Almera burnin real gas.........

shotta 20

Almera burnin real gas.........

Postby shotta 20 » March 26th, 2007, 4:16 pm

Could someone tell me WHY my N16 Almera could be burning excessive gas ? Or is it that ALL almeras burn alot of gas ?

r_4sr

Postby r_4sr » March 26th, 2007, 8:59 pm

when last u tune up? ..try doin a full tune up...plugs,filters,oils and service your injectors! Also u can check 2 see if there are any leaks in your exhaust system...

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » March 26th, 2007, 9:02 pm

if yuh need de fsm fuh de n16 pm meh cheap cheap cd based

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » March 27th, 2007, 12:49 am

as r4sr said to add with it check your O2 sensor you can do it yourself using a mulitimeter to see if it's burning rich you can also check your spark plugs to give you an idea if it's burning rich also smell the exhause for gas

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 27th, 2007, 12:58 am

qg16de ??

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 27th, 2007, 3:50 am

well if its local u wont have a o2 sensor...lol...

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » March 27th, 2007, 6:23 am

^^how come??

Postby Dave » March 27th, 2007, 8:09 am

o2 or air flow
pull the plugs and see what they saw
the local qg16's normally burn alot of gas

E@rthSh@ker

Postby E@rthSh@ker » March 27th, 2007, 10:40 am

ah full tune up should do it

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » March 27th, 2007, 12:17 pm

have to be air flow it eh have it must have a O2 sensor yuh mad boy

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 27th, 2007, 3:40 pm

go look at a local almera an tel me if u see one...

an we can even put some money on it...i dindt believe it either until dave told me...

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » March 27th, 2007, 4:14 pm

As the Swami said check your air flow. If the engine not getting enough air it will burn more fuel as a result. You should also check to see if the timing is off.

krack korn

Postby krack korn » March 28th, 2007, 6:45 am

^how u adjusting timing on a QG?

Postby Dave » March 28th, 2007, 8:05 am

all local GA and QQ engines have no O2 sensor, I have both
some Aaron, i putting all, lol

Scoop

Postby Scoop » March 28th, 2007, 8:29 am

^how u adjusting timing on a QG?

Postby Dave » March 28th, 2007, 8:33 am

presets by ECU

Terran

Re: Almera burnin real gas.........

Postby Terran » March 28th, 2007, 8:37 am

shotta 20 wrote:Could someone tell me WHY my N16 Almera could be burning excessive gas ? Or is it that ALL almeras burn alot of gas ?

What exactly do you consider excessive? What's your mpg like?

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 28th, 2007, 2:32 pm

i gettin am...bout 400km on 33 litres of gas....

Terran

Postby Terran » March 28th, 2007, 3:31 pm

... which I think is quite good... that's about 28mpg... in comparison to my old Toyota 2E which gave me 17-21 mpg and my 4AGE which gives me 22-24 mpg.

Polydor

Postby Polydor » March 28th, 2007, 3:46 pm

Do you run super or premium :?:

If super try the premium and you WILL see a difference in both performance and gas mileage.

Terran

Postby Terran » March 29th, 2007, 10:14 am

Years ago, I tried switching to Premium on my 2E and the beyotch burned more gas and lost power.

On the 4AGE, same thing. But, I maintain Premium because it pings with Super.

Scoop

Postby Scoop » March 29th, 2007, 10:15 am

do a full service

Grind

Postby Grind » April 9th, 2007, 10:47 am

Personally, your milage is good but you have to specify if this is more city or highway driving or what is the percentage mix. If this is mostly city, your milage is not good... it's excellent!

Ever did a compression test?

krack korn

Postby krack korn » April 9th, 2007, 12:04 pm

Terran, years ago super had lead, tetraethyl lead is one of the best octane enhancers around, today super doesn't have this and so the octane is a lot lower than it used to be.

I don't have the figures but I would bet that 'years ago' super was higher octane than the premium of the day. A lot of ppl reported better performance with leaded super, plus u had them nice colours on ur exhaust when the engine running good.

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » April 9th, 2007, 2:04 pm

plus u had them nice colours on ur exhaust when the engine running good.

we still get those nice Colours wit d super now...but less performance :|

krack korn

Postby krack korn » April 10th, 2007, 2:11 am

what colours u getting with the super now?

If u getting colours then it means that the gas still has lead.

The colours were formed by deposition of oxides of lead.

Running super I only seeing black and rust (no soot) and before u say the car ent working good that is with 500Km to the tank in a B15 before the fuel light come on and I don't fill up the neck, click off and round up to nearest dollar. 75% Hwy and 25%trafffic. Vehicle has +100,000K.

Virgo2916620

Re: Almera burnin real gas.........

Postby Virgo2916620 » August 18th, 2020, 7:22 pm

shotta 20 wrote:Could someone tell me WHY my N16 Almera could be burning excessive gas ? Or is it that ALL almeras burn alot of gas ?

I have a local almera n16 and I’m getting the same problem I feel you have to change the brain harness and the manifold to the one use the o2 sensor