the disc pad thread

CD4Accord

Re: the disc pad thread

Postby CD4Accord » June 6th, 2010, 10:01 pm

renegade wolf... I didn't know the wagner was cracked until I took them off to replace with the Hawk HPS about 2 or 3 weeks later... Didn't make any more noise than before.. quite odd...

If I had to use a stopgap pad, I still have some lightly used OHK for the accord, but as I said after using the Hawk the idea of downgrading hurting me...

eventually when i get the $$ saved up i'll probably do a rear drum to disc conversion on the accord.. When that happens its the same combo for me.. Brembo sport slotted rotors and Hawk HPS pads..

Postby MG Man » June 10th, 2010, 8:11 pm

OEM on both the Corolla and the Mini
Why? Tried aftermarket on the corolla once and the difference was noticeable..........threw that siht out and put back in OEM

cornfused

Postby cornfused » June 14th, 2010, 9:13 pm

OEM and Bosch, OEM has the least fade of all I have used there are painted blue , that's what the car came with , including Schneider semi Metallic

turbonator

Postby turbonator » June 17th, 2010, 12:52 am

cornfused wrote:OEM and Bosch, OEM has the least fade of all I have used there are painted blue , that's what the car came with , including Schneider semi Metallic

Hmmm.... tried the Bosch already on a b14, the initial bite was really good but after 2 hard stops the brake fade was ridiculous.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » August 26th, 2010, 10:44 pm

Anyone recommend any other pads besides the Hawk HPS that I can get relatively easy locally? The HPS I have priced locally at $750 and I honestly won't mind paying for it except I believe there just may be a better substitute around the same price or cheaper.

Have to change the brake pads in the front soon, running Nissan 4 piston calipers up front.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » August 27th, 2010, 5:37 am

Have to change the brake pads in the front soon, running Nissan 4 piston calipers up front.

If those are the equivalent to the 300ZX front calipers, then the 4pot SUbaru pads should work. I'm currently on Centric Posiquiets.....no complaints. And nothing a skybox can't bring in for you in like less than a week.

Other than that, some folks have the Project Mu's for sale. Based on another car, they seem to be a little dusty...but work well.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » August 27th, 2010, 6:33 am

How do you find the Centric Posiquiets?
Do you do any driving that challenges the brake pads more than avg (eg Maracas drive)?
Were they bought local or brought in?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » August 27th, 2010, 8:13 am

^^I try to practise more finesse in my braking style and admittedly I do rely more on engine braking in certain situations (heel toe downshifts and light(er) foot braking)....

But no, nothing like Maracas :lol:

For my taste, I wanted something more along the lines of OEM pads. I had used HPS's before, and was totally dis-satisfied..in terms of ridiculous amounts of dust (pads were bedded in properly as per Hawk's procedure!) and the stupidly short lifespan.

The centrics work nice, and feel pratically similar to stock....so the HPS techincally has a higher Fade limit than the Posiquiets. But only by a bit IMHO.

Keep in mind my car also runs ATE Super Blue BF (which itself helped pedal feel under repeated braking), Goodridge lines etc etc etc etc etc

Got it from ebay....fronts cost me 500 TTD.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » August 27th, 2010, 8:45 am

Great review. Thanks.

It's because of reviews like yours I'm thinking twice about the HPS. I have them in the rear and what little brake dust I notice on the wheel is just a thin, light grey residue however a lot of people say that up front, for the price better or equal pads can be had for less. Personally I think they murder us locally with the price of brake pads.

Postby X_Factor » August 27th, 2010, 9:19 am

i recently put on a set of Satisfied disc pads after chatting with Dave on the forum as well as doin my own online research and im impressed
its a Canadian made pad and is also linked with Nascar racing so it has to be good stuff
still in the process of setting them but they work alot better than the "Nationals" i had before
initial bite is not as agressive yet but overall performance has increased in tryin to stop...

you can also look into the Bendix brand as they had good online reviews as well

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » August 27th, 2010, 1:44 pm

always good to go on tirerack and take a read of some of the reviews of the various pads...

