CK Lancer transmission fluid change - Fluid Changed

venum

CK Lancer transmission fluid change - Fluid Changed

Postby venum » October 31st, 2006, 12:26 am

Time to change the tranny fluid

Manual says to use Dia Queen SPII transmission fluid.

Internet research indicates that the best Mitsu\Chrysler\Hyundai Dia Queen SPII replacement fluid is AMSOIL Synthetic Universal Automatic Transmission Fluid.

http://www.amsoil.com/StoreFront/atf.aspx

Anyone knows where I can get ~ 8 quarts of this fluid locally?

other Mitsu men like Dave, Junki and JUS4SHO, what other fluids you recommend?

Dave I sure you gonna say Quaker State ATF+3, so lemme know where available,

Planning to do it by MasterServe to get all the fluid out using their machine ($150.00 with my own fluid), unless someone has a better suggestion.

I was advised by someone very knowledgeable to clean out the tranny first using a tranny flush and some cheap NP fluid, then refill.

I was cautioned about the drain, add 2 quarts, cycle through gears, then drain and top up method.

F4A41 tranny currently has Castrol ATF+3 in it, want to try a better fluid. Filter is a Sakura, what filters you recommend and where to find?

I found Mitsubishi SPIII at Marud in Marabella @ $75.00 per quart, they also have the Honda tranny fluid

Food for thought:
Can the SPIII work in a mechanical tranny requiring SPII, since many third party manufacturers like AMSOIL, MOBIL etc make a universal fluid for both SPII and SPIII applications?

thoughts/comments?
Last edited by venum on December 27th, 2006, 7:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » October 31st, 2006, 8:08 am

A lot of intriguing questions. I ent see my name call, but let me ask two questions:

1). Why are U compelled to seek a better fluid than the castrol ATF +3? Problems with its use?

2). Not sure, but I think I saw that Amsoil tranny fluid in Sherrif's for $75 a quart. Are U willing to spend $600 for 8 quarts plus $150 for fluid exchange?

From my experience with the Quaker state +3, it works very well. I change 8 quarts every 40,000km. Last place I was able to get it was Billy's auto supplies in Freeport. Never check around in Marabella for it however.

Postby Dave » October 31st, 2006, 9:42 am

i love quaker state lubricants but the atf+3 is the universal spec for it, made for electronic trannys

where's my write up on the diy method, much cheaper and tranny doesn't run dry for a lil while when fluid is being exchanged

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... highlight=

when i disected a used sakura and used mitsubishi, there was no real difference so no major need for an upgrade or alternative here

venum

Postby venum » November 5th, 2006, 2:01 pm

checked 2 places that gonna use their machine to remove ALL the old fluid and replace with new:

MasterServe

$150.00 + walk with my own fluid & filter

Chaguanas Auto Supplies

$230.00 + walk with my own fluid & filter

they said that I should walk with 10 quarts of fluid

7-8 quarts for the fillup and 2 quarts to flush

I can get the AMSOIL Synthetic Universal Automatic Transmission Fluid by them for $65.00 per quart, since they are the AMSOIL distributor

price of the fluid subject to change as they have none in stock now, but a container on the port, waiting to be cleared has. Price subject to clearance

I am inclined to use the Quaker State ATF+3 - getting it at Check's Auto Supplies on Cipero Street @ $34.00 per quart

CAS also indicated that they can use an additive, Lubeguard ($95.00)

does anyone have any experiences with this additive?

research to date shows that it's some kind of fluid modifier and works well on Honda trannies

comments?

SPEED THRILLZ

Postby SPEED THRILLZ » November 6th, 2006, 7:15 am

hmmmmm well Amsoil seems a good bet plus there is always mobil 1, do the maths for yourself. Cheak mileage against cost of ATF and see what works for you, could go for a lower priced fluid but change it frequent or use amsoil or mobil and cheak dem in a few.

Postby Dave » November 6th, 2006, 7:58 am

i don't like this fluid exchange machine, tranny runs dry for a short period
lube guard is good stuff

venum

Postby venum » November 6th, 2006, 9:14 pm

^^^ well from what one of the guys at CAS explained to me was that while the last bit of old fluid is being pumped out, the 2 quarts used for the flush is being pumped in.

