Chaging the fuel filter in a NZE or any of the ZZs

wagonX

Chaging the fuel filter in a NZE or any of the ZZs

Postby wagonX » December 4th, 2006, 4:05 pm

Nope, its not a DIY, just want to know who has done it and at what ODO reading?

Everybody who I mention that too bawls and says "that thing in de tank yuh know"

If I remember correctly Sean did his some time of recent...

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 4th, 2006, 4:21 pm

I recently did it with 1zz-fe RAV4 at 130 000km. Not a very difficult process but you need to proceed with caution since it's gasoline and sensors involved. Let me know if you require any further information.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » December 5th, 2006, 8:00 am

Where is this gasoline filter located? - Im on 83k mileage...do i need to change mine?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 5th, 2006, 8:40 am

Booge....I changed mines and really hasn't seen much of a difference... I guess that's what's called Preventative maintenance. What are you driving btw? In the RAV4, it's housed in the gas tank. I access it just behind the back seat on the left side.

The parts from Toyota was under $460 (filter, o-ring and a seal). I usually don't run the tank under 1/4 so I haven't had any problems... I was just playing it safe.

If anyone need the steps as to how it's done let me know.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » December 5th, 2006, 8:49 am

As i mentioned is our long going post (i think). The TTTL recommended fuel filter interval is 40,000km, the JDM fuel filter change interval states 70,000km and the USDM Workshop manual has it as a lifelong part (doh ask me eh....i just telling allyuh what it says).

I changed mine at 82,000km or so. Just as a precaution, since i use redline every fillup.

Anyways. The filter is basically in the fuel tank under the back seat wrapped around the fuel pump. To change you need to lift back seat, remove silicone sealed tank cover, remove sensors leads, remove fuel tank top bolts, remove fuel filter and pump assemblege, dismantle assemblege, reconstruct with new filter, filter washer and filter spacer and the rest of the components that you didnt change and then do the reverse.

If you've done it once...its not too bad the second time. But the first time you will

1) Smell up the back of the car with the smell of fuel
2) get very messy
3) if not careful stain your upholstery with fuel. (worse if its super)

That said. There are several small parts in the fuel filter you definitely do not want to lose. And when you take the assemblege apart....they are likely to fly around the place. The whole assemblege is also slightly diffcult to take apart since its meant to be returnless and hold 50-53psi constantly.

Also DO NOT damage that little cylindrical fuel pump. It is slippery, has metal and plastic components mated together which makes it fragile :? and costs about $6000 at TTTL, who by the way, have none in stock.

On top of that, when i changed the filter.....the bloody used filter and strainer were cleaner than sterile gauze and could have gone on for i dont know how much longer. Cheese pie, on the other hand, find grit and sand particles in his own! :shock:

Now that i've totally turned you orf changing the filter...I believe Masterserve and Laughlin do it for a measly $60 or so. :lol: :lol:

I used the JDM interval because i only use premium from a few stations, always use redline. and believe that TTTL service interval are massively conservative and am starting to think is just constructed to rape your wallet!!

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » December 5th, 2006, 9:17 am

I and my mech changed mine at 100 K for a 1nz corolla , its in the tank , first take of the negative battery pole to prevent error codes or a possible fire ,pull out the back seat , remove the cover , you need to pry the lid up i think , then there are some 8 mm bolts ( or is it 10mm? ) a 3/8 ratchet and socket works well since a half inch driver might not fit in the tight space , pull out the lines , there are some tabs to press i think , then remove the entire filter , pump and guage senesor assembly , now here is the trickey part , remove the sensor by prying the plastic tabs GENTLY so you dont break them off and remove the float , next there are more plastic tabs to remove the pump from the filter , now beign smart you would of bought the strainer AND filter assembly , the strainer is a bit trickey were you have a small metal washer that you have to gently pry open with a bird beak pliers and remove it , now assemble the strainer to the filter and then to the pump , if you did not break any tabs this should snap togeather like notting , CAREFULLY attach the float sensor and reinstall the filter / pump / sensor in the tank , dont bend the arm of the float or knock it against the sides , take your time eah , take a little gas from the tank and wet your finger , pass you finger over the tar like sealant ( its like the kind they use to seal your windscreen in place) this process makes it stickey so that when you press back on the lid it would stick , bolt back the cover and re attach the fuel lines , connect the battery pole and put the ignition on the on position , turn off car , put ignition back on ON position , do this about 3 to 4 times to makes sure the system is primed , next start the car and make sure there are no leaks , once you sure you not smelling any gas or none of the lines leaking , press back on the lid , go for a drive with the windows down to get out the smell and with the windows up to see if you getting any strange smells like gas or your car burning down lol , when you get back pull out the vacume cleanner and clean under your back seat as its out , collect the change under there and if you luckey you can buy a beer with the change , reinstall the back seat and you good as gold

took me and my mech ( i did most of the work since) in about an hour

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » December 5th, 2006, 10:23 am

