Postby DSM_05 » November 1st, 2011, 6:48 am

Which submodel of Eagle F1 is that one?

F1 GS D3.

Damn my piss poor budget :(

KURMAman

Re: tyres

Postby KURMAman » November 1st, 2011, 10:06 am

sorry for the bad picture tho...rain and dirt stink up de wheel already..

I went to ACL in arima side..i didnt know it had any other locations..

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » November 1st, 2011, 11:27 am

yeah but those aren't the same eagles the other guy posted.
the F1's on the other page = teh winz

I believe Duane and others were rating up the GSD3's a while aback.

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » November 3rd, 2011, 11:12 pm

oh snap...well, still did my research on these "Goodyear eagle f1 excellence" tyres..saw very good reviews....and i still think $640 for a quality goodyear tyre is a great deal....not as bess as the ones x_factor got..but nevertheless..

the ride is alot better dan my old dunlops 205/55/15 for sure...

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 3rd, 2011, 11:21 pm

kurma have u got a pic of the beads...

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 7th, 2011, 1:16 pm

guys i have settled on some dunlops direzza ...the price isnt bad and the tyre looks pretty broad and the car will sit nice on it however i need your advice on what size to get

right now i have 195/55/15.......should i go with 205/55/15 or 205/60/15????

the 55 or 60 series,,??? which one gonna look better on the car????

would the 60 series result in an increase in ride height?

what should i go with???

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » November 7th, 2011, 1:37 pm

Yes the 60 profile will increase ride height.

Also, a 205/55 will have a wider contact patch than the 195/55. But the 205/55/60 will be wider, make sure it won't rub when you turn from lock to lock.
Last edited by DSM_05 on November 7th, 2011, 3:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 7th, 2011, 1:41 pm

so height gonna be increased..that sounds good but good point .....it may touch in the front......hmmm.......

what about the look.....60 series gonna make the rim look small......

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » November 7th, 2011, 2:44 pm

DSM_05 wrote:Also, a 205/55 will have a wider contact patch than the 205/60.

Please explain how. Thanks.

MADMAN1

Postby MADMAN1 » November 7th, 2011, 3:07 pm

Btw ..X_Factor, Whats the manufacture date on those Goodyear tyres u bought from the SALE in ACL????

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » November 7th, 2011, 3:40 pm

Big Z wrote:
DSM_05 wrote:Also, a 205/55 will have a wider contact patch than the 205/60.

Please explain how. Thanks.

Wait - aren't you the same fella who posted about how you got a noticeable performance boost on your NZE corolla using some Redline booster? Or was it the massive torque output improvement by using less unsprung weight? A172 might remember this.

back 2 d topic, yes, that was a typo/error-in-haste i admit, and I've edited in the post above.

Replace the "205/60" with the "195/55", and I believe we should be in the clear.

Now carry on.

what about the look.....60 series gonna make the rim look small......

That is subjective. Depends on what YOU want as the person.

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » November 13th, 2011, 9:03 pm

sorry if the pics still not the best..

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 13th, 2011, 9:52 pm

new rubber surely looks good kurmaman.......right now u cant even see beads on my tyres...lol......looking forward for my new tyres later this mth.....will post up some pics too.....

zorced

Postby zorced » November 13th, 2011, 10:08 pm

yeah dude gotta love those wheels too

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 13th, 2011, 10:58 pm

what car u running that on kurmaman if u dont mind me askin.......

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » November 13th, 2011, 11:41 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:what car u running that on kurmaman if u dont mind me askin.......

cs3 lancer..bought new from firm 6 years ago... got the stock rims and all....but i always loved those OZ rims..so i traded in my new rims and got the silver OZ...took it by a painter in st augustine..rel bess job...and best part, it never voided the warranty :)

used to run Michelin on before 195/55/15 i think ..love those tyres..but always got the feeling it wasnt for long driving...wore out rather quickly IMHO..

excuse de ole picture tho...

but iz bess tyres.. very very happy with my purchase :)

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 14th, 2011, 12:53 am

yur car looks pretty decent bro but WTF is happening in that 2nd pic!!!

zorced

Postby zorced » November 14th, 2011, 10:23 am

:rofl: he showin off the wet traction!

it rell funny how clean the car lookin in the midst of all that devastation :lol:

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 14th, 2011, 12:01 pm

Need tyres again in 205/60/14

MM does not have the Toyo Vimode until maybe February next year

My options now are

Maxxis Victra MA-Z1 - $650
Kumho KU33 - $560
Dunlop/Sumitomo HTR200 - $530

These are the only 3 brands in my size apart from Roadstone etc.

