, sylvania has a line better than the silverstars which is supposed to be better
i run PIAA's and comapring to regular silverstars, there is no comparision but check paying $35us for a pair of silverstars vs $80us for the piaa's i run, obviously they have have to be much better

Terran

Postby Terran » March 28th, 2007, 8:49 am

Dave, those PIAAs... are they normal H4 bulbs? What wattage are yours? Can you explain further what benefit you have derived from them?

I upgraded my harness when I decided to use 100W bulbs and the damned things still blew within the usual time they would without a harness upgrade. So, I condemned them and have used nothing but bulbs bought straight from Toyota. No problems, and they have always lasted 3-4 times longer than any other after-market brand.

Postby Hook » March 28th, 2007, 10:11 am

iite folks, since we can't seem to use this Image

I'm posting a link to this
Silverstar review

and this
Headlamp aiming

and this
H.I.D. info

and MOST importantly...THIS
all about bulbs

Postby equipped2ripp » March 28th, 2007, 11:00 am

Hook, thank you..

i was waiting for somebody to do that

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » March 28th, 2007, 1:08 pm

Good going Hook :twisted: .

Postby Dave » March 28th, 2007, 1:38 pm

the piaa's are regular h4's
burns at 60/55w but output is 135/120w
5000k is the lumens
its not a blue bulb, has a purple tint on low beam and white on high
as for use, u can see in rain very well
the light is really clean on the ground, u can see all
i was running a lower end bulb b4 also with a light purple tint and those were excellent too
piaa's had the name and got at a good price so i bought
my lights are mistaken for HID's cause of the hint of purple
i have also used silverstars and they also work well but i guess i expected more from them but a good bulb neverhteless

Terran

Postby Terran » March 28th, 2007, 1:43 pm

Dave wrote:the piaa's are regular h4's
burns at 60/55w but output is 135/120w
5000k is the lumens
its not a blue bulb, has a purple tint on low beam and white on high
as for use, u can see in rain very well
the light is really clean on the ground, u can see all
i was running a lower end bulb b4 also with a light purple tint and those were excellent too
piaa's had the name and got at a good price so i bought
my lights are mistaken for HID's cause of the hint of purple
i have also used silverstars and they also work well but i guess i expected more from them but a good bulb neverhteless

Thanks, Dave. And thanks, Hook.

Dave, can you say if any wiring upgrade is necessary or would the standard current and wiring work as for any 60/55 bulb?

Postby Dave » March 28th, 2007, 2:13 pm

standard works great
i just replaced the sockets with a heavier wire/plastic housing one
when i clean my lenses, would post some pics for all to see