You could even give them a call and ask them what they reccomend, they usually quite knowledgeable

And yes, as it is with all performance parts the local sellers ripping you off BADLY...
I would not pay more than 60 US for the Hawk HPS up here, I scared to know what they charging locally...

Licensed to Walk!
Location: Refusing to beg ppl to do the job they're being paid for!

Postby Licensed to Walk! » October 11th, 2010, 5:48 am

Application: P11 Primera (Fr)
Pads: Wagner Ceramic
Cost: $170-180
Pros:
Cons: BRAKE FADE

Application: P11 Primera (Rr)
Pads: OHK Semi Metallic
Cost: $100 or so
Pros: Easily available
Cons: Brake dust after 2-3days (I see it more becuse rims white)

Application: NT30 FR & RR
Pads: OEM NISSAN
Cost: Not sure; got a new set of each with the XT
Pros: They stop no matter what. Never experienced noticeable fade either.
Cons: Minimal brake dust.

Great info so far on this thread; was considering either HPS or EBC for the P11 front and rear, but after reading the reviews i'm thinking twice. Even the Mintex not getting good reviews. Swapped out the OEM Front pads for Wagner Ceramic; and had to swap back in the OEM the same day- pedal high and firm, but the car just not stopping after 3-4 hard applications. Hearing good things about the Akebono and Satisfied though; looking to see who has. If not; OEM.

X_Factor : where did you source your pads, locally or skyboxed them?

Postby MG Man » October 11th, 2010, 7:18 am

how is minimal brake dust a con?

Postby X_Factor » October 11th, 2010, 5:06 pm

yeah, skyboxed them in
u can also look into Bendix pads, they are of high quality

Postby bluesteel29 » October 11th, 2010, 5:23 pm

MG Man wrote:how is minimal brake dust a con?

so wah if d man like he rims wid ah dusty finish

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » October 11th, 2010, 5:34 pm

I don't know what on the thread would give you second thoughts about the HPS.. its just an excellent pad overall..
I'm going to bring some more down from the states as soon as I get chance...

Currently, I looking for some good pads for the Pajero in Trinidad.. at the moment I keep having to go back to OHK cause I can't really find anything better.. I mean, they do their job but they dusty and love to squeal after a while..

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » October 11th, 2010, 8:47 pm

I don't know what on the thread would give you second thoughts about the HPS.. its just an excellent pad overall..

That's in your opinion.

I think my review may have had something to do with his hesitation to buy HPS's.

Someone will have to twist my arm severely for me to buy them again......that's my opinion :lol:

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » October 11th, 2010, 9:56 pm

Alpha_2nr wrote: I had used HPS's before, and was totally dis-satisfied..in terms of ridiculous amounts of dust (pads were bedded in properly as per Hawk's procedure!) and the stupidly short lifespan.

agreed. The brake dust is too much.
I run the HPS both front and rear and I'm happy with the stopping power but cant stand the brake dust. I find myself engine braking ALOT more because I dont like cleaning my rims lol They're a bit noisy too.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » October 11th, 2010, 10:04 pm

Well, I guess its opinions yes...
My only complaint was the dusting but apparently thats due more to the accords wheel design and the fact that i seldom wash the car...
Concerning noise, I wouldnt ever consider the pads noisy.. They are much quieter than any other metallic pad I used on the car.. Only thing quieter from my experience is ceramic pads.. The only time I get noise from the pads are on the first 3 or 4 stops on a morning but thats more due to the slotted rotors than the pads themself..

I would say that its no better than a normal pad when cold, and that it only really shines once you get some heat in it... But I consider this an advantage as normal pads usually tend to fade or give less performance as the heat goes up...

THe main problem with the pad of course would be the price.. At about $60-65 US per axle it costs about 3x what I would see "normal" pads selling for in trinidad... But I think its worth it FOR MY DRIVING STYLE..