The lubeguard treatment is used as an equivalent to Mistu SP fluid, but it does not saywhether it's SPII or SPIII, according to this site:

http://www.getautohelp.com/automotive_p ... 61910.html

what was your experience with LubeGuard like Dave?

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » November 6th, 2006, 9:34 pm

afaik, CAS dunno really know all that much!

Postby Dave » November 7th, 2006, 8:13 am

ah u see contamination, i must pay for contamination, thanks but no thanks

never used the lubeguard but from my transmission man, he uses it and the customers has good results

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » November 8th, 2006, 10:45 am

Quaker State ATF+3... daz d bestest

venum

Postby venum » November 8th, 2006, 6:09 pm

Dave wrote:ah u see contamination, i must pay for contamination, thanks but no thanks

yeah but Dave, you never get all the old fluid out, despite the method

teh recommended tranny change intervals are such to facilitate the remaining old oil to be of minimal effect, when mixed with the new fluid

Postby Dave » November 9th, 2006, 8:08 am

with our diy we get 99.9% out and it is ways cheaper than what those compnaies quote, ours cost us 2-3qts extra, how much again were they charging u?
you need to understand how a tranny works to know if u do or do not get all the fluid out :!:

venum

Postby venum » November 9th, 2006, 5:07 pm

^^^ well Masterserve didn't say how much fluid is needed

CAS quoted about the same 2-3 quarts extra ~ 8 quarts to fill up the tranny

just the abour price lil high

considering teh diy

Postby Dave » November 10th, 2006, 7:44 am

i not promoting my method/tranny man method
i just don't like the machine and how it works and also the machine use is expensive
aye the machine is expensive and the ppl have to make back their investment but if that was the case then we would all be tied into dealerships all the time, just an example
fix yuh mix....

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » November 10th, 2006, 9:30 am

venum wrote:^^^ well Masterserve didn't say how much fluid is needed

CAS quoted about the same 2-3 quarts extra ~ 8 quarts to fill up the tranny

just the abour price lil high

considering teh diy

Venum, Masterserv usually require 8 quarts to do the service to our trannys.

venum

Postby venum » November 11th, 2006, 9:51 am

Dave wrote:i not promoting my method/tranny man method

I know Dave, never thought you were. I rely on the experiences of Mitsu men like you when I am doing stuff with my car.

Your DIY method is a time tested working method - not doubting that

I am not much of a DIY person with these matters, just relying on my tranny research.

my mech does a simple drain and refill, couple other guys I went to did the same.

gimme a number\link for your tranny man nah

Dave wrote:the machine use is expensive
aye the machine is expensive and the ppl have to make back their investment but if that was the case then we would all be tied into dealerships all the time, just an example
fix yuh mix....

true, the ppl at CAS have to make back their $$$ investment

Postby X_Factor » December 12th, 2006, 10:12 pm

i called CAS also since masterserv pump wasnt working and cater for approx 1k to do the change..if ur using the mitsu oil they recommending...

venum

Postby venum » December 13th, 2006, 4:21 pm

$230.00 + bring yuh own oil

venum

Postby venum » December 27th, 2006, 8:15 pm

The fluid was changed @ Chaguanas Auto Supplies last week Tuesday (19th Dec 2006)

This is my report on the fluid change process

Fluid used: Quaker State ATF+3

Amount of fluid used: 10 quarts

Trannie filter used: Sakura T-1018

1. Check condition of existing fluid to determine health of transmission.

2. Place car on hydraulic lift and raise.

3A. Connect machine's suction\return line (old fluid) to the trannie oil cooler's return line. All the old fluid will be drained after it passes through the oil cooler.

3B. Connect the machine's inlet (new fluid) to the hose leading to the transmission. All the new fluid will be pumped into the transmission.

4. Place 2 quarts of new fluid in machine's reservoir.

5. Start car and machine - this begins pumping out (by suction) of the old fluid. The old fluid is pumped into a measuring container.