Excellent information guys --------------------------> much thanks.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » December 5th, 2006, 10:27 am

Next Question - I wanna put on some suicide door hinges. Anyone could direct me at the cost of the item as well as the cost of installtion

Oh btw - its a 1NZE Toyota Corolla

Val

Postby Val » December 5th, 2006, 11:04 am

I wanna put on some suicide door hinges.
:sick:

since i use redline every fillup.

Isn't that a bit often?

So are there two fuel filters in the Corollas? Or just one?

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » December 5th, 2006, 12:25 pm

Isn't that a bit often?

you could use it as recomended its 10 mls a gallon

So are there two fuel filters in the Corollas? Or just one?

there is a fuel filter around the pump and a strainer to the bottom , the strainer could be washed with some gum solve and rinsed in gas and reused but mine the strainer had some bits of sand in it so i did not want to re use it , i paid about 280 for the filter and the strainer was 60 dollars so i thought just do a good job one time

wagonX

Postby wagonX » December 6th, 2006, 11:12 am

booge wrote:Next Question - I wanna put on some suicide door hinges. Anyone could direct me at the cost of the item as well as the cost of installtion

Oh btw - its a 1NZE Toyota Corolla

Booge boy...when will the madness end! :evil:

Anywho...sean where do you get your redline? I have a long way to go before I change my filter according to JDM specs (still in the 40's) so lemme start treating it good in mean time car actually went for service today, Castrol Syntec, Toyota OEM Air filter (Just trying it out), Fram oil filter (worked good the last time), NGK irids.

wagonX

Postby wagonX » December 6th, 2006, 1:37 pm

Darn breakpads low...EBC anyone?

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » December 6th, 2006, 6:07 pm

the oem ones i have lasting since we got the car , it was doing 24 or so K and now it doing 120 K , so check how much toyota have them for

wagonX

Postby wagonX » December 7th, 2006, 12:26 am

Really! then they must be worth it...how do you drive that is a whole 100KM!??

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » December 7th, 2006, 7:00 am

wagonX wrote:Darn breakpads low...EBC anyone?

Ah Ha Wagon X - I just change my brake discs last week after getting like 83k on the original toyota ones.

EBC Greenstuff - check this guy and he can source it for you -

Andy - 662 1668

I believe Val on the forum also has info on the EBC modle thats applicable.

Val

Postby Val » December 7th, 2006, 7:14 am

EBC Greenstuff, slightly cheaper than the OEM. But I'll still go with OEM, I think it's about $900 for the pair. EBC is like 800 and change for a pair.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » December 7th, 2006, 7:34 am

Val wrote:EBC Greenstuff, slightly cheaper than the OEM. But I'll still go with OEM, I think it's about $900 for the pair. EBC is like 800 and change for a pair.

907 + vat is the price at Toyota

Val

Postby Val » December 7th, 2006, 9:55 am

^^^ Not bad for such a long-lasting OEM pad.

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » December 7th, 2006, 8:05 pm

ask seanf3000 about his pad life and his experiences

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » December 8th, 2006, 11:58 am

The EBCs were about 700 from andy i think. Mine works excpetionally well. I had mintex on before....they were ok...but the brake dust was murder. Also upgraded the brake fluid.

I prefered the EBC cause at least that came with shims silencers. You have to buy those separately from TTTL i think.....or was that only for the ae111s?

Anyway.....the pad sure is a different feel....esp with hard braking.....no fade. I have no real noise with my pad.....but then my rotors are in good condition. And the pads broke in well. Stopping power is reaaalllly good. Pad a lil on the abrasive side but not as much as the red stuff pads.

Pad life is better depending on your driving styles. My last set of mintex lasted about 50,000km.

Val

Postby Val » December 8th, 2006, 12:33 pm

So you recommend the Greenstuff then?

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » December 11th, 2006, 7:56 am

^^^two thumbs up!!