rx 7 3rd gen

adri 2nr

rx 7 3rd gen

Postby adri 2nr » September 17th, 2006, 10:17 am

can you all give me some info (pros and cons) on a 3rd gen?..looking for a new car and have one of this as an option..your info would be appreciated

Postby Rainman » September 17th, 2006, 10:33 am

pornstar4777

Postby pornstar4777 » September 17th, 2006, 10:40 am

whats ur budget?

Rx

Postby Rx » September 17th, 2006, 11:12 am

high maintenance on rotary engines.

..but I must own a Rx someday .....sigh ............... jus' check mih name nah :wink:

Lei

Postby Lei » September 18th, 2006, 12:34 am

3 words

just do it.

thas a hott ride.

(ok was more like 7 words.)

LOCO

Postby LOCO » September 18th, 2006, 9:44 am

Especially if it will attract tuttuts like those^^^ :lol: :lol: :lol:

turbo master

Postby turbo master » September 18th, 2006, 9:51 am

yea only thing abt the rotaries are the high maintenance..parts i think not that available..but it is a hot ride..

Val

Postby Val » September 19th, 2006, 11:13 am

LOCO wrote:Especially if it will attract tuttuts like those^^^ :lol: :lol: :lol:

LOL!

RX7, what about insurance woes? Where you getting rotor housing, seals etc? Straight from Japan? You sure you want that headache Adri2nr?

I think you should PM 3rdGenRX7, he will advise you.

demented

Postby demented » September 19th, 2006, 2:08 pm

Go for it ..... it's car that'll keep you busy tuning/tweaking 0X

3rdGen7

Postby 3rdGen7 » September 21st, 2006, 12:09 am

Let me put it this way.. unless you're planning on buying a 2000+ forget it. If it has more than 20,000 kms on the clock.. forget it. If you don't have an extra $30,000 TT to do a rebuild on the spot.. forget it. if you love your family and your girl..forget it.. If you want to buy a house and land some time ..forget it...If it's going to be your daily driver ..forget it...if you don't already have a hook up for insurance..forget it and if you want a 9 sec project car . buy mine :mrgreen:

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » September 22nd, 2006, 9:51 pm

rx fellas, what about d 2nd gen rx7, wit a 13b twin turbo ?

same pros and cons as d 3rd gen?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » September 22nd, 2006, 11:56 pm

Steups....Haul out the damn rotary and put in a v6....

For economical reasons

adri 2nr

Postby adri 2nr » September 23rd, 2006, 10:47 am

thanks for the info guys will keep you all posted

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » September 26th, 2006, 3:55 pm

MISHI wrote:Steups....Haul out the damn rotary and put in a v6....

For economical reasons
why stop there.....LS1 swap :mrgreen:

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » September 26th, 2006, 6:05 pm

^ ^ ^ Good advice.
For economical reasons

Nope!... Go Chevy LS-1 V8... Almost the same weight (V8 only 62 lb. heavier than 13B REW)
Cheaper maintenance... More stock torque & power... Great handling... Better milage...
Complete installation kits available in USA.
If you cant afford LS-1 go for normal small block Chevy for half the price... new.

More here... (SCC - Sept '06.)

demented

Postby demented » September 27th, 2006, 8:03 am

^^^ :wtf: ..... noooooooo :(

bullet

Postby bullet » October 24th, 2006, 11:43 am

don't let anybody deter you alot of people need to realise if you have a b13/14 mentality you don't buy rotaries. parts are very available but one thing to note is that to rebuild those engines will cost you an easy $10000 and thats with atkins rebuild parts and don't let anybody make you feel when you buy their rotaries and they have never rebuilt you won't to either most of the times they sell because either the engine needs to rebuild or the turbo needs replacing.My advice speak to die hard rotary men, trinituner doesn't have a lot of those, and make a decision without regrets
Last edited by bullet on October 26th, 2006, 3:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RASC » October 24th, 2006, 12:04 pm

tourniquet wrote:

For economical reasons
why stop there.....LS1 swap :mrgreen:

yup probably one of the most popular swaps for RX-7's

Shaquon

Postby Shaquon » October 24th, 2006, 9:19 pm

if yuh going to have a back up car, go through hard... iz a bess ride

3rdGen7

Postby 3rdGen7 » October 30th, 2006, 5:53 am

bullet wrote:don't let anybody deter you alot of people need to realise if you have a b13/14 mentality you don't buy rotaries. parts are very available but one thing to note is that to rebuild those engines will cost you an easy $10000 and thats with atkins rebuild parts and don't let anybody make you feel when you buy their rotaries and they have never rebuilt you won't to either most of the times they sell because either the engine needs to rebuild or the turbo needs replacing.My advice speak to die hard rotary men, trinituner doesn't have a lot of those, and make a decision without regrets

Ahemm... see my post above.

3rdGen7

Postby 3rdGen7 » October 30th, 2006, 5:54 am

Shaquon wrote:if yuh going to have a back up car, go through hard... iz a bess ride

The most costly mod I did for my RX7 was buy an EVO Daily Driver.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » October 30th, 2006, 4:25 pm

^ ^ ^ Complaining :?: ... Sounds like a good move to me. :lol:

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » October 31st, 2006, 12:22 am

:lol: :lol: :lol: lol yeah im sorry the only issuse i have that i can see with a rx si the need for a daily or back up car..

Postby AllTrac » October 31st, 2006, 3:04 am

adri2nr would this be your first turbo car u would be tinkering with? if so then forget it.
Last edited by AllTrac on October 31st, 2006, 10:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

turbohead

Postby turbohead » October 31st, 2006, 10:04 pm

hahahahahahahaha u will be screwed like sheit. i rather buy a box cart. do u know dat mazda tell ppl d lifetime on a rotary engine is like 60000km an yes dats 5 zeros. dats less time than u will change a timing chain. yeh it a rell hig maintanance car so get ready to be screwed. parts expensive and hard 2 find dats why u does see so much trouble 2 find rotary engine on ground put down. but if u have money an time go for it.

3line

Postby 3line » November 2nd, 2006, 7:36 am

I disagree saying that a rx is an unreliable car..i have a fd and it has been a pretty reliable car thus far..once u dont go all out with ur mods u should be safe..

legend

Postby legend » November 2nd, 2006, 11:03 pm

by a supra :wink:

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » November 3rd, 2006, 2:57 am

^^better yet....buy an EVO.... :mrgreen:

SCHOLARS

Postby SCHOLARS » November 3rd, 2006, 5:13 pm

if u go with the rx7, when the the engine gone, sr20det or rb25det conversion and u getting the parts in the bamboo

turbohead

Postby turbohead » November 3rd, 2006, 8:53 pm

boy buy a sylvia