tyres

Re: tyres

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 18th, 2011, 8:32 pm

^^^never had any problem with the Sumitomos......though right now I am noticing rolling sounds which had me thinking bearing.....

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » November 18th, 2011, 8:51 pm

See if the tire tread is alternating high and low... indicative of bad shocks.

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » December 1st, 2011, 8:19 am

Anyway people, i open meh newspapers this morning and i see Automotive Components having BIG TYRE SALE...i get giddy one time..fumbling car keys..plan to take a 2 hours off from work.. cause i figure i go buy some tyres for momz car for de xmas..or buy a few of de GoodYears i buy last month and moth-ball them..

I jus call 10 minutes ago....GoodYear 195/50/15 is $738.30 each..... :S

..same tyre i buy in de same place last month for $641.... XD

..i sit back down and eat meh sada roti and post on tuner..

Postby X_Factor » December 1st, 2011, 8:28 am

^ most ppl locally, when they hear sale....they jus rush off and buy thinking its a good price
cause really, if u didnt buy those for 641.00 u probably would think 730.00 is a decent price for what you getting....

Postby noshownogo » December 1st, 2011, 8:29 am

SALE! in T&T usually means come get rid of our old stock not discount.

zorced

Postby zorced » December 1st, 2011, 8:31 am

haha :S dat was like my amazon cart for cyber monday, my electronics went up :lol:

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » December 4th, 2011, 3:29 pm

Looking to change stock 195/65/15 tires on the Corolla, considering going wider but keeping the height. Is it advisable to stick with stock? Don't want to slow down the car with heavy tires. Recent Corollas tend to have a big space between tyre and wheel wheel. Last I checked L&D only had 195/65/15 in CONTI PREMIUM CONTACT 2 for $695.75 each, will call others this week. If I could get the yokohama I'd take it. Recommendations from Corolla owners welcomed.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 6th, 2011, 3:13 pm

got me some new rubbers today,,,4 brand new dunop dirreza's.......205/55/15......

manufacture date ....8/11......made in japan......this works for me.......
This tyre has some sort of new technology....- rim protector - the tyre "swells" around the rim edge so that if u touch a pavement the rim would not get damaged but the tyre would take the hit........

pretty kool stuf.....

vega - $550 each ...mounted and speed balanced ....Tyre Clinic....Montrose Chaguanas....

Last edited by *$kїđž!™ on December 7th, 2011, 12:05 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 6th, 2011, 6:35 pm

^^cost??? and from where?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » December 6th, 2011, 7:23 pm

Here is an example of just how much tyres can limit a car's performance potential:

So, i had a loaner Chevy Cruze yesterday for about 6 hours...
I took it through its paces on my special backroads/highway combo test drive route...
Car came with Kumho Solus KH17 .. 17"

My conclusion is that the chassis, steering, brakes, engine etc have so much to give...
What I mean to say is that the car felt absolutely flat cornering and that is rare in that pricerange...
Problem was, the tyres definitely were not up to the task of letting that vehicle explore its true potential.... They tended to understeer just a bit on sharp corners where other fwd cars (which feel much more unstable) tend to grip and pull through...

The 4 wheel disk brakes are also excellent on the vehicle with amazing pedal feel, but I found it too easy to get ABS kicking in under hard braking (in the dry)... Once again, the tyres were no match for the quality of the brakes..

Overall, I am sure that those Solus are good for regular touring/commuting but they are not really up to the potential of the vehicle...
Same applies to how a lot of the new Mazdas coming straight out the firm have Nexen on them.... How exactly did this happen? Did mazda ship their vehicles with Nexen equipped? I tend to doubt that greatly... So, why do we end up buying new Mazda/Kia/Hyundai with Nexen tyres? Something I should know about going on in SSL or am I just a conspiracy theorist..

----
For the record, the Cruze is easily the best vehicle in the sub $200k pricerange in trinidad... Head and shoulders above the competition... Not that it matters because people probably still wouldn't buy it..

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 7th, 2011, 12:07 am

vega .....see the pics and details above....

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » December 7th, 2011, 2:22 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:This tyre has some sort of new technology....- rim protector - the tyre "swells" around the rim edge so that if u touch a pavement the rim would not get damaged but the tyre would take the hit........

thats been around a while now guy.

How does the dz101s perform? Do you like them?
I'm thinking of trying them after winter. I got rid of my azenis 615k.

Postby Morpheus » December 7th, 2011, 3:34 am

This tyre has some sort of new technology....- rim protector

It's new to you......It's been around a while as mentioned before.

I have those on my car. 17's. The rim protector is a lot more pronounced.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 7th, 2011, 11:02 am

jnqaz wrote:
*$kїđž!™ wrote:This tyre has some sort of new technology....- rim protector - the tyre "swells" around the rim edge so that if u touch a pavement the rim would not get damaged but the tyre would take the hit........

thats been around a while now guy.

How does the dz101s perform? Do you like them?
quote]

well its the first time I bought tyres for this car......last time i bought tyres was about 4 years ago....

they tyres are performing well so far...very smooth ride....this car hardly ever is in use.....Ill give a better review when I use the car.....