What does the HPS go for in trinidad?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » October 12th, 2010, 5:04 am

all this talk about pads and the HPS just inspire me to buy some new front Hawk HPS pads for the accord.. Got it for 47 US which I think is quite a good price, normally its about $60 plus shipping..

Probably don't need to change pads for at least another year but cant hurt to have it..

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » October 12th, 2010, 9:26 am

What does the HPS go for in trinidad?

Not too expensive, about 500-600 for a front setup on one of my cars.

I paid about the same thing for the Posiquiets.

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » October 12th, 2010, 9:30 am

I think my dad pays around 650 a pair for his Forrester

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » October 12th, 2010, 5:11 pm

Damn on the local pricing.. Thats about twice what I pay up here in the states... I guess i'll just continue to bring my parts in my suitcase.. Its shocking what you can bring if you plan enough.. I transported an entire APEXi WS2 catback exhaust piece by piece in my suitcase, rotors, headers, etc haha

Anyway, from my experience with my Volvo up here in the US, Akebono makes some excellent pads if you want something quiet that doesnt dust and will last...

honda_soldier

Postby honda_soldier » October 12th, 2010, 5:24 pm

I need some new pads for my honda civic.eg8.

What do you guys recommend? And where can I get it? And at what cost?

Thanks.

ImamurA

Postby ImamurA » October 12th, 2010, 6:43 pm

i used the hawk blue race pads on my car...(this was back when wallerfield circuit track was actually used for racing)...i used the pads on both track and street...

Pros: extremely good bite even after constant hard repetitive use
Cons: very noisy...very abrasive to rotors...a lot of dust(the worst kind actually...its really metal filings from your rotors so rust is really a problem)...

i actually still have the pads because they had already eaten the rotors before they finished lol

Hawk HPS

i mainly used these on the street since there was no more circuit track available....i was able to test it a couple times at the one or two circuit type events over the last couple years...i had liked these pads...but repeated heavy braking will cause some brake fade...

Pros: Very good initial bite...low noise...little dust (i guess this is relative...i dont think its that bad really)...very gentle on rotors...

Cons: with a lot of hard use it will start to fade but i only encountered this during a circuit type day with heavy constant braking...

Project Mu Bforce pads.

this is what i currently use...i only changed from the hawk simply because i wanted to try it...it only received one circuit type track day use and the rest was street....i think it is a good street pad...probably better in terms of performance than the hawk hps...a little noisy when cold though and a little more dust but i dont think its anything to fuss about..,

pros: Good initial bite....good street/circuit pad i think...low dust...gentle on rotors
cons: a little noisy when cold...will fade after very hard use...

Licensed to Walk!
Location: Refusing to beg ppl to do the job they're being paid for!

Postby Licensed to Walk! » October 12th, 2010, 9:20 pm

MG Man wrote:how is minimal brake dust a con?

My bad; guess that was a con too. Any brake dust is a bad thing for me; rims white.

Called around yesterday looking for the Akebonos; no luck. Thus far the best brake pads i've used are OEM.

That being said, i still want something that performs better than that. The opportunity cost to me will probably be some more dust, or noise, or poor cold performance, or rotor wear; all of which i'm prepared for. I'm paranoid about brakes; Anil can vouch for that.

Spoke to a friend a while back about bringing in the HPS; and he confirmed today that he has a set on the way for me. Will try them; if they work for me yay; If not, back to OEM till i source another viable option.

Thanks for the feedback ppl.

honda_soldier

Postby honda_soldier » October 14th, 2010, 11:55 am

honda_soldier wrote:I need some new pads for my honda civic.eg8.

What do you guys recommend? And where can I get it? And at what cost?

Thanks.

^^ :?:

wtk

Postby *KRONIK* » January 18th, 2011, 1:38 pm

Chemical

Postby Chemical » January 18th, 2011, 5:08 pm

Use this on my cars & works excellent, a bit expensive though.

Postby MG Man » January 18th, 2011, 5:49 pm

how expensive is expensive?