Corolla Fielder rims and tire info needed

Keptis

Corolla Fielder rims and tire info needed

Postby Keptis » October 23rd, 2006, 11:19 am

Hi tuners.

My friend has a roro 2002 model toyota fielder wagon. 1.5 engine for a year now. I need some information.

Regarding changing rims and tires for the wagon to get a smooth ride, turn corners easily and not destroy the original ride of the vehicle.

What inch rims are recommended and other additional specifications? Any particular brands that are good/average?
What tire size is recommended and other additional specifications? Any particular brands that are good/average?

Val

Postby Val » October 23rd, 2006, 11:25 am

If you don't want to hurt the ride, try keeping the profile of the tyre above 55.

I would say go with some lightweight (OZ, Enkei, Rays Engineering etc) 15" rims with 205/60/15 Michelin Pilot Sport or Goodyear Eagle F1 tyres.

But that's of course if money isn't an object. What's your price range?

See here for a tyre calculator http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... hp?t=36872

Remember to try to keep the rolling radius constant so that you don't have too much error in your speedo and won't affect your ABS.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » October 23rd, 2006, 12:00 pm

i'd say some 16" rims if u want a lil bigger as the fielder are bit big IMO.

But 50/55/60 series, are what u want to go with if u want a smooth ride, 60 if u want something original.

17's and 18's wont look good with those series unless its a van or something and anything under 50 i had experience and they dont ride anywhere to stock

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » October 23rd, 2006, 12:19 pm

Don't want to destroy original ride?.......don't go bigger than a 16" rim and don't go lower than a 50 profile. Good option 205/50/16s. Make sure the offset is good...around 38mm for you. And try and stay away from a heavy and large chrome rim....the transmission eh go like yuh too much.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 23rd, 2006, 1:56 pm

Good ride quality - stick to the 15 inch and keep your profile 55 and above. Trinidad have too much invisible pot holes.

Good quality tyre - Michelins (expensive but most durable) or Sumitomo/Dunlop with the road hazard warranty. There are a couple other good brands to check goodyear/toyo/bridgestone.

A decent width is 195/205 but avoid the extra modification if possible i.e. the spacers etc.

Be sure to balance and align after changing the tyres.

wagonX

Postby wagonX » October 23rd, 2006, 4:40 pm

I have a fielder as well and I have found that once you stay above 50 series the ride wont be destroyed i.e. the ride will be affected but not to the degree to make you regret going bigger. The fielder can take 16 with 50 series tyres. I'm running 17 wiht 45s right now and its a little rougher but MUCH better than when I had 17s wiht 40 series onmy last car.

I also have lightweight rims as well, makes a difference, less strain on your suspension as you go exponentionally bigger, i second OZ, enkei, strong and light also konig colours (if youre the flashy type).

But all in all 16's is the limit IMHO.

Val

Postby Val » October 23rd, 2006, 7:08 pm

What lightweight rims you running wagonX?

Keptis

great ideas

Postby Keptis » October 23rd, 2006, 7:15 pm

Thks fellas. Also, can you tell me how you fix up your audio for your fielder?

wagonX

Postby wagonX » October 24th, 2006, 1:14 am

Val wrote:What lightweight rims you running wagonX?

The brand originally is Finardi Racing although I have in BSA caps right now.
Pardon my unscientific answer but dont know the actual weight I am yet to weigh them, they are light though, I lift with them with one finger unlike my last chrome and black rims. The previous owner said they are about 15 lbs per rim, I just havent weighed them yet.

Going to get some konig Heliums or Minuz some time in the near future they are about 12 - 13 LBS at 17".

Val

Postby Val » October 24th, 2006, 11:12 am

Where you locating those lightweight wheels man? Car Boutique? What's the pricing like?

wagonX

Postby wagonX » October 24th, 2006, 1:11 pm

Garvins performance Shop had about 2 sets of lightweights (enkei) left when i checked him a couple months ago. 17s the were about $9000. Dean wheels has just one set of Konig colours left I checked them a month ago. 17s going for $5000 (it was orange they repainted it black).

The konigs i want i was gonna ask my pardner to bring them in. That may end up being expensive because they are about $180 - 200 USD per rim and then you have to pay shipping and face customs. Not sure of the final cost.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » October 25th, 2006, 8:30 am

Keptis, I'll let you know about the audio in a few weeks when i upgrade mine. I got my light weight konigs at Deans. I also checked out GPS for enkies.....but konigs a good deal cheaper.Good places to get rims. But I sticked to 15s cause i didnt want so much of the wheel/rims combo rotational mass towards the outside.

Val

Postby Val » October 25th, 2006, 8:36 am

Audio is easy. But I think you should make a separate thread about that. All depends on your budget, Fuzz174 has great deals on full setups. And there are many capable music installers on the forums (check the ICE forum). Nigel1977 did the work in my car. And it sounds great.

Where is Dean Wheels?

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » October 25th, 2006, 10:11 am

Deans wheels is located in Diego Martin 633-RIMS and 637-4714.

I was wondering about the audio install.....since i saw this very involved procedure to remove the stock double-DIN on an aussie site. But i probably will let sr handle that. LOL!!

Keptis

Postby Keptis » October 26th, 2006, 3:43 pm

bump..

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » October 26th, 2006, 4:20 pm

seanf3000 has a fielder also...take his advice of some 205/50/16 Konig's from Deans.

Check the konig site

www.konigwheels.com

and call to find out if they have the style u like in 4x100 bolt pattern

drdroutermaster

Postby drdroutermaster » October 26th, 2006, 4:20 pm

Regarding changing rims and tires for the wagon to get a smooth ride, turn corners easily and not destroy the original ride of the vehicle.

According to the Corolla Manual, 195 60 15 are recommended.

You can use the tyre size calculator, but going anove 15s means you need to go below 60 series.

I use Kumho KH 11s, 320 Treadwear, AA traction and A temperature.

They have the performance stats, ride comfort, and low road noise, but they ain't the prettiest.

205 60 15s would give you about 6mm lift in height.

P.S. If the tyreman tell you that all 60 series tyres have the same height, he either lying or don't know his a$$ from his elbow.

hiacetricks

Re: Corolla Fielder rims and tire info needed

Postby hiacetricks » February 12th, 2014, 6:36 am

I got a fielder wanna put some rays 15 te37 white doh wa size tyre to put 205 50 or. 205 55. Doh want it to look like. Panel van

hiacetricks

Re: Corolla Fielder rims and tire info needed

Postby hiacetricks » March 18th, 2014, 7:27 pm

I have a fielder with some 15 inch rays with Dunlop 205/50 .i had some 16 inch iron rims and it drove good but when I put on these rays it was competly different the steering got a whole lot lighter and it driving real sweet