WTK:2OO3 GDI LANCER

MX3

WTK:2OO3 GDI LANCER

Postby MX3 » November 23rd, 2006, 3:59 pm

I WOULD LIKE 2 KNOW ABOUT THE 2003 GDI LANCERS 1.5,DO THEY GIVE ANY PROBLEMS A,N HOW BAD ARE THEY COMPARED TO THE GLX LANCERS....CUZ I'VE BEEN HEARIN FROM SEVERAL PPL THAT THE GDI'S ARE NO GOOD....HOW TRUE IS THIS??......help plz........THANKS..

MX3

Postby MX3 » November 23rd, 2006, 4:54 pm

help plz!!! :fadein:

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » November 23rd, 2006, 6:14 pm

there are a couple threads on this. i feelin too lazy now to find them just do a search

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » November 23rd, 2006, 9:09 pm

i was buying a GDI last year, but i hear the transmission gives rel problems..and dat no-one here can fix it with assurity. Plus i know ppl who buy it, and de car does jus cut-off...a/c and radio everything playing, but de engine jus cut off jus so. Yes, GDI iz a best for rallying and ting, but i doh think its the way to go as yet.

And oh yea, if u buying GDI foreign used, mitsubishi will NOT service it..nothing at all. so, u'll have to rel find a mechanic to fix any and all problems. mitsubishi does only dedal with de GLXi and CVT now.

i hope i was helpful dey. peacec bro.

xtech

Postby xtech » November 24th, 2006, 9:04 am

i find the new GDI engines give more trouble than the original GDI 4G93 which just needs proper fuel injector servicing and blocking out the EGR to stop the carbon build up.............since they change over to the drive by wire thing......nothing wrong with the engines since they are mechanically sound......is just dat the roads to bad here an it breaks / loosens a magnet in the darn trottle body.

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » November 24th, 2006, 10:48 am

i also heard abt that transmisson

therapist

Postby therapist » November 24th, 2006, 1:25 pm

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=110345

save yuhself some aggravation pardnah

MX3

Postby MX3 » November 24th, 2006, 6:25 pm

yeah thanks fellas 4 all d info really appreciate it

ooooohjhonny

Postby ooooohjhonny » November 25th, 2006, 10:53 am

throttle body does giver real hell, get the glx version, hardly any problems

bd319

Postby bd319 » November 25th, 2006, 9:18 pm

^^ He's right, the glx version comes with the sohc 4g92 and a normal tranny.
also with the these vehicles the gdi and glx alike, engine mountings go pretty quickly

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » November 27th, 2006, 8:39 am

^^^ wrong the 2001 lancer glx comes with the 4g18 sohc and cvt , the ds mode is real fun to drive :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

bd319

Postby bd319 » November 27th, 2006, 10:06 am

^^^i'm right, you hadda be talkin bout another model all togther

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » November 27th, 2006, 12:10 pm

bd319, both the local glx and the roro gdi models come with cvt. however a 5 forward manual is available for the glx.

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » November 27th, 2006, 12:37 pm

to be a bit more technical, the 4g15 gdi engines come mated to the cvt transmission. the 4g18 efi engines (glx) come with the cvt but can also use the manual gearbox. (F5M41)

bd319

Postby bd319 » November 27th, 2006, 3:00 pm

^^^i know the gdi lancers come with the 4g15 mated with cvt.
i am speaking of a glx with a 4g92 sohc with a normal tranny

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » November 27th, 2006, 3:02 pm

normal tranny? as in a 4 speed automatic? they dont come with that only other option is the gearbox.

bd319

Postby bd319 » November 27th, 2006, 3:14 pm

wait wait..........we not talkin bout cs2a lancers/cedias here aren't we>?

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » November 27th, 2006, 4:21 pm

yeah i think thats what mx3 is talking about. 2003 lancers

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » November 27th, 2006, 5:12 pm

bd319 wrote:^^^i'm right, you hadda be talkin bout another model all togther

never once it's the cs3a which is the glx lancer its a 4g18 buddy, the 4g92 came in the ck4a glx lancer