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » December 7th, 2011, 12:26 pm

Hmmm im not too concerned about road noise. Im more interested in the stickiness of the tire. Does it hold its own in straight lines and corners?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 7th, 2011, 1:48 pm

jnqaz wrote:Hmmm im not too concerned about road noise. Im more interested in the stickiness of the tire. Does it hold its own in straight lines and corners?

yeah it does so far....Only drove it back home after the install yesterday.....so Ill let u know after I take it for a proper spin but so far I am satisfied....

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » December 7th, 2011, 5:23 pm

^^thanks, let me know.

anyone ever tried the Federal 595RS-R?

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » December 7th, 2011, 8:41 pm

^^No but I want to - heard from some folk on foreign forums that it's supposed to be mighty awesome. Never came across any local users of course.

Trouble is those aren't available locally....and if I have to end up ordering, I might as well go and order something more exotic (given the markup I'd have to pay).

drennie

Postby drennie » December 8th, 2011, 12:36 am

tuners,
ah looking to change tyres on meh corolla. (215/45/17) used dunlop dz101 for past 4yrs on two cars. noticed tyre noise after tyre started wearing. Not looking to go back with dumlop and probably open to spend around $900 per tyre.
Suggestions?
this is a family ride so i wont be trying to learn to power-slide anytime soon.

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » December 8th, 2011, 4:21 am

DSM_05 wrote:^^No but I want to - heard from some folk on foreign forums that it's supposed to be mighty awesome. Never came across any local users of course.

Trouble is those aren't available locally....and if I have to end up ordering, I might as well go and order something more exotic (given the markup I'd have to pay).

from what I read they're supposed to rival the azenis 615. I may try em out when it warms up here...

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » December 8th, 2011, 7:03 am

jnqaz wrote:
DSM_05 wrote:^^No but I want to - heard from some folk on foreign forums that it's supposed to be mighty awesome. Never came across any local users of course.

from what I read they're supposed to rival the azenis 615. I may try em out when it warms up here...

AutoX or daily-beater usage?

Well I'm in the market for a cost effective "sport" tyre. Any recommendations? Something OTHER than the SPT.

Ever used either the Proxes T1R or R1R, jnqaz?

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » December 8th, 2011, 3:31 pm

DSM_05 wrote:AutoX or daily-beater usage?

Well I'm in the market for a cost effective "sport" tyre. Any recommendations? Something OTHER than the SPT.

Ever used either the Proxes T1R or R1R, jnqaz?

AutoX and drag. Mostly drag though :|

I've never had toyo proxes.. my friend has the T1R on his miata and likes them alot. He said they hook really good for the (lack of) contact they make with the road, in both wet and dry conditions.
And here's why I said lack of... alot of negative camber

Postby bushwakka » December 8th, 2011, 9:37 pm

drennie wrote:tuners,
ah looking to change tyres on meh corolla. (215/45/17) used dunlop dz101 for past 4yrs on two cars. noticed tyre noise after tyre started wearing. Not looking to go back with dumlop and probably open to spend around $900 per tyre.
Suggestions?

u setting the bar too high @ 900 for a family ride of that size.....u might really wanna look at the Kumho Solus KH17

i
CD4Accord wrote:Same applies to how a lot of the new Mazdas coming straight out the firm have Nexen on them.... How exactly did this happen? Did mazda ship their vehicles with Nexen equipped? I tend to doubt that greatly... So, why do we end up buying new Mazda/Kia/Hyundai with Nexen tyres? Something I should know about going on in SSL or am I just a conspiracy theorist..

yea...i saw the Kia Optima with Nexens....and i was like wtfff

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » December 8th, 2011, 10:48 pm

drennie wrote:tuners,
Suggestions?

900 per tyre....that price u have de world to choose from. Try the kumho, michelins or goodyears.

BTW Skidz, i had the dunlops on my car before..205/55/15... really liked the same rim-protector feature...gave me a good 2 1/2 years work. Ive seen alot of bad reviews on those tyres from fellow tuners, but i had no complaints bout them.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 9th, 2011, 2:20 am

KURMAman wrote:
BTW Skidz, i had the dunlops on my car before..205/55/15... really liked the same rim-protector feature...gave me a good 2 1/2 years work. Ive seen alot of bad reviews on those tyres from fellow tuners, but i had no complaints bout them.

I am satisfied so far...tyres seem to be holding their own.....Car looks real sturdy on them as they are nice and broad.....

have sumitumos on another car ...similiar to these and those have performed well for me also....

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » December 9th, 2011, 6:43 am

have sumitumos on another car

WHICH MODEL sumitomo. What....an offroad 4x4 tyre? Race compound? What?

Postby bushwakka » December 12th, 2011, 12:12 pm

DSM_05 wrote:
have sumitumos on another car

WHICH MODEL sumitomo. What....an offroad 4x4 tyre? Race compound? What?

exactly....is like saying.....i buy a new car an it workin rel nice....u shud buy one too

phaze

Postby phaze » December 21st, 2011, 9:02 pm

been doing alot of reading here, want to try a tyre other than the dz101 (very crappy in the wet), lookin for something with good wet and dry grip in 15's, been looking for Kumho Ecsta SPT, very hard tyre to find, L&G doesnt seem to have it. would like to try the Dunlop SP sport, or some Nittos. dont know where to find those. any help?

Postby bushwakka » December 21st, 2011, 9:48 pm

see if tyre center have the Ventus V12

phaze

Postby phaze » December 21st, 2011, 10:30 pm

alright will check tyre centre for the Ventus,

Anything else?