The machine has an adjustable valve on the inlet line, which allows the mechanic to adjust the rate and volume of the new fluid being pumped in.

There are 2 transparent cylindrical sections on the inlet line (new fluid) and return line (old fluid). These are side by side so you can see the difference in the old fluid and the new fluid as they are being exchanged.

Thus, the 2 quarts of new fluid is pumped in while the old fluid is being pumped out.

5. When the measuring container reads ~ 10 quarts switch-off the car and leave machine running.

10 litres = ~ 1.06 US quart

6. When old fluid flow reduces to almost nothing, measure the level of trannie fluid. It will read empty.

7. Change the trannie filter.

8. Disconnect the machine's return line and reconnect the oil cooler's return hose.

9. Place 8 quarts of new fluid in the machine and begin pumping this new fluid into the tranny from the trannie dip-stick opening.

10. When all of the new fluid has been pumped into the tranny, stop the machine and measure the level of fluid in the tranny.

11. Top up as needed to the COLD mark.

12. Lower car on hydraulic lift.

That's it.

RESULTS:

The car is performing noticeably better, the gears are changing sooner due to the new fluid.

EXPENSES:

10 quarts trannie fluid = TT$340.00 @ TT$34.00\quart

Trannie filter = TT$40.00

CAS Service = TT$230.00

TOTAL = TT$610.00

DISCLAIMER:

This is NOT and advertisement for Chaguanas Auto Supplies. This is just an account of my experience using this method of transmission fluid change.

Postby X_Factor » December 27th, 2006, 8:50 pm

nice post up there....will be doin the same sometime in january

Postby X_Factor » December 27th, 2006, 8:52 pm

btw what was the condition of the old oil?....colour, smell?

venum

Postby venum » December 27th, 2006, 10:31 pm

The old oil was not badly deteriorated

Not burned or darkened dangerously

it was changed at 35,000km so it was still in a "safe" condition

I usually perform preventive maintenance and change fluids at the recommended intervals

venum

Postby venum » January 20th, 2007, 7:19 pm

:bump: for Pretty

Postby X_Factor » February 23rd, 2007, 6:26 pm

i went and did this today..had to hunt for the ATF+3 since they no longer make it and its only +4 @ 48 per quart.....but i found my 10quarts of the +3 @35 per quart..
the process took about 1hr and i saw the colour of the old oil comin out and the new one goin in and my oil was really burnt bad..the total cost was 700 including the Lube guard..

the gear change responds better and i not gettin the lil slippage i was gettin b4

venum

Postby venum » February 24th, 2007, 10:16 pm

^^^ the Lubeguard suppose to take care of the slippage.

ATF+4 is an upgrade for ATF+3, so yuh safe

I am surprised taht you had trouble finding teh ATF+3 though, up to this week I saw it all over the place, Castrol and Quaker State

Postby X_Factor » February 25th, 2007, 9:13 am

I am surprised taht you had trouble finding teh ATF+3 though, up to this week I saw it all over the place, Castrol and Quaker State

i've probably call all the places in the directory between chaguanas-san juan-arouca...and only one place had it in the bamboo and its jus by pure luck i checked there...all either out of stock or sellin the +4..

altec

Postby altec » February 25th, 2007, 1:36 pm

anybody using atf+4 in the ck lancers?

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » February 25th, 2007, 7:52 pm

^^^ the Lubeguard suppose to take care of the slippage.

What is this lubeguard? And is it hard to find?

Postby X_Factor » February 25th, 2007, 9:39 pm

anybody using atf+4 in the ck lancers?

the cost of that +4 is like 50$ per quart..and thats Quaker state or Castrol
might as well put the extra and get the Amsoil or the original mitsu/honda oil

What is this lubeguard? And is it hard to find?

do a search for it..they spoke about it already
chaguanas auto supplies got it for around 80$ per bottle

^Pretty^

Postby ^Pretty^ » February 26th, 2007, 7:48 am

there's a higher priced tranny oil for about $70-80 per quart that Chaguanas Auto Supplies uses....does this make a big difference if used vs the AFT+3?