Experience and advice?

I have the Dunlop on now and have had Sumitomo HTR200 some time ago and both suck equally after they're halfway through.

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » November 14th, 2011, 12:44 pm

Kumho KU33
All Season Performance
- High class touring tire for luxury sedan
- Lower noise & outstanding ride comfort
- Sophisticated design & all season performance

Sumitomo HTR200
Had them on a Nissan Prairie. Absolutely hated them. No lateral traction.

Maxxis Victra MA-Z1
This would be my pick of the bunch, and probably the next tyre I use on the Swift Sport.

So.. depending on your preference.. KU33 for comfort, MA-Z1 for handling.
Your price on the MA-Z1 seems quite high though, so I suggest you call around.

zorced

Postby zorced » November 14th, 2011, 1:01 pm

Strugglerzinc check page 28-29 for some feedback about those victras.
i use them with that same profile daily and though not cheap for 14s they will not disappoint (except for the low treadlife).

Postby noshownogo » November 14th, 2011, 3:18 pm

noshownogo wrote:Looks like I might have to special order Kumho SPTs (KU31) from MM, no one seems to have 205 or 215/55/16 in stock.

Personally went down to MM last Friday and rummage through their storeroom. Found 225/50/16 SPT's @ $900 a pop. Price was a bit high but the Dunlop's on the car were shot, sounded like a wheel bearing was bad.

Now it's nice and quiet and stability in the wet.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » November 14th, 2011, 6:10 pm

Most of the dunlops on the local market I have found sound like crap once they get halfway worn (wet grip seems to disappear too)...

I did find some interesting stuff during my last rummage at L&DG south..

Both of the following Michelin they had in stock in 15".. probably better priced than QS
Found some of these
http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Miche ... gy-E3A.htm

Some of these
http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp ... alto+A%2FS
http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Miche ... Exalto.htm

And then to continental they had were these, some 15" and 16" and bigger
http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Conti ... tact-2.htm
http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp ... tContact+2
http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp ... tContact+3
http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Conti ... tact-3.htm

The sportcontact2 is crap, but the sportcontact 3 is quite impressive if the price is right...

They still persist in bringing the wrong tyres if you ask me though...
If they imported the ExtremeContact DWS and DW direct from the factory in Brazil they could find a nice market niche...
Above the crap (nexen, roadstone etc) but less than the other premium brands (michelin, bridgestone, goodyear (sometimes))..

If only I ran some people's place for them.............

Postby X_Factor » November 14th, 2011, 7:41 pm

^ ent....
they would have quality products at really good prices!

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 14th, 2011, 8:35 pm

zorced wrote:Strugglerzinc check page 28-29 for some feedback about those victras.
i use them with that same profile daily and though not cheap for 14s they will not disappoint (except for the low treadlife).

Toyos were $740 each so these are a bargain...

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 15th, 2011, 10:16 pm

those prices are a bit to high for 14s....

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 15th, 2011, 10:29 pm

Normally for an overpriced item, i'd say fack you and go somewhere else, however, in 14's my options are extremely limited for a good tyre and the Toyos were VERY good when compared to the other offerings in 14"

I have to end up grudgingly paying my $740 or in the case of the Maxxis, $650ish else it's back to Dunlop, Sumitomo, Roadstone, Nexen etc and I'm not going down that road.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 15th, 2011, 10:47 pm

so srlsy...u are saying maxxis may be better than the dunlops and sumitomo....???

i beg to differ.....

On one of our cars.....we have a set of sumitomos going strong for over 4 years now.....

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » November 16th, 2011, 3:30 am

Going strong may not be what he is looking for... It might mean a very high treadwear rating but with correspondingly low traction..

Also, we have been through this time and time again.. One model sumitomo is not the same as another..
One model Michelin can be crap (trust me I know) while another can be stellar...

You have to compare of a fair basis

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 16th, 2011, 8:00 am

^^ exactly.

I have not used the Maxxis yet, just going by the reviews in here, still iffy on buying them, however, i have used both the Dunlop SP60 (or something like that) and Sumitomo HTR200 in 14" and they're terrible for my driving style, wet weather traction and even dry braking distance.

Both caused understeer and hydroplaned at <80kph for me whereas the Toyos were precise and predictable with no hydroplaning at reasonable speeds (and even some unreasonable speeds). The Toyos had much less dry road ABS intervention even when down to the wear indicators.

Sumitomos also hummed like bad wheel bearings (which i changed in error at the time...fack !!) from half way through till the end.